We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A by-gone age” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalat Railway Station

Dalat Railway Station
Nguyen Trai Street, Ward 9 Dalat city, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 59 things to do in Dalat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In its heyday, Dalat Station boasted three arrivals and departures daily. The French built the railway station itself, while the zigzagging tracks were planned and implemented by the Swedish, experts in tricky terrain.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A by-gone age”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The station was costly to build as all materials were imported from Marseilles then had to be transported into this remote region but it has an art-deco charm. Pity that the old steam engine is not still run for tourism purposes. I understand a diesel engine is used for a short distance pulling a few of the old carriages.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    131
    101
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Art Deco desolate but well worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Well past its heyday, the Railway Station is interesting from the architectural viewpoint. It is obviously a popular spot for certain tourists to pose and snap dozens of pics. On the day we were there a couple was having wedding photos taken and taken and taken with various costume changes. We walked from town so saw a good slice of Dalat on the way. The train was not operating but nevertheless it was a pleasant enough experience. There are some old photos and the juxtaposition of austerity and style is interesting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Dalat station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Does need a tidy up but remember taking photos of the bride and groom who were posing for their photos. Bought a hat for my friend

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“railway station in Dalat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Well yes it as at some stage the centre of the transport but now is just a tourist centre with 2 locos. The APT system was interesting for the very hilly region. Not really a must except for the old building

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice & Quite: Its a dating place during weekday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I like this place. I went here during weekday. So, I think not so many people here and now is raining season (less people are visiting Dalat City).

This Railway station is smaller than my imagination. But its fine and unique. Maybe they need to maintain more the in-side area of this station and make it cleaner. It is good to have more dustbin as well. Some visitor just simply throw rubbish because of no dustbin.

Anyway, i have a good quality time while visiting this railway with my travel mate.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalat Railway Station also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Dalat Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalat Railway Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.