We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Loc Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hoang Loc Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Hoang Loc Villa Hotel
22/2 Phu Dong Thien Vuong, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 189 Dalat B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for a getaway weekend from HCMC to escape the noise but the noise came with us in the form of the hotel's dog and thin walls. From our room we could hear noises from outside. Very disturbing. And it isn't very conveniently located, too far for my liking. The staff didn't speak English well and it got frustrated to just get the simple things across. Far better hotels closer to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the superior triple room at Hoang Loc Villa for 3 nights. Hotel is a little small, about 45 mins away from the airport. It was located quite far away from shops and night market, however the staffs readily helped us to call for a taxi every time we wanted to go out and also helped us book a sightseeing trip and a white water rafting trip with Phat Tire. Room was clean and they helped us arranged everything in the room when we were away on the first day as we made a mess in the room! The triple superior room has a nice dining area and also a washing machine with washing powder available should you need to do any laundry. Weather was cooling and windy during our stay. We had breakfast at the hotel once, food was ok. We ordered drinks one night and they served our drinks in our room and provided us some nice warm artichoke tea as well. The staffs were always smiley, thoughtful and ready to help us. Overall, a very nice and homely stay here with good service. Would come back again if we are visiting dalat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Verdict: I will stay here again.

Room Type: Superior Double Bed
Room No.: 103
Paid: USD 23.45

Pros:
- Accommodating staff - agreed to put me up in the driver's room when I checked in at 5am and my room is not vacant/available; Called me on my mobile when room is available at around 1pm; provided towel for me to take a shower before I take the night bus to HCMC
- Clean and looks new
- English-speaking staff
- Food and shops within walking distance (although I didn't venture nearby)
- Away from the noise (hotel is at the end of a small lane); although there is a Karaoke just next door, I didn't hear noise from my room or at the reception
- Scooter (automatic) rental at 100,000 VND (or roughly US$5.00) per day; petrol station is just 1 minute away!

Cons:
- About 10 minutes' drive to town (not walking distance)
- No fan in room (cool weather means air-con is not required but fan will be helpful for ventilation); 1 window but you have to accept noise from your neighbours if they have a chat outside their room

TIPS FOR TRAVELLERS:
- There is a "public" toilet/shower-room that you could use if you want to have a quick shower before catching a night bus. Just ask the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, Nederland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Hoang Loc Villa hotel for 3 nights and booked through Agoda, since they didn't want to make bookings without advance pay. Reading the other reviews we thought this was a nice quiet family hotel a little out of center city.
Well the hotel was not quiet at all. First of all the owner has a very dangerous looking dog sitting in a cage next to the hotel and this dog is barking a lot. Also in the middle of the night. Furthermore there are two Karaoke places next door and the seem to be doing good because they make a lot of noise all evening and beginning of night.
We don't know were the family feeling, other reviews talked about, came from, but we didn't notice it. They were helpfull but the boy at reception was not aware were any of the major attractions in the area were. And when complaining about the noise we just got a sorry.
Also when arriving at 12.30h our room was not ready yet and we had to wait for one hour. This is not a problem, but we didn't get any drinks offered or anything, we just had to sit and wait.
Last but not least, the hotel is really far from anything and there are no good local restaurants nearby. We had scooters, but even on bike, which are also not complementary, it is quite far.
Rooms where ok, but didn't have any chairs in it, only 2 very tiny wooden chairs just outside our room, and the children didn't even had any balcony or something to sit.
For the money paid there are much better hotels available.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Overall a comfortable stay. Food has to be pre-ordered and they could give more than just one pillow each. The hotel is located off the main road down a steep slope so be prepared for some exercise if not calling for a taxi.

Room Tip: This is a two level house with extension buildings. Get rooms on the 2nd level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had 2 x rooms - 1 x double and 1 x twin and both were excellent - beautifully done and very clean - even doors on the showers! Rooms comparable to good modern western hotel. Gardens are lovely although the rooms do not look on to them. The hotel is a little way out of town but a cheap taxi ride away and the upside is that there are reasonably priced restaurants around and a supermarket approx half a km away (toward town). Very quiet and lovely and cool, however watch out for mosquitos if any windows are open. The staff speak very good English and are extremely helpful.
We had breakfast one morning and not overly impressed but ok. My husband asked if he could pat their alsatian guard dog (held by the owner on a chain after a walk) and was told yes. Unfortunately the dog is kept locked up most of the day in a kennel which may explain why he suddenly attacked my husband quite viciously as he turned to leave, causing lacerations (a couple deep) on his arm and back. The staff rushed to help with iodine solutions and we were assured the dog had had his rabies shot, however you can imagine it was quite shocking and an experience we will never forget!

Room Tip: All seem to be fine - twin room upstairs so warmer than the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Villa is a beautiful place. You feel so relaxed in the garden area. There is a nice common area with a piano if you choose to play. It was such a comfortable place to stay. It is a little way from the main center, but I just walked to the center. It's a nice walk. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The son helped us most of the time and spoke pretty good english. I would highly recommend staying here for a peaceful, beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: Not sure if they have air conditioning or not, but would try get a room with one instead of a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoang Loc Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Loc Villa Hotel

Address: 22/2 Phu Dong Thien Vuong, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hoang Loc Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Loc Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.