We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant miss this if you are a Pho's fan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Thin

Pho Thin
13 Pho Lo Duc | Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi 04, Vietnam
438212709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 1,006 Restaurants in Hanoi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cant miss this if you are a Pho's fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is truly delicious. I love Pho especially when I eat here because the restaurant know how to make real Pho.
People think that this dish is easy to make, yes it is easy to make, but it's hard to MAKE IT RIGHT! And they know how to make it right here.
Quick service, kinda clean (well you cant complain about hygeine here much) but the food just help you sweep out ur mind all other things, you come to a restaurant to eat anyway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Only one item--beef pho--hearty, tasty, and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The kitchen is in the front of this simple restaurant, and there is only one choice: beef pho (hearty beef-noodle soup). We paid our 50,000 ($2.50) Vietnamese Dong each on the way in and sat down at a long metal table with other diners. Huge bowls of soup were placed in front of us. Lime wedges and chopped red chili peppers were on the table along with chopsticks and napkins. Diners tossed their used paper napkins in little wastebaskets under the tables. Because it doesn't look too clean, we probably wouldn't have ventured in if it had not been recommended by our Vietnamese tour director. Definitely a great choice, for the delicious, rich soup, the local ambiance, and the low price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Pho Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you're looking for ambiance, conversation, or service, make another selection. If you're looking for some of the best Pho in town (many say the best) this is the place.

This is a small restauant, the front of wich is dominated by a huge grimy pot. The tables are steel and communal; the jars of condiments look questionable, used napkins and squeezed limes go on the floor. This is also a place for a quick meal -- people don't linger and there's very little talking. It's not cute, would make a western health inspector cringe, but the food is wonderful, tha combination of delicate and tasty that exemplifies Vietnamese cooking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pho with stir-fry beef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Its one of the best Pho in Hanoi. Pho Thin in 13 Lo Duc street is stir-fry beef, different with boiled beef in all most other Pho Bo (Beef) shops. You can have it in any time, for breakfast, lunch or dinner, is up to you.
Other best Pho Bo with hard-boiled beef in Hanoi (I think is the best) is Pho Ly Quoc Su (Ly Quoc Su is the name of the street which that shop used to locate). Now they move to 27 Phung Hung str (the real one, othes named Ly Quoc Su are fake). You have to queue and prepay for it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best pho I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I wasn't in Hanoi long, but this place stood out for me. Had a quick pho lunch and I can honestly say it was the best pho I've ever had. Will be hard to return to the pho restaurants that I have access to at home!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Thin also viewed

 

Been to Pho Thin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Thin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.