We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dragon Junk Day Trip

Red Dragon Junk Day Trip
126 Le Thanh Ton St | Halong, Halong Bay, Vietnam
+84 988 486 639
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Red DragonNamed and designed after an authentic Chinese junk, the original Red Dragon plied the rivers, seas and harbours of the Far East, from Singapore to northern China.Our Red Dragon is complete with five deluxe cabins and designed to resonate with superior class and grandeur. Larger than The Prince and Princess it is still small enough to get up close to the natural wonders, pocket lagoons and small fishing communities of Halong and Bai Tu Long bays.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brilliant cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We basically booked Red Dragon Junk online by Brilliant Halong Cruises agency.It was definitely worth for value.The cruise is not for group tour for 3 days, so we decided to enjoy 2 days and 1 night cruises. Because we loved the traddional cruise with a special style and see the Bai Tu Bay and Halong Bay as well. The places that this cruise visits were amazing,not many tourists places on the 1st day, and the second day we visited Amazing Cave. Food on cruise was fantastic,we had no complain on this. And we commend the Cruise and angency.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    36
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent one night and two half days on the Red Dragon 2. While the weather was not great - very misty with periodic drizzle - the scenery was still spectacular. The boat had 4 of the 5 cabins occupied and was quite comfortable for an overnight cruise. There were only about 7 other boats, all from Indochina Junk, following the same itinerary and we only really encountered them at the stops for the excursions and when moored overnight so we did not feel constantly surrounded by other boats.

The visit to the cave was interesting and you could swim or kayak from the beach below the cave. Similarly the visit to the fishing village on the second morning was an ienjoyable excursion to see how the locals lived.

The food on board was plentiful, very tasty and presented beautifully with elaborate fruit/vegetable carvings to highlight our surroundings. Our guide was knowledgeable, spoke good english and ensured the particular needs of all the guests were taken care of.

All in all an enjoyable sojourn on Halong Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The boat was lovely, and our room superb. The robes provided were a nice touch, and we made use of them for watching the sun rise. Boat ride was very smooth, and the visit to the cave and fishing village was very interesting. The food was amazing - all fresh seafood with lots and lots to taste and eat

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Red Dragon Junk made my trip even more beautiful. Everything was wonderful - food, staff, activities, and cabins.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“I'm glad I did!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our last trip brought us to Hanoi with Red Dragon.

We booked our cruise via Red Dragon directly and invoice was provided by First Choice travel . The rest of the balance I had to pay in cash to a representative who showed up at our hotel to greet us before we started the cruise that morning.

The weather was not very promising at that time so we had to wait from Ha Long if it was OK to sail that day.We were soo happy when it was approved .The sun were shining when we arrived and we had to share the boat with 3 others -so that made 5 of us!

The other 4 or 5 pax cancelled their trip coz they were afraid of the bad weather.
This may not be 5 star cruise for some but for us it was avery very good choice a memorable one.

Travelled in 2010

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon Junk Day Trip also viewed

Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province
 

Been to Red Dragon Junk Day Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dragon Junk Day Trip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.