We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weather wasn't idea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Truc Lam

Truc Lam
Near Tuyen Lam Lake, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 59 things to do in Dalat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular working religious complex, completed in 1994, includes a shrine and a monastery.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weather wasn't idea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Took the trip here yesterday. The monk village was nice to stroll around however after three months in SE Asia I think I've seen enough temples & monasteries. The cable cart over the hillside was a nice touch however due to rain and a lot of fog & mist the views weren't great. Worth taking a look at but for me this wasn't a show stopper on this occasion.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    73
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view and nice pagoda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We took a taxi from town, about 20 minutes. Walked down to lake, then back up and roundtrip cable car. Not amazing, but fun enough:)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TRANQUIL STOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A lovely place to take some time and wonder through the grounds, the flower gardens, bonsai trees, sit and picnic or just enjoy the forest surrounds. My excellent Easy Rider driver/guide, Joseph, drove me through to the lake on the other side where we stopped for an iced coffee (cafe sua da) and enjoyed the lake views, then I climbed up to Truc Lam, while he drove up there and met me later to guide me to the cable car and then met me after my cable car journey (lovely views over the countryside and forests and then towards the city of Da Lat) where he collected me again to resume the scooter trip :) Great fun!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It really is an oasis, this Monastery with a well maintained beautiful garden. We stayed a whole day, from 6 am - 5 pm and loved to meditate and spend time with monks and nuns

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Truc Lam is a lovely place, quiet and peaceful.
Try to take the cable car that will show you a beautiful landscape before getting to the pagoda.
If you get there early or around lunch time you will have a chance to avoid tourist buses and then enjoy a bit more the area.
The gardens are well kept and the pagoda keep a feeling of simplicity that is easy to appreciate. You will enjoy some time spend there.
The pagoda is free (but you can always do donations), the cable car is (at the moment) at 70.000 for a return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truc Lam also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Truc Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truc Lam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.