We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel staff made our visit a special experience for the whole family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Old Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOW RATE-NEW YEAR PERIOD.
Ranked #7 of 450 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Bulli
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The hotel staff made our visit a special experience for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

The hotel picked us up at the airport as promised for a swift transfer. The family room was ready on arrival, spacious and clean. Breakfast was great with a choice of traditional noodle soup or freshly cooked omelettes, and the coffee brought to the room in the morning was much appreciated. Mrs. Linh booked internal flights on request before our arrival, and organised train tickets, tours and hotels for the latter part of our journey. Our Halong Bay cruise was excellent (2D/1N), we would recommend longer if you have the time. We spent two days with Pinta Cruises, our guide, the food and service on board was fab.
The location of the hotel in the old quarter is great and in walking distance of many attractions.

Thank you Mrs. Linh and the staff for making our stay very special.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    170
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
133
309
89
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

I stayed with my family (total of us : 3 adults) in a deluxe room (or for me is like a family room)- consists of 1 double bed and 2 single beds. The room is spacious and tidy. Equipped with air-conditioner, 2 fans, refrigerator, tv with multiple channels (including non-vietnamese), wardrobe, writing desk, make-up desk, complimentary bottled water, coffee table & chairs, balcony (somehow i could not open the door), windows, hot shower, basic toiletries. They also arrange tour to Halong Bay, SAPA and other bus/train tickets booking services. Private car pick-up & transfer service can be arranged with reasonable fees.

Breakfast not much selections but still ok for us (included in the room rate). Friendly staffs that work hard to ensure our comfort & satisfaction. We were grateful as they woke up early just to prepare our breakfast (in the morning we checked-out and to airport). Free WIFI service (2 computers) at lobby (and printing is available with small charges). We changed the Vietnamese Dong through the front desk. (of course numerous banks are along the streets).

Strategic location - various travel agencies are around the corner. Tourist spots within walking distance. Restaurants, cafes, bars & shops selling all sorts of stuffs just few steps from the hotel. Taxi, cyclo etc are easy to be found if you choose not to walk.
Overall, we are satisfied with the services & room provided.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We loved Hanoi Lakeside Hotel. We had a family room with plenty of space and a big bathroom. Breakfast included is great especially with teenagers who sometimes had one or two extra plaefuls!!
Ms Linh and staff were so helpful and kind. Nothing was too much trouble.A cup of tea anytime of day. The service here is better than most 5* hotels! They even accompanied me to recharge my sim card.
Our luggade was stored when we went to Sapa and breakfast & a room available to shower on our return at 4.30am.(After two days of trekking and a long train trip it was just like 'coming home'.)
Ms Linh organised our train tickets and we were actually escorted to our cabin by the hotel staff and met again on our return.
So nice to always be greeted with a friendly smile at reception.
The hotel is in a great location for everything-markets, shops, restaurants etc, but in a quiet street so not too noisy at nite.
Thanks so much Ms Linh & staff we really enjoyed our stay at Hanoi Lakeside Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

The location was fine, within walking distance of all shops and cafes. The hotel itself, very clean and staff more than happy to assist with anything. My room was good size, bed comfortable and bathroom amenities were fine. Perhaps some tea making in the rooms eg, kettle, tea bags, milk and sugar would be an idea for clientele staying in your hotel. I would like to make a special mention to Mrs Linh & Mrs Huyen for their caring manner. I became ill whilst in Hanoi and they were just lovely, would not let me pay for medicine purchased from chemist. I shall never forget their kind hospitality.

Best Regards

Debbie Fredericks

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

It's common to read among reviews of Hanoi's many guesthouses praise for their proprietors and staff, so I can't speak to how the folks running Lakeside compare with their competitors. But I did find them about as sincerely warm, welcoming and helpful as I could have imagined, especially for the $17 per night I spent to stay there. After getting scammed out of over US$200 by a syndicate of area scumbags during my first two hours in town (I fell for the after-hours bar trick), these people were the only ones I had to lean on at a moment of lost faith in humans.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Our family had such a great time here. It's cozy place, hotel was clean, great service, great location, we had private electrical safe in room, facilities were excellent. We got to know lot's of nice people there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

This is a great hotel with a kind staff in super location being only one minute to Hoan Kiem lake. Excellent stay at this hotel, very clean and inviting, I was there for about 5 days before moving into apartment. this is my great stay in Hanoi Lakeside Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 450 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.