We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halong Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Halong Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Halong Plaza Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Halong Bay
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Rooms are well furnished and large.The breakfast has a large spread of western and Vietnamese foods.I think it was low season when we arrived and the hotel gave us a suite :)

The only low points are that the hotel is located away from the town and you need to get a taxi or car to bring you around. Skip the spa services in the hotel, I'm sure you can find better ones outside.The room also did not have an ethernet cable although it was supposed to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
49
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was really a 1st class hotel.
We stayed here just 1 night as part of a small group tour and it really was better than 4star. Huge spacious rooms and the breakfast was lovely.
One word of warning though. The hotel check everything in your room is still there when you check out. 1 of our group was made to wait whilst the staff located a face cloth. After 10mins the hotel confirmed that yes it was there all alnong and was caught up with other laundry. Very embarassing for the people checking out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

we arrived in Ha Long after a night long bus trip from Dong Hoi . The Hotel is located at the end of the "beach front strip" and for a 4 star it was great. The room was very clean and quite spacious. Within ten minutes of checking in fruit was brought to our room and flowers. The breakfast was great. For a 4 star hotel and and a $90 room i have paid much more for much less. I would stay hear again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were travel in group and the hotel booking was arranged by travel agent.
We didn’t encounter any service issue due to all check-in process done by tour guide. Just feel that the hotel lobby is big and well organized. There is a live band with beautiful ladies playing the traditional Chinese music instrument, they are having a sweet smile which made me unforgettable.
The room is completed with all the necessary facilities which in 4 stars standard. It also having gym room, spa and swimming pool. We were having a good rest in this hotel.
The breakfast is nice, international standard. However, the capacity of the restaurant is not able to fulfill many people. We saw how crowded and full when it have 3 big tourist groups came in for breakfast.
Please don’t touch any unnecessary in the room, the housekeeping will check carefully during check-out time, my friend being charge USD3 while he just open and unfolded the laundry bag…
I feel there is not convenience due to location is not close to any attraction, not recommend for bag backer. We walk 30min back to the hotel from the night market. However, please visit the night market there and you won’t regret because there are too many choices and good price compare with Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nice hotel and rooms good size. Good views of bridge and bay.
Ate in restaurant and had a great buffet with nice seafood, steaks and fish, all cooked as you watch.

Room Tip: high room and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very nice Hotel
Accor card use only in restaurant, not in the bar or pool area.
All excecutive room attached to a neighbouring room hence noisy and smelly if someone smoke.
Room very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Much better than 4 star. Friendly service, large, spotless and comfortable rooms, spectacular views, great food. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halong Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halong Plaza Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay 84-33, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halong Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halong Plaza is a luxury 4-star hotel ideally located beside the shore of the beautiful Ha Long Bay, Vietnam. It is preferred accommodation choice for domestic and foreign tourists visiting and discovering Ha Long Bay. In 2013, Halong Plaza Hotel was awarded the “Certificate of Excellence Of The Year” by TripAdvisor®, the world's largest travel site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Halong Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Halong Plaza
Halong Plaza Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halong Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.