We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and very nice..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banh Ghoi

Banh Ghoi
52 Pho Ly Quoc Su | Nha Tho Area, Hanoi, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 1,014 Restaurants in Hanoi
Restaurant details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and very nice..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice, staff helpful for us who were not so aware of what we were ordering. When we received our food, we could not have been happier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cheap, good eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place is quite near the church and VERY popular with the locals. The deep fried spring rolls are the best here, followed by the puff like pastry which is quite unique. If you've ever tasted Curry Puffs in Singapore or Malaysia, the pastry tastes uncannily the same but the filling is a mixture of vegetables and pork. I would skip the roundish ball package of meat - they were decent but not the best tasting of the lot.

The owners speak enough English to sell them to foreign visitors. You can forget about finding a seat if you're here from 5-6pm onwards. They serve this in the shop with sweet and savoury sauce and herbs, like how Bun Cha is being served in Hanoi.

If you buy it for takeaway you'll miss out on the herbs and sauce but they're still good. Take plenty of tissue with you as the oil will seep through the brown paper they pack in for you.

Bon appetit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Awesome packages of delicious pork!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Go here! Go here! We went here a few times and got a banh ghoi takeaway - they are like a package of flavour. Yes they are deep-fried and oily but sooooo yummy and super cheap (8000 VND each) and perfect to keep energy levels up as your exploring the streets of Hanoi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very good. Recommended. I like best the sause. Very tasty

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banh Ghoi also viewed

 
 

Been to Banh Ghoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banh Ghoi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.