We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing, huge, delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quan An Ngon

Quan An Ngon
18 Phan Boi Chau Str., OR 34 Phan Dinh Phung Str. | OR 1st Floor, 25T2 Hoang Dao Thuy Str., OR B2 Vincom Mega Mall, Royal City, 72A Nguyen Trai, Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam
+84 4 3942 8162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 835 restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese, cuisine.name.191
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buzzing, huge, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Massive place, I don't know how the staff keep track of it all!
The food was great, we shared quite a few small things from the menu in typical undeceive fashion, it was all very good. Oysters recommended!
There was a torrential downpour towards the end of the meal, as we were in the outside area sheltered by awning, which quickly became dangerously weighed down by tonnes of trapped water. The staff started stabbing at it with kitchen knives to stop it all collapsing and the place temporarily turned into a water park, which only added to the experience as far as we were concerned!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    1,050
    664
    142
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced & Interesting Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Good & Reasonably priced Local cuisine with a wide variety which leaves you spoilt for choice.

Diners get to see the preparation of food orders through an open display of hawkers preparing the food orders at their different station. Interesting!

Tends to get crowded during mealtimes so do arrive earlier to get good seats.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were taken there by our Hanoi Kids Guide as she (a local) rated it as a great way to try lots of different dishes.

We had 6 different dishes all of which were very tasty with drinks and the bill was very reasonable. The place was packed with local office workers so that must tell you something.

We found it great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant enjoyed by both tourists and locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It's an experience not just a restaurant. With all the different stations there's variety and visibility of the food. The staff are friendly, the prices are very reasonable, and when we ordered the food came very quickly. The place was very busy and it's good to see the locals eating here as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perhaps we were unlucky...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It started off well, we were warmly greeted at the door, entered into a busy restaurant and shown to our seats.

We were then given a menu and told to order quickly as they were due to finish. We then had to panic order as multiple staff stood around us. We quickly chose some dishes and then sat and waited, feeling a bit flustered. Some food started to come out but we were told that two of our dishes were finished - we asked if there was anything else we could have and the waitress got the menu back and pointed at some available dishes. The next moment, another waiter came over and shouted at the waitress helping us - effectively saying no to any more orders - so were left we what we had.

We ate the food that came out, whilst a waitress literally stood and stared at us throughout the whole meal. We then sat with our drinks - suddenly the lights were turned off. With that our dinner experience was over with a flick of an eye.

If we were aware of how little choice / time we would have had, we clearly wouldn't have allowed ourselves to be sat down.

Food was mixed. One of the beef dishes we had was very nice - the chicken satay not so good.

Based on the views - we were maybe unlucky but our experience was sadly negative.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huong N, Manager at Quan An Ngon, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest ,
We apologize for making you unhappy. As you may know,all restaurants in hanoi are just allowed to open until 10pm. Our restaurant is not exceptional. If we violate such a regulation ,we'll be strictly fined.

We are so sorry as we didn't provide you with good service and more dishes because no food left then 9h45pm . Hope you understand our inconvenient situation & look forward to serving you before 9pm everyday. We will always serve customers better and better

Thank and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan An Ngon also viewed

 

Been to Quan An Ngon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quan An Ngon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.