We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but not perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
67 Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly but not perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is clean and friendly. Helpful when I needed anything. However after booking it for use of the gym I was very unimpressed to find out they were repairing it and it wasn't available. At least 15 minutes to walk into town and the streets are very quiet. Lovely breakfast and very
Hospitable service.


Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good customer service and attentive staff. Reception spoke good english and were very helpful. They helped organise my country tour and shuttle bus to airport. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a wide Chinese and Vietnamese style variety, including noodle soup. All you can eat. Met many Chinese tourists. In general a nice clean hotel, quiet surroundings. As I was alone, they upgraded me for free to 5th floor with spacious room and tall ceilings. My Australian friends stayed at a more expensive hotel, and had a nasty breakfast. The WiFi was slow and cut out a few times, probably the tall building and thick walls. The desktop computers were fine downstairs in the lobby, and free internet. In general nice cosy hotel, fine for a weekend sightseeing in Da Lat.

Room Tip: Da Lat is a quieter town, and this hotel is tall with thick walls. Noise was not a problem on the hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel Dai Loi was a great place for the money. We arrived early in the morning and they were able to accommodate us by about 11:30. This was great considering we weren't supposed to get a room until 2 pm. The room itself was remarkable, having comfortable furniture as well as amazing wall decorations. I felt at home when we were shown the room. The room was a little small and had a lot of extra stuff in there such as a desk and tons of drawers to put your clothes in making the place cozy. The let down was the bathroom. It wasn't terrible but if your looking for a western bathroom your not going to find it.... at least not in the room we stayed in. The bathroom was a typical Vietnamese bathroom without a bathtub. Again not terrible but was hoping for something different. The room faced a street so by about 5 am a mysterious dog began barking. If your a light sleeper try to get a room that doesn't face the road because it gets pretty loud early on. The hotel offers a free breakfast that was outstanding! There was an old lady that spoke broken English and acted like my mom helping with the food and making sure I got everything I wanted. Make sure you get there early because it ends at 9 am. The best part to me was the service. They were so nice and extremely helpful with everything I had questions about. The place may not be "centrally" located but for $6 a day you can rent a motor bike from the hotel and see all the sights first hand!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel Dai Loi is a value for money hotel. The rooms are clean and well maintained. We took a room facing the street and it was quite noisy in the morning as there were motorbikes early at 5 am in the morning. Get a room not facing the street if you are a light sleeper.

The bathroom is clean but a little small.

The location is not fantastic as it took us 20-25 mins to talk to the town centre, but Sinh Tourist is just nearby (5 mins walk) and so is V cafe.

Breakfast was ok, but service is very good. The staff are attentive and serving us coffee and asking us if we want more food. The guy manning the reception was also very helpful with our various queries.

The private car we took from the hotel was also cheap (USD35 for the whole day).

Nice good hotel, but if you prefer somewhere nearer to town, there are probably some other options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I was recently with two friends in Da Lat. I booked the hotel via Tripadvisor and Agoda. When we arrived it turned out I booked for the wrong month (silly me). The staff was extremely helpful to correct the mistake.
The rooms were much better than expected, high ceilings, nice bathroom, huge bed.
The breakfast was great, the lady just never stopped bringing us more food.
I highly recommend this hotel, the staff is going the extra mile as well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Standard Twin Bed.Warmly welcome by receptionist staff. Our room located at the highest floor facing the city view. Room without air conditioning due to the weather at Dalat really a cool place to stay.

When we having our breakfast at the hotel restaurant. We was greatly serve by the staff. They are so friendly and welcome warmly.

Most importantly, the staff was so good and so concerned that we must take our breakfast before check out the hotel for our open bus. The restaurant staff also concerned we did not eat well for our breakfast.

The laundry is eventually cheap. Jean VND 12,000 and shirt only VND6,000.


Pro:
-Strategic located at the Dalat Center.
-Only 15-20 minutes walked to the main market.
-Only 200meter away from The Sinh Tourist Dalat Office.
-Room very clean and cosy
-Fast check in
-Hotel staff very friendly and very helpful



Cons:
-The hotel bath tub water pressure a bit low
-Hot water at the bath tub have to wait for some time.
-Noise caused by the strong wind
-Noise from the main road

Room Tip: Advise: -Bring your 3m ear plug. -Avoid City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and were welcomed warmly by the reception staff. Rooms were large and the balcony rooms facing the back were a nice place to have a cold beer and relax at end of the day. Bathrooms could do with a bit of updating but were clean and well maintained.
Buffett breakfast was enough to keep you going for the rest of the day with the matriach of the family making sure you were well fed with the many types of asian and also western foods on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Address: 67 Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.