We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in Da Lat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) to your Saves list
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
3A Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great place in Da Lat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for two nights, we had never been to Vietnam before or any other similar places.

The hotel is great, fantastic location, big rooms, comfortable beds, decent bathrooms, excellent staff, free WiFi and a restaurant down stairs. The staff are so friendly, helped us with our bags, ordered a shuttle bus for our return to the domestic airport and the breakfast is good with fresh fruit, Vietnamese cuisine and a lady their cooks a mean omelette!

Its located on the southern side of the lake, within walking distance of the markets, lots of restaurants, the crazy house, cathedral, the main pagoda and flower garden. Probably need to hire bikes or taxi to reach the golden budda and valley of love though.

There are two negatives about the hotel. The shower is directly next to the toilet, so your toilet and bathroom floor get wet (nothing major). The other is that you can here the traffic going past, we slept perfectly fine though and didn't have a problem (it's likely you will hear the traffic no matter what hotel you stay in).

Room Tip: We had room 402 which had a good view. The higher you go the less traffic noise you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    56
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
61
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were only in DaLat for one night, but we enjoyed our stay at the Fortune (Dai Loi). It is a short walk from the lake, market and shopping districts. It is also right up the road from V Cafe which has excellent western food. The breakfast buffet was big with a good selection, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great value, central location, friendly English speaking staff, free WiFi, good selection for breakfast, comfy beds. Great value, central location, friendly English speaking staff, free WiFi, good selection for breakfast, comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

When we booked we requested a quite room, on arrival they were very apologetic but the other people decide to stay another night, so we were on the first floor, instead on 4 or 5. She said we could move tomorrow, but we didn't bring it up again and they didn't offer. The room itself was nicely presented with comfortable bed, however no outlook at all, window looks on to alley way maybe 50cm away! But we could open the window, and this might have been nice, compared to coming from HCMC where it was hot and humid. The weather in Da Lat is lovely.
Noticed a small puddle of water on the floor in the bathroom and after showering they have a fairly major design fault with the instalation of the bath. It has a gap of about 2cm on all 3 sides, thus on first shower the soap slipped down he side and water runs out from under the bath.
On returning after dinner the noise was quite high, mainly from a church across the road playing music through an outside PA system but assured they stop at 10:00pm and they did. Bit of street noise during the night but cockerals started crowing about 4:00am and a dog barking which was a bit annoying.
Breakfast was great, with good variety and heaps of enthusiasm from the staff and, I think the owner. Tried my first Pho for breakfast and really enjoyed, the second day I had an omolet and it was great.
We came back to the hotel at about 11:00am in time to have showers and finish packing for check out at midday, however the water was not working at all. It was fixed reasonably fast and our check was extended till 1:00pm.
Friends we met that were also staying did have an issue, which tainted their view and alerted us to a possible issue, so we double checked everything in the room before checking out and we had no issue. All in all a good value for money stay and we did enjoy it.
The best part by a VERY long point is the tour they are agents for Thanh Do Tourist Co/Amazon Travel, we opted for tour #2 and at 290,000VND was excellent value and a great experience. Would love to have left them a revue but they are not listed on TA and I have no idea how to start a new thread?

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A group of us stayed in the hotel for 2 nights around Christmas and felt the stay was average. The location is quite good with a short walk to the lake and V Cafe. The price was also OK for what we got in terms of size of the room (quite large but some rooms were designed a little strangely) and friendliness of staff but there were some areas for improvement and things we didn't like. The breakfast is only served from 6.30 - 8.30am which is a little too early, especially while on holidays. There was a small choice of mostly Vietnamese food with some bread and eggs but the staff were really helpful in the morning. We stayed in room 110 and there was a window looking at a wall, but during the night there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke (not sure if this was from the hallway or the small area between the window and wall) coming through the room. Another one of our party stayed in a room facing the street and he had to ask to change rooms as there was too much noise from the passing trucks. The beds and pillows were actually quite comfortable, though. There was an electric kettle in the room and two glasses but no tea and coffee making facilities (this would have been nice after a long day of exploring).

I felt for about $32 (standard room) a night, it was reasonable but certainly not the best place I've stayed in for the same price.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel had the most character out of all the hotels in Vietnam we stayed in. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast they put on is generous and varied. It's in a great location a few mins walk from the bus station and the lake.

The problem with this hotel is the vents into the corridors so it was extremely noisy when other guests came and went so we did not have a good night sleep. The other thing is the bathrooms really do need updating. However don't let this necessarily put you off as the actual bedroom is suitably comfortable and everything else pulls up the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

1. I was given a free upgrade from their superior room to deluxe room for some reasons I did not catch it.

2. Room is very clean and deluxe room is very spacious for me to place my luggage and walk around freely. The hotel is special in a sense it has a flavour of traditional chinese decoration from the furniture.

3. Service is very good, the staff is very patient in helping me arranging private tours, hiring private car and booking of bus tickets. The uncle who is serving the customers breakfast daily is perhaps one of the most friendly person I have seen in vietnam. He introduced to me briefly on the food available at the buffet, what sauce to use, etc. I do not expect much from 3 star hotel but the food is not bad, especially omelette and soup noodles.

4. Location is pretty nice, 10-15 leisure walk to a lake where you can see the sunrise and also to the market. It is near to V cafe, excellent food and also some stalls selling steamboat which is pretty nice to eat during cold weather. If is nearer to the market it would be perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Address: 3A Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.