We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant, don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quan An Ngon

Quan An Ngon
18 Phan Boi Chau | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Vietnam
(04)39428162/63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Newton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This restaurant was fabulous and a wonderful introduction to Vietnamese food and pho on our first morning in Vietnam. It is a beautiful place with tons of seating and large crowds. We arrived after the breakfast and before the lunch crowd, but we can imagine what it must be like. There are different kitchens for all the different foods around the outside of the seating area. We tried a bunch of different things and everything was amazing. We would have loved to eat there again, but didn't have the time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear jstravels,

It would be our pleasure to bring you the best cuisine experience in Vietnam. We hope to welcome you back to visit us in your next Vietnam trip.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,185
    766
    169
    62
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Authentic food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A very extensive menu, catering obviously for locals rather than tourists. Our food was excellent and for a good price. It was extremely busy when we ate here - Sunday lunchtime. The service was a little slow as a consequence. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Angliskai,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Quan An Ngon on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate it and will work on improving our service to make it better the next time you come here.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC local fare in a comfortable setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The food absolutely makes this place - menus with descriptive english, a huge range of choices, very good value, incredibly delicious food. We did not in the end eat street fare more than a steamed bun here and there, but this place afforded us the opportunity to try Vietnamese food in a setting we could understand. There was always someone there speaking slightly better English if you have questions and the waitrons can do so adequately enough for purpose. We ate here 4 times during our stay and unanimously it was wonderful! Wish I could access the same back home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear MildlyMyself,

We are delighted to know that you had good experience at Quan An Ngon. It's our pleasure to bring you the most authentic dishes of Vietnam and don't forget to come back and visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thank and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick and Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had quite a walk looking for this restaurant. It was along a main road but a bit far from Hoan Kiem Lake. We ended up following some other foreigners who seemed to be going in the same direction and sure enough, they were heading here too. Reservation is not a must but will be very helpful since this restaurant is jammed packed, for good reason.

The atmosphere is like that of a home, backyard party with many guests sitting on long tables. The food are prepared in stall stations lined around the restaurant's "front yard". This is a fun way for guests to see how their food is prepared and the amazing array of ingredients. The menu has english translations and although the staff may have some difficulty speaking english, they're ready to serve.

The food is simple, quick and easily enjoyed. They serve a variety of pho noodles and wraps that are light on the stomach but can pack great flavor with the right amount of herbs and sauce. Much of the food is pre-prepared in large batches and ready for assembly so it doesn't take much time for your food to arrive. But this doesn't affect the freshness of your meal at all since many of them are fresh vegetables and quickly cooked protein for you to wrap in rice paper.

I suggest to get a table outside and see the bustle and be in the middle of all the "action".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Gin C,

It's our pleasure to get your complimentary on Trip Advisor. Thank you for spending time at Quan An Ngon and we are glad to know that you had good experience here.

Don't forget to come back and visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really good food, quite cheap and really fun to stay and watch how they prepare food!
Sure not the romantic place or the nicest view of Hanoi, but it's all about food! Loved the pancakes!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanh P, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Emanuela D.

Thank you for your sharing about Quan An Ngon on Trip Advisor. It's our pleasure to bring you the best food of Vietnam and we're glad to hear that you love our place.

Don't forget to come back to visit us next time when you are in Hanoi.

Thanks and Kindest Regards,

Quan An Ngon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan An Ngon also viewed

 

Been to Quan An Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quan An Ngon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.