We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel had seen it better days. It just simply felt old and barely maintained.
Our room was large but busily decorated like a World Market store. To use the wifi one must get down to the lobby because it's not possible anywhere else. Some staff members were quite friendly and helpful but I wish the lady owner could be a bit more cheerful.

My wife thought for 60 some dollars a night, we could much better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
50
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Ha noi Old Quarter , very special to me. It's like a general department store giant, with the area where traders and craftsmen with a commodity business - something I can not see the United States. Besides the buildings bearing ancient architecture of France, the high-rise commercial buildings could suddenly see a pavilion, a temple hidden deep in the small alley. It's a beautiful culture of the people of Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

. My family came to the hotel on 6/12/2011. After a long flight from USA to Hanoi (with connection in Taipei), my family did not pay much attention to the hotel because we were all tired. We slept to refresh ourselves for the next day trip. The next we went away from the hotel for a 2-day trip in Halong Bay. We came back to the hotel on the evening of 6/14/2011. As we were looking around the room we noticed rat droppings on the sofa and in the corners of the room. We also found a cabinet with unrepaired glass door. The bath room was smelly. The next day, after a local tour in Hanoi, we again noticed again rat droppings in the same areas. In addition, we found that our suitcases have been raided by rat; some of our cloth our dry food bags were destroyed with holes by rat chewing. The hotel snack basket on the counter was also raided by the rat. These findings suggest the hotel was not clean and was with rat infestation. We could not continue to stay any further longer in the hotel because the potential of being sick as result of exposure to unhealthy condition. I called Expedia customer representative to state that I wanted to cancel the rest of our family stay with the hotel and request a refund then. I was told that we have to check out of the hotel first. At 8:00 AM on the morning of 6/16/2011, we checked out of the hotel and explained to the manager of the hotel. The hotel manager essentially played dump stating that she could not believe our room was unclean with rat infestation. As we were standing, we saw (including the manager) a rat crawling down from second floor to the first floor along the utility lines.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here Janaury this year, for a few nights before our trip around Vietnam, The room we had was very lovely very comfotable bed and the room was large. The staff were very helpful and friendly, Yen was great she even arranged out transport and hotel for the next stage of our Journey.
I would recomend this hotel to anyone its in the old quarter so good location to stay.
I know Yen reads trip advisor reviews so i hope she reads this if so a big hello from Barry and Liz from England

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

You can definitely find hotels in Hanoi for 15-20USD a night but with that, you will get what you pay for. Our room was beautiful, track lighting, comfortable bedding, and all the necessary accomodations one can enjoy. The hotel for the price was more than adequate.
However what made our money go the extra mile was the tag team customer service they have at this slice of Hanoi Heaven. Ye'n and Vie't, one during the day and the other during the evening they did everything to make sure our stay in Hanoi and Vietnam in general was nothing short of splendid. From trip planning, to cab hailing, to showing us the best places to eat in town. Everything asked was granted and always accompanied by a smile and joyful demeanor.
Thank you very much Old Quarter Hanoi and a huge thank you to both Ye'n and Vie't!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hanoi was the last destination during our Vietnam holiday. The Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel was not very easy to find, but once you get there, everything seems to be allright.
The hotel is quite small and has its own charm. The rooms are not luxurious, but have all you need.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. They give useful tips of where to eat and what to do in Hanoi. As the hotel is small they can take care of your concerns and solve problems as soon as possible. The hotel also orders taxis for you without delay and, if necessary, explains the driver where to go so that you reach your destination safely.
Despite the lack in space and the tiny room, the bathroom is huge- with a bathtub, a separate shower, and the crowning piece of the toilet itself which was equipped with a remote.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2010. The location is great for those wishing to explore the Old Quarter.

We stayed in a suite, which was very spacious, with a queen bed and two singles. The decor was somewhat dated, but well maintained and clean. The windows were double glazed which kept out most of the street noise.

We booked a tour to Halong bay through the front desk. The tour was very good, on a well equipped boat, all at a reasonable price.

This hotel is very well located if you are taking a motorcycle tour with Offroad Vietnam. Their office is about 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel

Address: No 2 Nguyen Huu Huan | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 8404, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 506 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old Quarter, the Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel is placed in the area of 36 old streets at the centre of Hanoi Capital. This property is in propinquity to The Museum of Vietnamese Art, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, shops, restaurants and coffee bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.