We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in the heart of the old quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great hotel in the heart of the old quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

When arriving in Hanoi there are a number of safe (and potentially) expensive options to chose from. More often than not, these are away from the old town. However the beauty of this hotel is that it is plonked right in the middle of the Old Quarter and as soon as you step outside you are really experiencing Hanoi - right on your door step.

It is exceptionally clean inside and it is worth paying additional for an upgrade - we had the room on the top floor (an executive I believe) at little extra cost and it was better than many western chains I've been in for business.

Down side - the hotel is not far from the main road (overpass/bridge) which makes it hard to find. However the rooms face the other side of the hotel so there is no noise to worry about in this respect.
The plus side is that it's a cheap hotel with great front reception staff who speak enough English to get you around the city (if your vietnamese is not as good as it used to be). It is close to all the tour company shops, massage parlours and a number of great restaurants also.

Tips:
- They have a sister hotel nearby (which is not as good but absolutely fine) if you cannot book here.
- Sometimes they lock the door at 12:00 (pull down the shutters). You can ring the bell to get in (no problems when we did it at 3am) however it is best to tell them you might be late.
- You really are right in the middle of Hanoi and the real Vietnam if you stay here (as opposed to the French Quarter) so keep that in mind if you stay here.
- We were backpacking with the occasional degree of luxury. This is not a backpackers hotel by any means (families, older couples, young couples) but in terms of value for money it is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
26
55
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Theoretically, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is in a good location - right on the edge of the old quarter with most sights in walking distance.
However at the same time, it sits right on a very busy roundabout and a major bridge crossing the river. So 24h a day you are confronted by traffic noice (and remember, the Vietnamese use their horn around every 30-60 seconds while driving).
The hotel as such is in an okay shape. The bath and rooms are clean, but not in the most modern maintenance state. The staff is very friendly and helpful which makes up for some of the shortcomings in this otherwise grim city. There's free internet in the lobby.
Try not to take up their friendly offer ("Today is your lucky day") for a free upgrade to a family room. Yes, they are much larger, but directly face the highway / bridge / roundabout.
I'd probably not recommend this hotel to any of my friends. If you prefer budget options, there are better hotels around (and worse as well....)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Booking at the last minute in peak I had trouble finding somewhere and wasn't too fussy in my choice. This hotel turned out to be fine, although when we came back through Hanoi 10 days later we opted to try the Church Hotel and definitely preferred both the hotel and the location. The airport transfer was very efficient and easy to find when we came through. On arrival at the hotel we were told we were 'very lucky' and had been upgraded to the VIP room for our first night only (obviously because the room we booked was not available) - this turned out to be an enormous room on the top floor with panoramic views...but over a major roundabout! All the windows made it very noisy so we were pleasantly surprised that the non-VIP room we were transferred to for the remaining was really nice and much quieter. Staff were very friendly and tried to sell us a lot of tours but we had made our own arrangements. There wasn't a safe in the room but the front desk held valuables for us very efficiently. Breakfast was a bit limited but sufficient and the airport transfer was definitely worth it for the price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We booked and paid for this hotel thru our agent prior to arriving. Even though we arrived at 9;30 am the staff very courteous giving us coffe while they quickly prepared our room and gave us a free upgrade. The next day they kindly ofered to store our luggage while we went on a 3 day 2 night trip to Halong Bay. On return for 2 nights they again provided a free upgrade. The room were roomy comfortable and clean. The staff (3 lovely ladies Tu Anh, Phuong and Lieu, who will come to Australia if she can get a scholarship and I wanted to bring her home with me) were all delightful and Nam the hotel driver was terrific. The hotel arranged a tour of the city in the hotel car with Nam and local students who provide a free tour guide service ( recommend a small monetry tip) for $34 US per person. Nam also took us to the airport when we left. The hotel is situated in an excellent spot of the Old Quarter and the staff are very helpful in providing information on where to eat and where to go. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Gary and Leigh, Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

My husband and I booked the hotel on the internet at a discounted rate (for 2 nights). The day before arriving in Hanoi, I called to arrange a pick-up from Hanoi airport, and specifically asked if the pick-up is *free*. The receptionist told me it's free, and upgraded our room on our arrival (room was tidy, average clean, but very noisy with approximately 2 metre reach to the next building). Generally the staff were nice, and when we got quoted a 50% mark-up on train tickets, we just considered it as part of tourist life. Remember the *free* pick-up? We were charged US$22 when we checked out!! I argued with another receptionist on the day of departure, and was shown the different prices for pick-up (they charged all their guests at US$18, US$22, or US$45 for airport pick-up depending on which of the 3 cars they decide to pick you up with). If you think I'm talking about a one-off scenario, well - just when we were checking out, an Australian couple was given a downgraded room (because the hotel sold their room which was confirmed and paid for on the internet), and was promised a free airport transfer to the airport instead of refunding the room rate difference. The receptionist denied the promise when they checked out.
Hence, with bad communication, unreliable service (can't guarantee your room), and random unauthorised charges (US$18, US$22, or US$45), I'd really discourage anyone to stay in this hotel. After all, there are more than 2 dozen 3-star hotels in the Old Quarter which we would have choosen instead.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Random, unauthorised charges
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

we did not choose ourselves the hotel in hanoi though we were on a guided trip around vietnam. most hotels are situated in the old quarter. it is hard to say if the others are better, or if most hanoi medium range hotels look the same. the rooms are big and very "kitschly" furnished ! they are clean and comfortable, but the main problem is that they are just above the biggest turn around crossroads of hanoi !!!
the reception and breakfast room is more like a very noisy entrance hall.
anyway it is convenient but we paid really too much for what it was. sure you can find a similar hotel at better price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

There are some hotels where the photo gallery shows the hotel in a better light than reality, and this was one of them. However, the staff were really lovely and helpful and most of them spoke very good English. We booked a "suite" room through Expedia at $77 per night and have no complaints about the room. It was spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there was another single bed as well as 2 armchairs, a couch, coffee table and a huge TV. Bathroom was OK. Even though we overlooked a very noisy main road the double galzing was very effective and blocked out almost all the noise.
The only negative aspects were the breakfasts (OK but the same things every day - not very exciting). Also, we booked 2 tours through the hotel - we found that other people paid considerably less but in Dollar terms the differences were not huge. For example we paid $29 for a 1-day trip to Halong Bay, which is much less than the $100 or so we saw on several web sites. We used the hotel taxi to get to the airport and paid $18 which is OK. Overall, no complaints and we had a good experience.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, nice spacious room
  • Disliked — Breakfasts - very unimaginative - same every day
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 513 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.