We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Walk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lang Bian

Lang Bian
Lac Duong town, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Attractions in Dalat
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This mountain is sort of a symbol for Dalat, so I had to climb it. Took me about 2hrs to hike there, it wasn't a troll, a bit more work than I expected but certainly achievable.

I had a great chat with some monks who spoke English who happened to be there, and they told me a bit about the area. The views were incredible to look at, especially as the sun set. I hitched a ride down which took about 45 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    54
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sapa, Vietnam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Trek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I did this Trek today, the weathers not been great for the last few days so as soon as the rain broke this morning I jumped on a bike (100'000 VDN) and drove to the town of Lang Biang. The town is easy to find on google maps and once you have negotiated your way through the busy Dalat streets it is an easy ride to the base on the mountain.

Taking the walk on the road is pretty straight forward (45 minutes/1 hour to halfway point) you then pay a small amount at a small wooden shack half way up the mountain road to start onto the muddy/rocky trail. This is where the trek becomes interesting as thing slowly become more difficult and tiring as you near the summit (another hour). Well worth the time to get to the top, it was slightly cloudy due to the time of year however when the clouds broke it was a pretty amazing view across Dalat, the local countryside, clouds and other mountain peaks (including the one that the jeep takes you too).

Beware: A lot of tourist are happy to jump in a jeep at the bottom and be ferried to the top of a mountain for 40'000 VND - this tour takes you to lower lying mountain peak with a café, trinket sellers etc. The jeep will then bring you back down to the bottom of the mountain. It doesn't stop at the half way hut for you to take the trek to the summit of Lang Biang

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stunning views after a steep climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We hired a motorbike for the day to get out to the mountain. It's a very straight forward trip, go north out of town on xo viet nghe tinh and keep going. Parking cost 5,000.
The walk is fantastic; we took the road up to the hut (which is about half way). Its not difficult on the road, but there are a lot of jeeps passing you. Once you get passed the ticket hut, it seems easy for about a mile, then the path gets very steep with a few trees across the path to negotiate and low branches (watch your head!). Keep going all the way to the top, the effort is worth it, the views in every direction are stunning.

Use Mike R's instructions from 30th June 2013, they are really useful. Also take lots of water and something to eat at the top, you'll need it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everyone travelling to DaLat should really visit Lang Bian. This mountain is sort of a symbol for DaLat. My Vietnamese fiance rented a jeep to go up the mountain, as I think walking up would have been very tiring. It is a fairly steep mountain. The views from the top were magnificent and they had some old Vietnamese War relics at the top which were interesting. The food was simple at the top - different types of grilled meats - but fairly cheap and delicious.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top of city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is a must-go in Dalat. It's a little far from downtown but don't worry, it's easy to reach here by yourself. You can catch a bus from bus station (5 mins walking from Dalat market) or rent motorbike, scooter. It will take about 45 mins by bus (because it pauses a lot) or 20 mins by scooter.
If you like walking, just do it along the road (approximately 2-3 hrs to reach the top). If you like trekking, there is a track (but be careful in rainy season). If you want to save time, you can hire a jeep (reach destination in 30 mins). My friend and I went up by jeep, but trekked down. It was fun.
At the top, you can try BBQ food with a reasonable price. Or you can just go sightseeing.
Besides, there is a spring if you choose to go down (you should go with an inhabitant who knows the way).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lang Bian also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Lang Bian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lang Bian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.