We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different to all of Vietnam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Tran Phu Street, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very different to all of Vietnam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Relief to hit the mountains. Cool and so different. Hotel was lovely so French. Breakfast was beautiful. French dinner menu really doesn't work when there are so many local places to eat for a fraction of this very expensive menu. $30 US. Main meals. Think about Easy Riders they are so safe and take you to interesting places.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    53
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
72
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The room is large, clean and full amenities. Larry's Bar is nice. You can easily see the lake and Cathedral right from your window.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The previous reviews are accurate, this is a wonderful hotel in the old French colonial style. Highly recommended if you're wanting to impress a partner!

You should note that this hotel has no elevator and is quite a walk from the centre of Dalat across a road with no crossing (there is, but in Vietnam this is ignored and you just cross the road disregarding the traffic). There is probably a bus provided by the hotel but we wanted to avoid contact with the staff wherever possible.

Back to the impressiveness of it all, there are, for example, random rooms around the place playing old French music that contain antique furniture/gramaphones that really set a wonderful scene, whilst others are laid out beautifully. The staff are well-trained and faultless as you might expect.


That said, my wife and I found the place a little cold. We don't usually stay in five star accomodation at this opulent level and whilst the staff were helpful and professional I found them a little robotic in their manner. A previous reviewer described them as snooty and I can see why someone would have this opinion. It might be due to the fact that these people are working in an extrememely high end hotel and as such adopt an attitude to match. It's hard to put your finger on but because of this I'd be in no hurry to return.

The old fashioned room was wonderful, the bed was the best I can remember sleeping in, but the price for that olde world charm means there's no shower. This is a little awkward, and because of the old piping and brass fittings the water system makes a huge racket and alternates between hot and freezing. I wasn't impressed with that.

The restaurant / minibar and so on are extremely expensive, which always annoys me. But don't get me wrong, the food is great. An example would be the individual Bon Maman marmalades and jam you are given if you have toast as part of the buffet breakfast, that kind of thing.

To sum up - great for a short stay, great for a romantic break, but not recommended for the less mobile or wanting genuine warmth from a hotel.

We moved to the Ngoc Lan hotel in the centre of Dalat after this, much cheaper, more friendly, only four star and totally different (none of the charm of the building and decorations of this hotel) but perfectly acceptable and we were much happier. It depends on what you're after, as always.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Great hotel very nice ambiance. Old French style with a lot of class. Best hotel in town by far, as always a few things could be improved but overall quite a nice experience, would definitely come stay again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed in the Dalat Palace hotel for our honeymoon for 4 nights. Some of the staff were properly snooty, we got a few scathing looks from a few of them, not what we were expecting from Vietnamese hospitality from what we had experienced throughout the rest of Vietnam, especially at Hotels at a fraction of the price. having said that, the rest were very polite. Rooms were lovely, coffee or drinks at the restaurant in the afternoon were lovely as well, overlooking the lake, but the hotel had planted trees to screen the view of the poorer parts of town from the guests, so while you are enjoying your $5 drink, you know that beyond the trees are shanties and run down houses. Overall, I thought Dalat was a little depressing in this aspect and the hotel certainly added to this feeling, although not the hotels fault. Cathedral view rooms are very loud!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotel has been restored to its 1920's glory and no effort was spared to maintain the period decor and ambiance. From the luxurious beds to the original claw foot bath tubs (they appeared to save the original copper plumbing) it was a trip back in time. The staff was friendly, well trained and went out of their way to support any request we had. Their was an overall attitude was that your experience in the hotel was important to them. The main dining room serves superb French cusine in a formal atmosphere. The hotel has several smaller rooms on the first floor where you can sit and read and have a glass of wine or enjoy coffee on the balcony that overlooks the spacious and manicured grounds of the property. The hotel sits on a rise and provides a panoramic view of the city. I travel to Vietnam on business several times per year and usually stay in Hanoi or HCMC (Saigon) both of which are interesting but manic cities so a three day stay in Dalat was, in itself, a holiday. A truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

This hotel is fantastic. like staying in the ritz for a fraction of the price.

the outside of the hotel is a little boring but the inside is elaborate. The hotel has retained all of the original fixtures and furniture etc but with modern wiring etc to turn it into a modern hotel.

we didn't try the restaurant but the room service we had in the bar was excellent.

the walk to town is a little longer as the connecting bridge has been closed for works (Jan 2010), however it is still a very do-able walk. we also hired a motor bike while at this hotel and so were able to ride in and out mostly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel

Address: 2 Tran Phu Street, Dalat, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dalat
#3 Spa Hotel in Dalat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dalat stands a remarkable residential address – Dalat Palace. Built in the early part of the last century, in 1922, Dalat Palace offers luxurious elegance, gracious service and French colonial charm.The Hotel is located right in the city centre, within walking distance of the Dalat Market, shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. It is 30 minutes drive from Lien Khuong Airport.43 rooms of elegant colonial style feature ornate furnishings, wood floors, floor-to-ceiling French doors, chandeliers, cast iron bathtub, a working fireplace, luxurious bathroom amenities and high-speed Internet access. Each room offers a Xuan Huong lake view or Dalat Cathedral view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dalat Palace
Sofitel Dalat
Dalat Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.