We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bao Dai's Palace

Bao Dai's Palace
Trieu Viet Vuong street, near by Crazy house, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Attractions in Dalat
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preserved almost intact, this is the most popular of the three Bao Dai palaces in town; Bao Dai was ousted by Ho Chi Minh in 1945.
Ho Chi Minh City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a history buff, I love going to places like this. I've been to a number of homes kept up as museums. This is the first one in which one can sit in the chairs and touch most of the items on display. You can also have your picture taken in Bao Dai's car. The bad side of this is human contact can help decay the items. Carpet is frayed with spots on the wood floor. As a poor government, Vietnam cannot afford the costs of preserving such a site. Go see this when your in Dalat. It may not be in good condition for future generations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    62
    66
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Art Deco cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Small but interesting site to visit in Dalat. Not in the best of shape, could use some refurbishing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A treasure going to waste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'm a big fan of former monarchies, their history and stories of downfall and their properties. So I was very much looking forward to seeing Bao Dai's Palace. It's a great example of art deco architecture, and I very much enjoyed walking through the rooms and the grounds.

However, the property has a "shabby" feel to it, with frayed carpeting, chipped paint, crumbling concrete and barely preserved furniture and other artifacts. There is so much more that could be done here and making this a vibrant display.

On part of the visit that I didn't enjoy is on exiting the grounds, one is steered toward a row of vendors all selling the same sort of souvenirs one can find in the market. The vendors looked about as excited to see me as I them...Also, the fees charged to take pictures on the grounds seem a bit cheeky. How about raising the entrance fee a bit to cover photography?

There's a lot of potential here that with a little money and the right management/curation could be realized.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“OK but could have been so much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Interesting art deco palace, but not kept that well, and I think they could have brought it more to life with some stories of the royal family. If you are into dressing up, there is a good room where you can put on old theatre costumes. You can walk there from the centre of town, but it is a bit of a trek (especially if you get lost like I did) and you might be better with a taxi.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good examples of art deco styling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was very interesting and almost surreal, glad we took the trouble to visit it. Having visited other similar budlings in Vietnam it was good to be able to do a comparison. Having a guide with us increased the value of the visit as he explained a lot to us about the last king of Vietnam.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Dai's Palace also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Bao Dai's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bao Dai's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.