We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ha Long Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ha Long Bay to your Saves list
Novotel Ha Long Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Halong Bay
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for one night during our backpack trip and this was a real treat. Very clean and well designed rooms - bathroom was heaven! Staff A+ and immaculate service. Great dinner menu and the breakfast was a never ending buffet. Would not hesitate to book the Novotel Halong Bay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear KimandOzzy

It is a great pleasure for our hotel to have been given a chance to accommodate you recently.
We are pleased to see that your stay was enjoyable, and you were satisfied with the room, bathroom, services from staffs and the dinner and breakfast buffet.
We hope your next stay will be more enjoyable. Thank you again for sharing your kind comments with us and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    235
    80
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
221
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed for three nights in February.
Excellent location, a few minutes walk to the night market and close to several restaurants. About 1.5km away from the tourist ferry port, so walkable.

Hotel was lush! Very well presented and elegant. Rooms were great, came with everything, including a balcony. There was a bit of an issue with our bath/shower leaking, which the hotel took very prompt action and moved us to a higher floor room.

Due to crappy weather, we hit up the spa on the last day of our stay. Very luxurious, and an excellent massage, although a little pricey for Asia but still worth it.

Clean and friendly, would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Chloe L

Thank you for staying three nights in February with us.
I am happy to read your compliment on the location, room and the spa.
Regarding bath/shower leaking issue, I apology for any inconvenience that you might experience. I will share your comment with our teams especially with reception about prompt action; which will serve as an encouragement to them.
Thank you for sharing your comment with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was very good - the pool was lovely and clean and the bar area had a nice atmosphere. We ate in the bar one night and the staff were very friendly with magic tricks to keep us entertained. The breakfast was good - a fair choice of things but no bacon which was an oddity in a supposedly westernized hotel.
The gym was very small but perfectly functional with 2 running machines and a cycle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear 43-OTR

Thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay for your stay in Ha Long.
We are happy to hear your compliments on our rooms, swimming pool, breakfast buffet, gym and the friendliness of bar staffs. I will share your comment with the concerning departments and especially with our bar teams. We do provide international breakfast buffet every morning that include bacon and we will put more attention on running out of food.
Again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

title: A wonderful hotel for a family weekend

We wanted a quiet and relaxing family weekend, and this hotel proved an excellent choice. The gym has a great view and the fitness equipments are well maintained. The spa is spacious, clean and welcoming. The outdoor pool is clean, and the beach very near. The hotel offers a nice-looking and tasty lunch at a flat rate, and an excellent dinner buffet including delicious seafood that we would only have expected in a 5-star restaurant. The hotel’s decoration has a welcoming outlook, with a touch of luxury. What impressed us most is how smiling and helpful the staff were: despite the great number of guests, our every wish was attended to at once.
We came from Hanoi by bus; a tough experience. The bus drives around until it is jam-packed: after all seats are full, the crew sells seats on plastic tools in the corridor. No decent-souled traveler would gaily spend 4 hours in his seat while an older person is crouching miserably at his side; so you offer to swap seats and find yourself on a flimsy stool in the corridor of a scruffy bus spouting black fumes, and you wonder whether you really like Vietnam after all. For the journey back we chose to book a car through the hotel; like the rest of our stay, it was absolutely impeccable: the driver was on time and drove skillfully , the car was comfortable, and every detail was taken care of (complimentary mineral water, etc).
Just 1 suggested improvement: if you use the online booking system, it may be worth sending a confirmation e-mail directly to the hotel. I remember indicating on the online form that we were coming with a kid, but the hotel apparently did not receive this piece of information and there was no extra bed in the room (907) when we moved in. There were extra beds available in the hotel, though, and the hotel staff fixed that right away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear ANONYMOUS636

It is a great pleasure for our hotel to have been given a chance to accommodate you recently for family trip.
We are glad to read that you were satisfied with our gym, Spa, and the meal especially lunch and dinner buffet at the Square as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our staffs. I will share your comments with our teams for us to keep up with the good work. Also it’s good to hear that you had comfortable journey back to Hanoi with our private transportation service.
Regarding the reservation issue on extra bed, please rest assured that the concerning department will investigate the situation and I am sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced.
Thank you for spending your family trip with us and we hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

(room 706)

+ very new looking building
+ dinner in hotel is very good
+ beautiful view from window
+ scale in room
+ balcony with view

0 very modern looking appointments

- temperature impossible to control, does not obey
thermostat setting, was uncomfortably hot
- Bathroom opens to bedroom offering salacious views
- cigarette burns on balcony railing
- there is translucent glass door to the bathroom to
allow salacious views from the bedroom into the bathroom,
but if one uses the bathroom late at night it floods the
main room with light.
- single door can be used to give privacy to the toilet
or to the show and toilet but not from each other
- confusing set of light switches making it hard to know
exactly what each does
- room too dark to even read
- step up out of bathroom makes it easy to stub toes
- never got air conditioning to do anything
- too many people chasing too few seats at breakfast
- no drawer space

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Mark_Leeper

Thank you for taking time to share your experience regarding to your stay on February with us.
We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the building, dinner in the Square restaurant, scale in the room and the great view from the room. As you mentioned, your room was definitely facing the bay with stunning view.
Regarding to your points, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the air-condition controller, balcony railing and the lighting in the room. Your comment has been brought to the each concerning departments to take in charge to improve the condition.
Again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope the negative points will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is located very close to the Bai Chay Wharf, and it's quite convenient to go for a walk along the beach or just in the town to check out the big market there. We had one twin-bed and one king bed room. My family and I loved the room very much, spacious, pretty, comfortable, specially the balcony from which you can see the view of the bay. Restaurant is nicely decorated too. Breakfast was very nice. Nice & friendly staff. Swimming pool is not very big but looks great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Maple J

It’s a great pleasure to read a comment as yours based on your recent stay with us.
We are happy to see that your stay was enjoyable and pleasant with the room style, buffet at the restaurant and the friendliness of our staff. Your comment will serves as a big encouragement to all of our staffs.
Again, thank you for staying with us and share your comment with us. We look forward to accommodate your family in the next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is what I would call a bog-standard Novotel, ie reliable and well-presented, with good service. The best feature is the Japanese-design of the rooms, which I found very pleasing. The breakfast bar was adequate but not exciting (with the world’s slowest toaster), whereas I enjoyed dinner more. It’s a good place from which to get out and go for a walk by the Bay. A comfortable night’s stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Tanderra

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with Novotel Ha Long Bay.
It’s a great pleasure to read your comment on our services, design of the room, breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. I will share your comments with our teams for us to keep up with the good work.
We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Address: Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ha Long Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.