We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien An Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dalat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thien An Hotel
Save
You added Thien An Hotel to your Saves list
364 Phan Dinh Phung | Old address: 272A Phan Dinh Phung, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After a not so happy stay at our hotel in Hoi An, it was a pleasure to be welcomed to Thien An hotel by the owner Mr Anh. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished and with a bath, some have air con and some don't, you can probably do without it as Delat is cool(25c). Mr Ahn was happy to organize a day trip for us with "Delat Easyriders", our two guides were very knowledgable and spoke good english. Breakfast was great, a large communial table, a good way to meet and chat to other travellers. Fruit, real butter, choice of eggs, peanutbutter and Vegemite!! We had to check out early on our last day and Mr Ahn orgaized an early breakfast for us and waved us goodbye as we left on our bus to Mui ne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    69
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
125
32
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We selected this hotel based on the great reviews in trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The balcony rooms are large and spotless. Yes you can hear the traffic, but it is great watching the street life.
I had emailed Mr Anh in advance requesting a motor bike tour for the 3 of us, this was all organized for the day after our arrival. We had done bike day tours previously in Vietnam, and while great, we didn't enjoy the experience of "ambush marketing". This did not happen at all on this tour, no pressure and everything was done at our pace. Trung, Hung and Viet our guides were excellent in their explanations and showing us places you would miss if you didn't have a local guide. I recommend this for anyone looking for something to do around Dalat.
Now back to the hotel.... The breakfast lived up to all previous reviews. Shower pressure and hot water great. The walk to town is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were in room 402. Very good. Young son of the owner helped with the luggage which was great as there is no lift! Very clean room. Breakfast was amazing! Best breakfast in Vietnam: fresh bread, jam, peanut butter, marmite, fruit (the mango was delicious!), freshly fried or scrambled eggs. Only recommendation I could make is too stay at the rear of the hotel as it is on the main road and can get very noisy with the buzz of motorcycles going past. Maybe ask for room 403(?). Email the owner as he speaks good English and can advise. We would definitely recommend the Countryside Tour ($18 USD per person) that the owner can arrange for you. The tour was great: great tour-guide, excellent places and very, very worthwhile. You can also rent a bicycles here for free which we didn't realise until we got there - was a nice surprise!

Room Tip: We were in room 402. Very noisy from all the motorcycles passing on the main road outside so maybe a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

After coming from hostels in Australia, this hotel was such a treat! We hadn't booked and just took our chances. Room was large and beautiful. Bathroom included a bathtub! Breakfast is included and is amazing. Fruits galore, cheese, tomatoes, crusty buns and eggs. So delicious! We had to leave before breakfast on our last day and the owner arranged for the bus to pick us up at the hotel and made an early breakfast for us. Very helpful, friendly, comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked for 3 nights. Delightfully surprised to be met at the bus at our arrival from Nha Trang. When the first room, (a quiet one at the back of the hotel) was smaller than we had expected, we were offered a larger room at the front - apparently the larger ones are all in front. We traded continuous street noise for room size.
Our room was comfortable and the mattress especially so. Plenty of space to stretch out. An extra wooden bed frame which was perfect for our luggage. Bathroom small but adequate. Breakfast was a real spread of fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cold cuts, bread, butter, preserves, and eggs prepared to our choice.
Unlike so many places we have stayed where "no smoking" means that you will not be smoking, but the guests before and after you can use the ashtrays that are sitting in the room, our room was seriously a non-smoking room, with a "No Smoking" sign taped to the entry mirror.
Mr Le Ngoc Anh, the owner, is extremely nice and helpful. The rate was quite reasonable. The hotel is a bit far from the heart of the downtown area - about a 20 minute or so walk to the lake. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to have a shower and high decibel street noise. Rear rooms are quiet and seem to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

me and friends so comfortable to stay in thien an hotel.. breakfast was so nice..mango, dragon fruit and juice so fresh!,.. at nite, we want to cook noodles, mr. anh (owner) help us to boil the water although we didnt want to bother him,,but he's been so helpful and also we can borrow hairdryer from him no charge at all ... bathroom was so clean and also the bed room .. we'd love to come back again ,,he will help you to call a taxi if you want to go to city centre,,and taxi meter not expensive there...and this hotel near a mini market also ... great budget hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just like other review, the room is almost spotless, and the owner maintain the hotel so that it looks like new though it has been in the business for several years.
The hotel provide free bicycle and I think that's the best way to explore Dalat. Also, the breakfast is a feast of local fruits together with fresh baugette and ham. The owner's wife is happy to prepare an egg the way u like (scramble, sunny side up etc.).
I lost my bicycle lock one day and Mr.Anh only charge me U$2 for that. I've been looking for 1 in town and it was selling for U$5.

The only downside is the hotel is approximately 1km from the city centre.

All in all, an honest and welcoming owner with great breakfast and clean room. Thumbs up.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien An Hotel

Address: 364 Phan Dinh Phung | Old address: 272A Phan Dinh Phung, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien An Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.