We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
67 Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a family run hotel and it was a pleasure to stay there. The hotel is in a good location within easy walking distance to the centre of Dalat and the lake. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. We had a problem with the bathroom drain on our first night so asked to change rooms and the receptionist arranged this immediately. All the staff were excellent. The breakfasts were great and the lovely hostess (owner) kept offering us more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
51
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

There was no one at the reception when we arrived but then the receptionist came running down the stairs! There was only one staff on reception throughout our stay and we sometimes had to wait for service but it didn't a matter as they were so lovely. The staff are very understanding and just give great service. Going down to breakfast was a joy because there was a really welcoming lady who tries to give you everything to eat. The breakfast is nothing to shout about but will get through to lunch. The hotel is not far from the lake or the market but you can hire a motorbike/taxi to get around to the main attractions. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We didn't have a bathtub but a standing shower so the whole bathroom floor was wet every time we had a shower. Unfortunately, we had a room facing outside so was quite noisy.

I really liked this hotel and is one of the best I've stayed in Vietnam. However there were some kind of building work going on so was disturbed by very loud banging and whatnot.

Room Tip: Try not to get a rooms facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I really liked this hotel and thought it excellent value for money. Situated not too far from the lake and about 5 minute walk to the market and the town. The staff and the owners did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. Our room was large and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast was a wonderful assortment of Vietnamese food and we regretted eating too much the night before because we weren't hungry at breakfast. They offered us all sorts of western food as well including eggs any way we wanted, toast, locally made strawberry jam, peanut butter and even cornflakes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. We arrived very early as there is only one flight in from Danang -As the room wasn't ready they allowed us to leave our bags in a secure place and also said the room would be ready a couple of hours earlier which was very helpful. This very generous hospitality continued for our stay. The staff on reception are delightful, very prompt and efficient. The breakfast hostess (who I believe is the owner) is extremly pleasant and goes out of her way to be helpful.
The room was very spacious and comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room and were given one on the top floor at the back. There was a little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is very well located and the room is nice. Stuff is very nice and helpful and help you arrange your tours in Dalat and surroundings as well as airport pick up and drop off. Brekfast is nice and the hostess who is filling your plate and wants you to taste everything is the nicest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was immediately comfortable in this hotel. Trom the moment I arrived (I stayed 4 nights) I was welcomed warmly by staff and this continued right through my stay. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was always interesting as the delightful hostess tried to tempt you with everything on the menu usually when breakfast is included other hotels I have been in have tried to minimise their offerings but at the Fortune you can almost skip lunch. A great place to stay in Dalat try out the live music at the V cafe down the road between 7.30 and 8.30 very laid back and if the weather is good take the cable car ride - well worth it. Also bring a light jumper as it does get cool in the evening. By the way the hotel looks better in real life than the painting.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher floors and near the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A good hotel. As its cooler in Da Lat, many hotels, as this one, do not have a/c. This is OK however when it rains it can feel damp. Good idea to have a room with a window or balcony to get fresh air.
Breakfast is predominantly Asian but quality is good. No need to set your alarm as the cockerels will wake you. All part of the charm.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room with window or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)

Address: 67 Bui Thi Xuan, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.