We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Le Lai Street, Ward 5, Dalat 61000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

...to French colonial villa life. This property is absolutely awesome and I cannot recommend enough. Not hard to imagine you are in France or Switzerland. Our 4 bedroom villa seemed untouched from its original days and yet it all the modern conveniences. And when we split the charges four ways it was very reasonably priced. Each bedroom is a suite complete with sitting rooms, HUGE bathroom and fireplace which is lit each evening upon your request. We had wonderful spa massages and loved the breakfast buffet each morning. There is also a very nice pool. You can see more of my stay on my blog: http://saigonlove.net/2012/04/13/ahhhh-the-villa-life/

Room Tip: Villa 24 is three stories with 4 bedroom suites. There is a little climb up and down from main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    100
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
172
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a very beautiful resort where you can enjoy nice view & relax all yr day in the pineapple forest... the swimming pool is warm & clean. Breakfast is wonderful & staffs are friendly. You can walk to downtown easily no need to take a taxi. Rooms are good, warm & clean also. I think this resort is the best one in Dalat & i recommended to my friends.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms which too far from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Purpose to do anything special for the day was the 10th anniversary of our wedding. My wife and I have booked 5 days 4 nights at the Ana Mandara Villas Dalat with our two young children. The villas are located on a beautiful hill. We had our own large bedroom, huge bathroom, with separate sitting room. The bed was lovely and cosy, and although we found our huge room to be cool, the effective heaters provided soon fixed that. My children are very interested in learning about the history of these things mansion neck. The butler on-call helped us arrange for a great English-speaking tour guide and driver, who showed us many sites in and around town, and taught us a great deal about the area and the country. He is a warm and humorous, offering many interesting things beyond expectations for our vacation. The kids love him. The hotel's breakfast is stunning. The buffet is located within one of the villas and is a charming place to wake up and enjoy breakfast, looking over the hills of Dalat. The spa is outstanding. My wife really liked the spa services here. It really was her charm. She opted for the Asian Blended massage and feel energized and emotionally recharged after the treatment. Every window has a beautiful view. Very warm caring staff : excellent food, services and facility are superb. My family is really excited and happy time here. Atrip to the many beautiful memories together.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Overall good value for money - maybe because we took advantage of their Highland Special Package?

The rooms are a little "old world" - being renovated from the original villas of the hill station. It was like stepping back into the 1930's and we enjoyed this. Very large bed and plenty of room. We had a bit of difficulty keeping the water inside the batch when showering - the end result being water flooding the bathroom floor.

Food: breakfast was fine, reasonable choice and good q1uality. Dinner was only OK (we had pasta) as far as food quality was concerned. Tried a glass of the Dalat Superior Red which cost $10 .... a complete rip-off when you consider that you can buy a bottle of the stuff in the Dalat shops for less than $5.

Thye major issue is the location .... when I booked I understood that it was slightly out of town but expected that there would be a regular shuttle provided by the hotel. They only provide this at 10:00am and 2:00pm. I would expect that a 5 star facility like this would provide a regular shuttle every 30 minutes or so. Having said that, it is not a huge problem getting a taxi for this trip - cost only $2.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Ana Mandara is known for its high quality lodgings and I had the privilege of enjoying such a renowned hotel. First impression matters a lot in the service industry and Ana Mandara has given me such a pleasant surprise when I arrived at the arrival hall. After checking in with the staff and waiting for the transport buggy, I came upon a photograph of Singapore's Prime Minister during his visit to that very hotel. If someone of that caliber recognizes the hotel, I only expect good things out of my stay. And indeed, it did not disappoint; the room was cool and comfortable with great showering facilities, the surrounding area was beautiful and so serene, breakfast came with such variety that I was spoil for choice every morning. Although the missing cues at the pool table and the unavailability of the swimming pool were huge let downs, Ana Mandara still impressed me as a tourist. It is a worthy place to check into when you're in Dalat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was unfortunately terrible value for the relative high regional price that they charge.

We experienced a large number of problems. Reading the following, you might find that some are petty in nature but these "lack of details" shouldn't be expected at these prices and added together produce a overall feeling of disappointment.

Heater not functional on arrive.
Water supply cut off.
Water supply running yellow for several minutes.
Missing expected items in room.
Items had to be asked for repeatly.
Old tube Tv in room, poorly tuned.
Poor quality pirated DVDs offered.
SWIMMING POOL CLOSED all day without prior warning.
No man sized billiard cues.
Happy hour discount not calculated on bill, staff had to be reminded.
Totally wrong drinks brought to table.
Resturant charges are extortionate for quality.
Villa noisy first thing in the morning.
Staff knocking on door when room displays do not distrub sign.
no fan/ac.
Family with children placed in same villa a couples ( the resort was half empty).

This hotel bills itself as a sort of luxury retreat positioned outside of the hub-bub of dalat town centre. With its pool closed, facilities questionable and the resturant prices set high because there is nothing else in the vicinity, we got the feeling that the hotel was all about providing a minimum for the maxim!

We will not return here, my wife and I have had the good fortune to experience high end resorts/ hotels through out south east Asia and this place falls well below the standards set, bad show Ana Mandara.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We switched hotels to stay here. We were staying in a very central location but it was just too noisy with every hotel requiring you to open the windows for air since there is no a/c. The switch to this place was so worth it. We stayed on the top floor of the villa and in January the weather was nice so it was fine to leave the windows open all day and night. No a/c. The room was very big and the entire place is spread out and quiet. I also wished that the tub had a hook or something to hold the shower head while you showered. We took a short and easy taxi ride to the main part of town and one day did the motorcycle tour with the easy rider group. That was fantastic and highly recommend it. Breakfast was delicious with a lot of options.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa

Address: Le Lai Street, Ward 5, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dalat
#2 Family Hotel in Dalat
#2 Spa Hotel in Dalat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 72 rooms resort, restaurant and spa set in the rural highlands of Dalat, Vietnam comprises seventeen fully restored French colonial villas each originally constructed between the 1920's and 1930's. The villas retain the unique personalities of their original owners while being lovingly restored to their former glory, with all care taken to preserve original design, decor and charm. Of the seventeen villas on site, fifteen have been converted into fully serviced hotel accommodations with the remaining two villas being converted into our Restaurant and Six Senses Spa, respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort And Spa
Ana Mandara Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Resort Dalat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.