We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Its Good and Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Lan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ngoc Lan Hotel to your Saves list
Ngoc Lan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Nguyen Chi Thanh St, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Has Its Good and Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I rather liked this hotel for the great hospitable staff, buffet breakfast was excellent, our room was delicately decorated and clean with not much of a view, the location was ideal and walking distance to the market and food areas, but what ruined what could have been a really memorable stay was the noise from the traffic and the terribly loud karaoke music from somewhere at night. Probably would not go back again because of the noise disturbance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    74
    35
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
84
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The Gnoc Lan Hotel has prime location, overlooking the lake and adjacent to the markets, cafes and restaurants. The staff and facilities are excellent. Our room was clean and extremely comfortable - and the price was reasonable for the standard of service we received. Dalat is a must-see for any Vietnam itinerary and the Gnoc Lan is a must-stay while you are there.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake and night food stalls - spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folsom, california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is a solid 3 star- just OK, nothing special- but it is clean and in a good location. Our only real complaint was the loud noise coming from a nearby club- karaoke style singing that sounded like it was right in our room. I requested a room change and was granted one. The room was quieter, but you could still hear the music. I don't think the music is coming from the hotel so there probably isn't much they can do about it, but if you want a quiet respite from the street life, you won't feel it. For me, the most important thing about a hotel room is the ability to sleep without disturbance whenever I decide it's time to go to sleep. You won't find that here. I don't know when the music actually stopped, but the second room was quiet enough and I was tired enough to fall asleep with the music still playing. I would probably not return to this hotel for that reason. Everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the night music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

While in the Dalat area this hotel is in a prime location and looks pretty good from the outside don't be fooled. We had bookings for two doubles, only to be told that it would be one double and a twin. Then when you get to your room and you expect a "city view" you don't expect to be staring straight into a brick wall or over a run down old building. I did query this to be told that yes that is the city view and the other side of the building is the lake view. I guess I am just used to looking out over a city if I have a city view. Then I guess I am used to getting some sleep if I am booking into a hotel too. Dont expect that here unless you have a severe hearing disorder. The noise from the Karaoke bar next door is something that you would have to be there to believe. Breakfast is good. But it would have to be gold plated to get me back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed at the Ngoc Lan for a getaway in Dalat with my wife, found the place to be well located downtown with our room having views over the lake. The room (we had a suite) was well fitted out and clean.
The staff were very professional and accommodating, the buffet breakfast in the morning on the top floor offered great variety as well.
Try the fish massage in the spa!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Bed sheet is not clean.
No AC, very noisy.
Got nice view

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Ngoc Lan on a recommendation from a sister property in Nha Trang that was fantastic...what an enormous disapointment this place is.

It is supposed to be a four star hotel but it is a solid 2, nothing more. The hotel is dark, out dated and seriously in need of a face lift from the lobby to the terrace. The staff are okay, not great, and they are way understaffed. There is never a bellman around to help with a taxi and don't even think about a consergie or tour desk. If you travel a lot you know the difference in the way the lobby staff interact with you when you are at a professionally managed hotel versus a low budget hotel. This place is definately run like a low budget operation, they don't turn on the outside lights so it is nearly impossible to see your way back to the front door...

The rooms are like cement caves, dark and lifeless without a single peice of art on the walls, and televisions that look like they have been around since 1987. There is no AC, so if you want any cool air you have to open the windows that may have a great view, or a view of a slum housing unit next door...we were not so lucky. We complained about our room but there were no others available that were any better. By the way room 118 smells of sewer gas, so make sure you don't get that one!

Nothing good to say about this place at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngoc Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Lan Hotel

Address: 42 Nguyen Chi Thanh St, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ngoc Lan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Ngoc Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngoc Lan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.