We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, but so-so rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hanoi Old Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 469 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, but so-so rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall:
The price-point reflects the poor-to-average quality of our room, yet the service was excellent and the main reason we thought the hotel was good. Though it seems like we had lots of issues with the place, we would stay there again.

+The staff were very helpful and friendly; additionally, they spoke English well.
+Breakfasts were tasty, and made-to-order.
+Lobby was quite clean, had a couple of computers for guests' use, and some couches to relax on.
+If guests need to leave bags after check-out, they are given a claim ticket for each bag and the bags are then chained up in the lobby.
+Though we did not book one, staff were very helpful with information about tours.

-It seemed that every stairwell was being used as storage, and that is a FIRE HAZARD! There were extra mattresses, bags of towels, etc. cluttering up the place. If the place were on fire, it would have made it more difficult to escape. Excess storage should not ever be kept where guests can see it; furthermore, it should not put them in danger.
-One night at about 10:30 PM, laborers were using ropes to move material up to the roof. At some point, it fell to the ground making a loud crash. The noise continued as the staff carried things up the stairs, making clanging noises. There were also some brief construction noises. I called the desk and complained about the noise, and was told that the owner of the building had decided to do things and the desk staff could do nothing about it. Nevertheless, these disruptions only lasted about 30-45 minutes.
-Heard various, brief construction noises throughout our stay, unsure if they were at our own hotel of a neighboring property; irregardless, they could still be heard.

Our room:

Though not on our honeymoon, we were in the Honeymoon Suite (based on availability on Agoda). If we had been on our honeymoon this suite would have been disappointing.

Overall, the room was average with no outstanding positives.

-The pink wallpaper was lurid, and it had several patches of black mold coming through.
-There were stains on the bathroom floor tiles.
-There was white mold in the cabinet.
-Minor, but there was too much furniture in this small room. It felt cluttered. There were 2 cabinets (one large, one small), 2 tables, 2 chairs, a nightstand, and finally the bed. It made the small space seem smaller.
-We requested a lakeside room for a better view, though it was not available at check-in; therefore, our view was just the neighboring buildings and the street below. That was okay for a glance, but not for prolonged usage of the balcony.
-There was cable TV, but it had issues and channels had a lot of static.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room for a better view Eat the made-to-order breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Monsieur-Canard,

We are so grateful to your appreciation for our hotel such as the service was excellent, breakfast was tasty, hotel's cleanliness and safety. And particularly, we are so proud with your words of praise on hospitality as well as English proficiency of our staff.

About the storage at our hotel : Actually, the excess storage never been stored at stairwell because we have storages in the separate area absolutely. The bags of towels and the mattress you saw because it was being used while the housekeeping were cleaning the rooms. It is always moved to storages as soon as the cleaning is completed daily. Anyway, we deeply thank you for your useful advisor.

We sincerely apologize for not meet all your expectations in this your vacation. Please rest assured that upon receiving your comment our shortcomings has been overcome immediately.

- The room you mentioned: it has been completely refurbished to make sure it’s larger with newly decorated, providing excellent value for our next Guests.

- Regarding the noise: The reason was that our neighbors need to move some furniture, they informed us previously. We subjectively did not to inform you because we simply thought it lasted only 30 minutes and it was not late at night. We're so sorry to bother you.

- About the cable TV: Unfortunately, the heavy rain which caused this interruption but it has been overcome shortly.

Finally, we are glad to read that you would stay at our hotel again on your first sentences of your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    181
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
143
334
100
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel using it as our base for exploring North Vietnam, staying a few nights over a 12 day period. Staff were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. The women at reception managed to satisfy a lot of guests coming and going, planning excursions and always ensuring we were satisfied. The rooms were very clean and spacious. A/C and fans worked well. Breakfast was good with some variety. The staff arranged all of our trips..and even took us to the station, got the tickets while we waited and made sure we got to our cabin. Also met us on the return trip at 4.30am without complaint or any hint of a tip! They were also very gracious when I thought my bag had gone missing, when it was actually my mistake!:-) Although it wasn't necessary, they did take this as a good time to increase security by using a cable to secure the bags. Laundry was also cheap and well laundered.
Their recommendations were always well thought out and tailored to suit.
When we arrived back on our last day, at 4.30am, they gave us a free breakfast plus a room to sleep in and have a shower but did not charge us! They always went above and beyond.
The location is very good, close to lake and a short walk to market streets. The English skills of the receptionists were excellent.
We would strongly recommend this hotel for a value for money stay with excellent service.

Room Tip: Room without balcony is generally quieter however it is also great to be able to watch the world go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear JohnAnne,

We sincerely thank you for the excellent praise of hotel staff, room facilities, breakfast quality, laundry service and hotel location. Thank you so much for your 5 star review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We extremely glad to hear you had a great vacation with the services offered by our hotel. We will surely build on this positive side to exceed our following Guests expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel.

Your faithfully
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Warning: this type of incident happened to our group multiple times during our stay in Hanoi and that this is not specific to this hotel. This happened to us only when we booked the hotel on agoda.

When we arrived at the hotel at 12noon, we were told that our room was not yet ready and we could leave our bags and the rooms would be ready in 30 min. We then gave them our passports and checked-in and left for a day of sight-seeing.

When we came back at 6pm, the receptionist asked us to sit down and have a welcome drink. We were in a rush to meet friends, so we asked to just get our keys. When they asked us to sit down again, we knew something was wrong.

The staff then explained that both of our honeymoon suites (2) were no longer available. Their reasoning: the couple staying in one room had lost their passports and they were at the embassy (at 6:30pm??) and could not stay anywhere else without passports. The other suite apparently had an electrical problem. They offered for us to stay in a simpler room. We then asked to see the originally booked rooms and the one with the electrical problem. We were given bad lies about no keys, etc and in the end caught them in a lie. The result was a free stay for the duration of our trip, albeit not in the originally booked honeymoon suites but the rooms are all nice and clean.

If you do decide to book here, call directly or make sure you are shown to your room right at check-in time. The hotel is quite nice, breakfast is perfectly decent, and service is very nice once we had all the silliness taken care of. The sister hotel, HANOI GUESTHOUSE is newer and more spacious, just fair warning that this may occur.

Our conclusion was that these hotels may get a better price when someone walks in or books directly, so they give away the agoda-reserved rooms. JUST BEWARE if you get an odd excuse from the receptionist i.e. sickness, loss passports, electricity problem, plumbing problem and they offer a cheaper room or another room at their "sister" hotel. Don't be afraid to question what's going on. Good luck!

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear distinguished Guests,

We sincerely grateful to the readers for spending a valuable time to read this comment. So far, we could not find the information to prove that this guest stayed at our hotel. Please kindly contact us for any question at manager@hanoioldcentrehotel.com. We truly appreciate for your attention.

Warmly welcome your Hanoi visit!
Warm regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is in a nice, quiet location, only a few minutes walk to the lake. The rooms were nice, although the shower was just a head on the wall with no defined area - one that saturates the whole floor. There was a curtain, but the bathroom still gets very wet (I hate that)!
The staff were lovely and friendly, giving helpful information about attractions and tours and organising day trips for us. Breakfast was pretty good, a menu to choose something from, although you could have only one drink (I know some people, like me, would like juice and a coffee).
We had three nights booked here but night 1 was not very pleasant. The apartment building next door had the noisiest cat, making an angry, loud noise for a lot of the night. Not that it is at all the hotel's fault, but we asked to change rooms. They had none left in their hotel, so gave us a room on the 6th floor in their sister hotel, Silvermoon, which was about 3 doors up. They helped us move our luggage, and apologised for our bad sleep. Again, staff were lovely.
Although we had an unlucky night with noise, I would still recommend the hotel for all other reasons.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel recently and for spending your valuable time to contribute your feedback.

We are absolutely pleased to know you did enjoy your stay at our hotel and your lovely description of our hotel location, room, breakfast, tours and particularly our staff. It is always a delight to know that their efforts are appreciated.

Besides, we sincerely apologize for some of the omissions that made your stay was not fully satisfied. But please rest assured that as soon as we received your comment this omission was immediately remedied: the shower curtain was repaired as well as the noise of the neighbour's cat will not happen again.

Regarding the breakfast, we completely unlimited drink in the breakfast. We truly sorry for your misunderstanding. Actually, you can use as many drink as your need.

We are especially glad to hear that you would recommend our hotel to next Guests. We very much hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Hotel Manager
HANOI OLD CENTRE HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We submitted our booking for the room, the airport transfers and a day trip to Hoa Lu and Tam Coc via the hotel website. We had initially wanted to get the Deluxe Lake View room but it was fully booked, so we settled for a Superior Balcony room. Responses were prompt and everything was confirmed via email within a day.

The hotel is along a small alley just a 2-min walk away from Hoan Kiem Lake, which makes for an excellent base to explore the Old Quarter. We were given a room on level 4. When we first arrived, our bed was decorated with flower petals, which was a nice touch. The staff - reception, bellhop, chamberlady - were also very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The room size was average but good enough for us and our light luggage load. The shower, bounded by shower curtain and just next to the toilet door, was tiny, so it could be a squeeze if you are of bigger size. We were each given a complimentary small bottle of water every day.

There was plenty of choices for the complimentary breakfast that you can order off a menu. Just a note to give more time for preparation (at least 20min) if you are ordering pho, in case you need to make it in time for a tour. Food was decent too so we always started the day feeling more than satisfied.

If I had to pick a con, the bed was quite stiff and the thin quilt rustled, so it made sleeping a little uncomfortable. The room was not sound-proof, and being a light sleeper, I was easily awakened by the daily bustling which started around 5am.

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the street if you want more serenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking your time for sharing such positive comments.

It’s immensely gratifying to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you found our hotel location is exellent, decorate flower was a nice touch and the food in breakfast was decent which make you feel more satisfied. Particularly, I will forward your praise about staff to all of the team. They certainly will be so glad to hear that.

We sincerely apologize for the bed was quite stiff and the thin quilt. We promise that we will follow this matter to ensure this will not happen with our future Guests.

It's our pleasure to welcome you back to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel.

Your faithfully
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

its our second trip to hanoi this year and we are glad to have stayed at this hotel.

this time around we were traveling with a bunch of "oldies" and there was time that we needed special attention and the hotel step up to their reputation and offered much needed assistance.

they had also renewed their hotel map and it had much more info of the places of interest, best food and pharmacies in the vicinity.

definitely will stay again.

Room Tip: pick a room that faces the hoan kiem lake as this would be quieter than that facing the street. howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

We sincerely thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with others on Tripadvisor.com. You can not imagine how glad we are when we have your highly recommendation.

This is an incredibly valuable gift to us. We will make every effort to satisfy our customers as much as possible to deserve your trust.

Warmly welcome you back to our hotel in the nearest future.

Your sincerely
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hanoi Old Centre hotel for 3 nights recently and the service we received from the staff was the best we have ever experienced. The staff could not do more for us even to the extent that after we checked out and continued our travels around Vietnam they still sent staff to meet us at the train station to help us find our onward journeys. It was far and away above and beyond what a guest can expect from a hotel.

The hotel itself is ideally located in the Old Quarter and handily placed on a side street which makes it a little less noisy than the main streets in Hanoi.

The rooms are adequately comfortable and cleaned every day.

I can't honestly articulate just how good the service was, it was embarrassingly good!!! Thanks so much to the staff, they are a credit to their profession.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsLinhThu, Manager at Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear our Valued Guests,

We sincerely thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with others on Tripadvisor.com. You can not imagine how glad we are when we have your highly recommendation.

This is an incredibly valuable gift to us. We will make every effort to satisfy our customers as much as possible to deserve your trust.

Warmly welcome you back to our hotel in the nearest future.

Your sincerely
Hanoi Old Centre Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanoi Old Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Old Centre Hotel

Address: 19 Hang Hanh Street, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Guesthouse 2)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Old Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, Hanoi Old Centre Hotel is in quiet and shady street at 19 HANG HANH Street, less than a minute to Hoan Kiem Lake. This area is served by Restaurants, Bars, Major Post Office, Banks, Local Night Market... Not only convenient for dining, shopping... especially for attractions, it's simple to walk to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, The Temple of Literature, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet Theater and Museums. HOC provide different types of room to suit your every need. All rooms are selectively equipped to confine fine bedding, well recognized, some rooms with Lake View, some rooms with City View, Window or Balcony and adequately equipment as Cable LCD TV, Minibar, Air-Conditioner, Fan, Electric Safe, Cupboard, Telephone, Internet access, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Wifi Access, Work Desk, Sitting area, Hair-dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower and Bathroom Amenities. Elevator serves all floors. Staff are well trained and all speak English, are friendly and enthusiastic about our work from recommending where to visit, to eat, to call you a taxi or arranging a tour or onward travel which are highly recommended by all previous Guests. * Complimentary breakfast and mineral water. * Wifi Access available in all rooms. * Internet computers are located in the lobby.Useful Information: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Old Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Hanoi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Old Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.