We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant in a lovely neighborhood.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Press Club

Press Club
59A Ly Thai To | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
84439340888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,004 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A favourite with discerning visitors, residents and food critics alike, The Restaurant is one of Hanoi’s premier fine dining experiences. Located on the third floor, The Restaurant’s understated colonial ambience of sleek wood floors and furniture, crisp white linen and warm red and green hues, combined with impeccable service, permeates both discreetness and refinement. With a classically trained, European Executive Chef at the helm of an award-winning team of chefs, cuisine is classical French, with a contemporary twist and subtle Asian influences. Dishes are light and simple, yet with an innovative depth of flavours. Only the finest, freshest ingredients are used. Enjoy lunch and dinner from the a la carte or set lunch menus, or regular culinary promotions and special events. Two private rooms seating four or twelve are superb for intimate dining and entertaining, be it business or social occasions. The extensive choice of old and new world wines showcased in temperature-controlled glass cabinets have been endorsed by prestigious US wine magazine Wine Spectator, with an “Award of Excellence” for one of the finest wine lists in the world. The adjoining Restaurant Bar is a mellow spot to relax, whatever the occasion - especially when it’s Happy Hour. Plump sofas, rattan bar stools and low lights afford a cozy informality. Kick back and enjoy the great choice of beverages - including award-winning wines - or perhaps an after-dinner cognac or port to accompany the finest Cuban cigars, kept in mint condition in dehumidifier cabinets. The Terrace affords great views of the French Quarter beyond the potted palm plants. This open-air, third floor terraced area is where anything can happen – and very often does; host to a multitude of public or private events, be it Christmas and New Year celebrations, wedding receptions and anniversaries, corporate dinners, sporting events and themed party nights. With in-house sound equipment, large stage and informal seating facilities, this is Hanoi’s happening al fresco venue, whatever the occasion, whoever the crowd!
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in a lovely neighborhood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Thus restaurant was close to the Metropole, where we were staying. The food was good and the staff on top of their game.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnhaque, General Manager at Press Club, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Diner,

Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted to sharing this with our team.We look forward to welcoming you soon again and once again, many thanks!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    78
    35
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great food. Expensive drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Enjoyed our set menu here. The food was delicious and service exemplary.
The restaurant is divided into lots of small rooms which makes for a more intimate dining experience.
I can't comment on price as the food was included in the price of our tour but the drinks were VERY expensive and we were almost embarrassed by not having brought out enough money to pay for two beers. Incidentally, I checked their website later and found that a free drink was intact included with the meal but we were never offered this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnhaque, General Manager at Press Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Diner,

We much appreciate your notes on Trip Advisor and are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us at the Press Club. We strive every single day to exceed our guests expectations and glad to know that we have managed this with you as well.

We do hope to welcome you back again and wish you a great rest of the week.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good food in lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

There are many small rooms, so this is actually a place where you can converse with your table mates while enjoying a delicious meal. Tip: Use the elevator, because you will get lost if you try the stairs to get to this third floor restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnhaque, General Manager at Press Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Diner,

Very glad to hearing that you have enjoyed your time spent at the Press Club and the entire crew and I would like to thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hearing about your comments with regards to our food and beverage services and we have taken note about the staircase. In fact this is a fire exit and none of customers should be taking the stairs to arrive at the Restaurant. We have 2 elevators to get our guests to the 3rd floor swiftly.

We would like to thank you and look forward to having you soon back at the Press Club again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The press club has a history since all journalists used to meet and eat at the press club.Few meters from The Metropole Hotel , a nice
Club was founded, you can have diner.We actually went for
Tea, great service and nice food.



Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnhaque, General Manager at Press Club, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Diner,

We do appreciate your time taken to review us and are glad to see that you have enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Please do come again for some of our many food and beverage promotions and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Press Club.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead,Surrey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Excellent choices of menu in the restaurant itself, and also in the bar. Happy hour from 5.00 - 7.00 pm - although it varies and gets extended according to the manager - he extended it to cover our entire evening there ! Something for everyone to eat on the menu, extremely good value.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnhaque, General Manager at Press Club, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Diner,

Thank you for your notes on Trip Advisor and delighted that you have had a great time at the Press Club and we do look forward to welcoming you soon back again. Wishing you a safe trip home and once again, thank you for your positive feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Press Club also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Press Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Press Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.