We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Tho Xuong, Hanoi 844, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Go somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is nothing like the photos, rooms were old with mismatched and old furniture. Bathrooms were a disgrace. Mouldy and damp. Rooms were dark (shutters at the windows) so no natural light. Balcony - yes there was one, about 500cm wide, not enough room to sit, with neon sign climbing up the building at the sign of the balcony. Friend had to move room because bathroom was disgusting. They they tried to charge us for a balcony room because that is what we had booked. No sign of owner.... does he exist! No welcome drink, fruit or tea or coffe... as advertised on web site. Totally disappointed and would not recommend. I think some of these review were made by the owners family and friends, they seem to have stayed at a different hotel than I did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hkdzung, General Manager at Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
First of all, thanks so much for spending your precious time to leave your comment about your stay at our hotel.

As a a manager, i would like to sincerely apologies for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel.

We were totally surprised at what you said in your review because our rooms are always up-to-date with many amenities and of course the bathrooms are carefully cleaned by our well-trained staff everyday. What is disgusting? -> May be your country stand is different from our country...

We have many room type according the uploaded photos. Your reservation was for a cheap room but when you came and required a Deluxe room which different in cost ( The price depends on its quality).

The reviews on T. A are ideas, comment of travellers, we all accept even fair or unfair.
All of our staff are trying their best to make bring our customers satisfaction. We do hope any traveller who reading the review on Tripadvisor will understand that we can not make 100% customer satisfied and besides them are always many good reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
24
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasig City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

About half an hour after I booked online for 4 twin-sharing rooms for a party of 8, the Hotel Director was already on the phone talking with me and suggesting that I may want to consider 2 family rooms for 3 and one twin-sharing room. Since 3 rooms is cheaper than 4 rooms I of course readily agreed. That was really a fast and personal response. The location right within Hanoi's Old Quarters means you can do a leisurely walk around the quaint shops. The only reason I cannot give it perfect score for location is its being located in an alley which is passable only on foot or by motorbike. This means you have to lug your stuff in from or out to the street when you arrive and leave. But it is a little inconvenience which is more than compensated by the friendliness of the staff. The rooms have wireless internet connection and cable TV. Some rooms even have a computer. But considering the room rates it is really good value for money. I will not hesitate to recommend Hanoi Golden Plaza to friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Really good service -- unpushy about tours/extras, arranged pickup from airport that worked very well despite flight delay, good location in the old quarter. Breakfast included is basic but fine. Rooms are decent size and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We were referred to the Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel by friends and it was the perfect choice. The rooms are so clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful making travel arrangements beyond Hanoi!
If we ever come back we will def be staying here. A recommendation to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

It was our first visit to Hanoi and we were glad that we've decided to stay at this hotel. Service was superb and the staffs were always helpful and friendly. Our room was the golden VIP room and it was nice. Worth the money paid. And we must say that we love our served breakfast every morning! We just fell in love with pho... The noodle soup that is. :) The Ha Long Bay 2D/1N trip organised by this hotel was great as well. We really enjoyed our trip!!! Thank you Peter, Lien, Nghia (Sorry if i didn't get your name right :P) and the rest of the hotel staff. We will definitely stay at your hotel again the next time we visit Hanoi...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

This is by far the best hotel we have had the pleasure in staying at on our travels!! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who take away all the street and allow you to relax, which is not easy in Hanoi!!
The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The location is ideal and central.
We booked the 2 days Halong Bay trip with the hotel and got a cheaper price than most others on our boat and the trip was great, great food, great boat, great tour guide!!
DON'T MISS OUT ON THIS HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The staffs were wonderful and is near to the center of town. The room was a bit
small but is clean. keep up the good work guys, miss and sure will come back to this
hotel.
Sandy/Sherly
Malaysia/Perak.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel

Address: 22 Tho Xuong, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 489 hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Hanoi Golden Plaza is amazingly perfect combination of our hotel service which far exceeds all other hotels in Hanoi.The hotel is perfectly located to explore the Old Quarter such as Hanoi Catheral (just a few steps), Hoan Kiem lake etc. All are within walking distance of the hotel..At the hotel guests will enjoy a luxurious stay taken very good care by a team of dedicated and profesional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Golden Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.