We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hanoi Indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Hanoi

The Little Hanoi
23 Hang Gai Street, Hoan Kiem District | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
84 4 3828 8333
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 1,007 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Quezon City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little Hanoi Indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love how quaint and westernized this little resto is. The food was really good and the service was warm. We also had fresh rolls and tasted Hanoi in every bite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    146
    75
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to this restaurant hoping for a great meal. We were very disappointed, the service was lacking and the food mediocre at best. There are far better places to eat in the old quarter.
Would not go back, nor recommend this place.
b.t.w. they don't serve wine by the glass even though it says that they do on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Hanoi number 9 Ta Hien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The little Hanoi located in the old quarter of Hanoi on number 9 Ta Hien is a great place with excellent food. We ate there 3 times during our trip to Hanoi. We loved the chicken 5 taste and the shrimp with cashew nuts. Also 1 time we ate set-menu which is a great value for the food you get. The friendly staff (especially the owner Mr. Thanh) is very helpful. The restaurant has some great antic objects for who loves antics. After we left Hanoi for going down south we never find a place like this. We would recommend everyone to try this restaurant when coming to Hanoi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cheap and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had been warned that there was another nearby restaurant with the same name. Like a tardis with tables on upper floor. Traditional decor with simple good food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great spot for lunch in Old Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

small restaurant on corner in Old Quarter. Offers both Vietnamese and Western food. Good food and value for money. Banana Flower salad was delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Hanoi also viewed

 

Been to The Little Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Hanoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.