We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place (but not to stay in)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Crazy House to your Saves list
Crazy House
03 Huynh Thuc Khang St, Ward 4, Dalat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 173 Dalat B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing place (but not to stay in)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

One of the best & most bizarre places we visited in Vietnam. Absolutely fascinating & worth visiting Da Lat for on its own (& I loved Da Lat). Its like a cross between Alice In Wonderland & a mini version of Gaudi's Sagrada Família in Barcelona. A must see, but I wouldn't recommend staying there. The rooms all looked very grubby & old. We were warned not to stay there as it was a bit dirty & damp. Having visited, I'm glad we didn't stay, but delighted we visited it.

Room Tip: Visit, but don't stay.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
43
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Overpriced, boring and under construction. Waste of time to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

When I tried to make a reservation for this hotel thru a local agency, he emailed me with his own feelings of this hotel as below;

"Grotesque rooms. Dirty with so many visitors. Dangerous for kids. Few staying there."

'Grotesque'... that is what attracted me to like to stay there with my wife and 2 kids, but 'dagerous'... that is why I changed my mind to stay in other 4-star hotel in Da Lat downtown, which was one of the best decision ever I made during stay in Da Lat.

Interesting and even funny to visit and look around and very unique in Da Lat city, but bad for staying over night.

Rooms are dirty and smell varnished. Bed sheets seem dampish. Considering the Da Lat temperature, I feel like at night it might be chilly and it would be easy to catch a cold.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We are a mature couple and stayed at the Crazy House for one night. Having read reviews we knew what we were letting ourselves in for but the place is much bigger and more amazing than we imagined. Ok the room was not exactly large ( we had the bamboo room ) but the bed was comfy and there was a mirror on the ceiling! There was a wooden bench and a coffee table laid out with tea for us.The bathroom was quite large - more like a wet room. The breakfast was two fried eggs plus fruit and bread. So you dont get a safe, a TV, a bath, egyptian cotton sheets etc. If you want all that go to a 'normal' hotel. But if you want a unique quirky experience go to the Crazy House.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

Im curious how many people really stay in the hotel as the rooms dont look extremly clean, but definitly a must see day trip.
Difficult to describe. Its a unique maze of stairways and rooms. You have a great view of the city. If the sun shines like when we went, its not creapy at all, but some dark clouths or your own imagination may make it a different experience :-

Entrance is 35k dong, and besides the ceazy architecture there are some shops ( with the usual souvenirs) and you can enjoy a vietnamese coffee for 20k dong.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just visited the crazy house without staying the night. It makes for a couple of hours of strange buildings and yes, crazy rooms. It is easy to get ost since the complex is huge and is being expanded at the moment. From the top you have a nice view over Dalat.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at the Crazy House Guesthouse for 2 nights. For the quality of the accommodation and facilities it is fairly expensive for Dalat and there are better options for lesser cost. I wouldn't bother staying there again, as the beds were rather dusty, the pillows were ancient, the blankets didn't fit over the entire bed and the sheets were torn. Very little hot water was available in the bathroom so having a shower was a very quick event. Unlike every other place we stayed at in Vietnam, there was no bottled water provided, although a flask of hot water and some herbal tea was left in our room upon arrival. Breakfast was fine and the staff were very helpful in assisting us with tours.

While you are paying for a unique experience - it's like being in a hobbit hole - you would probably be just as well off coming here for a visit and staying somewhere more comfortable. It is also located a little out of the town centre, so unless you are up for a 20 minute walk to get to the tourist attractions in the middle of the town (the lake, flower garden, central market, etc) you will need to grab a cab.

The Crazy House is well worth a visit for its completely over the top weirdness. It is an amazing place and great fun.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty climbing stairs, I would not recommend anything other than the termite ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy House

Address: 03 Huynh Thuc Khang St, Ward 4, Dalat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Crazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hang Nga Guesthouse Hotel Dalat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.