We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average for the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dalat Green City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dalat Green City Hotel to your Saves list
Dalat Green City Hotel
172 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Dalat, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 181 Dalat B&B and Inns
4.0 of 5 stars 123 Reviews
L.A
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty average for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Possibly the worst two nights sleep of our entire 4 month trip overseas. Very noisy hotel. We even moved rooms from street front to middle back with tiny window and could still hear street and alley way noise. Also inside hotel guest noise can be heard throughout the night.

We also left a few things to be tumble dried at reception the night before our departure. Front desk said no problem to dry for us. Next morning they were sitting there still wet.

Location good, breakfast was better second day- buffet styles.

If your a Whitney Houston fan you'll love it here because she's in constant rotate in lobby. Can hear in ur room too!

The overall feeling is tired and worn. The sheets on our bed were some kind of polyester knit. So we opted for our sleeping bags. Luke warm water for both of my showers.

I guess you get what you pay for. We paid $20usd for our double room. But we've had way better accommodation for this price in Vietnam over last few weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcafedalatvietnam, Owner at Dalat Green City Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Travelers,

Yes, it's a noisy country. If you have problems sleeping, bring good earplugs for a good night's sleep. Trust me.... it's noisy everywhere. (Fact: Vietnam is more densely populated than China... look it up!)

Clothing: Dalat is a very wet place ... if you want clothes washed and dried, take it easy, relax a couple days. Sunshine comes and goes.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
37
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Once we had made our booking online we emailed the hotel asking for information on the buses and private driver to Saigon, but received no response. Not a good first impression.

We hadn’t been in the hotel for an hour before they thought they would try it on by overcharging us for our transport request.

On arrival we asked the receptionist if she could gather us information on the bus journey and the price for a private driver to Saigon. She tried to sway us to go with the bus rather than the private car as she commented it would be very expensive. We said we would be back down from our room to find out the answers within half an hour.

She didn’t have any answers ready for us when we returned to reception. She again mentioned that the bus would be the better option for us. We were quoted 2.2M dong for the private driver. We have had bad experiences of buses and trains in South East Asia. We have previously used private drivers in Vietnam whose service has been door-to-door, hastle free and our preferred option.

We asked if she could better the price slightly but were told that the company they use have fixed prices. She also informed us that the hotel makes no money on the private driver service so they don’t like to do it. We made the decision to go with a private driver and asked her to book it for us. She said it would be 3.2M dong. We knew there was going to be funny business from then on and asked her to book the trip at her original quotation. She said it was not possible and told us to book on the bus.
We asked to see the ‘fixed price list’ to see for ourselves. We quickly used google translate on our mobile to find out that she was charging us for a return from Saigon. We wanted one-way and made this clear to her. The actual price listed was 2.8M dong. This was the third price within 5 minutes. We realised she was trying it on and told her that we know a scam when we see one, but her answer was ‘this is business, no?’ We commented that maybe customer service would rank highly as well. Another option to us was to use her friend who could do it on the cheap for us but spoke no English.

We decided to shop around after coming to the understanding that the hotel did not value us as paying guests as saw us as a ‘purse’ rather than a ‘person’. Prices fluctuated around the various hotels/booking agents in Dalat but found that 2.8M dong was the going rate and because we wanted an early morning departure – we’d book through Green City Hotel for convenience. On return to our hotel we asked for this to be booked but then she made the phone call and quoted us 3.0M dong as it was ‘this time of season’. We walked out and booked it through another hotel.

On return from our first evening meal in Dalat a different receptionist had received a message from the other hotel and said they had requested for us to go and see them. There were no messages left so we were about to leave to go to the other hotel when the receptionist demanded that we leave our passports with her. We are never happy leaving passports with reception in any hotel as they are often unmanned with the keys to drawers left on the top of the desk. We have been travelling Vietnam for over three weeks and each hotel has given us our passports back on request within the hour. We had already left passports in the hands of the receptionist for an hour on check-in and then requested them back; swapping them for photocopied passport and visa information so they could fill out the necessary procedures.

We informed her that we were unwilling to hand over the passports and she told us that we would have to leave the hotel if we do not hand them over. She wanted to use this as a ransom as she thought we had sorted another hotel to stay at when in actual fact we had no intention of that but had simply used another hotel’s booking service as this Green City Hotel had tried to rip us off. In order for our reservation to be kept we had to pay for the room in full on the first night and told her we would hold our own passports for safe keeping. We did not trust them.

This was the cheapest place we stayed at during our time in Vietnam and we couldn’t wait to leave. We booked here just three nights in advance so didn’t have a lot of options. The rooms appeared to look cosy on the pictures but seeing them in person is different. The hotel itself has a funny smell to it as do the rooms. We had a room with two double beds and the linen/pillows of both had previous guest’s hair on them. The duvet had a stale B.O. smell to it. A lot of dated furniture and a lack of natural light in the room just lead to a grim stay. The bathroom was of equal standard.

I don’t believe our room/bathroom was cleaned during our stay – only our beds were made up. Same wet towels. No re-stock of toilet paper. Bins not emptied.

Breakfast was a feeble effort. First day we had table service. Both omelettes and scrambled eggs were bland, bread, jam and bananas being the other options. Second and third day was a buffet style with pancakes and tomatoes as further selections.

During our second night here there was a late check in of a large group of guests which was very noisy. The bar next door (mentioned on TA by other guests) to the hotel plays loud music until around 11pm. I’m not sure if I could call it shady, but there are a lot of Vietnamese who do their usual thing of staring at you and your belongings as you walk past. There are a number of intimidating places on that street but I would say the location of the hotel is in an OK proximity to the city sights.

Another thing worth mentioning – I’m not sure if it is school holidays for the kids but there are a few that hang around the hotel and use the communal computers – we don’t have any problem at all with this but on our first morning we heard a child crying and being smacked by presumably a staff member outside our room. We left our room moments after and saw the child kneeling; staring at the corner of a wall (we guess punishment). None of our business but hearing and seeing this was distressing and something we shouldn’t be witnessing.

We always like to read the reviews on TA before booking. This was the one of the better rated available hotels to us. We noticed that the owner replies to the non-favourable reviews so we expect a response to our feedback within time. You (the reader) will no doubt be aware that we, along with the tripadvisor community try to give as honest a review as we possibly can and gain nothing from this. So if it does so happen that the manager decides to comment then please feel free to exchange emails with us as TA does not allow us the opportunity to reply to a owner’s response.

Other tips for your stay in Dalat...
If you like your food you will struggle to find a decent restaurant in Dalat. The top reviewed restaurants aren’t actually what you could call restaurants but are more music venue’s that offer cafe style food. We ate at two highly ranked establishments (on TA anyway!). First being V Cafe (linked someway to this hotel as you get a 10% discount voucher) but found it to offer cheap pub grub of a poor standard and on closer inspection of the reviews, most talk about the entertainment rather than the dining options. The other was ‘Art Cafe’, one meal was nice and one was terrible.

Try the ‘windmill’ for a good coffee and a cake – really pleasant/helpful staff.

Room Tip: A room with a proper window that lets in natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vcafedalatvietnam, Owner at Dalat Green City Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Although we certainly cannot agree with all of your points, we do agree that there was a major miscommunication on the transportation issue, for which we apologize. (We generally do not make money on arranging transport, and language and cultural barriers sometimes can lead to misunderstandings.) While we strongly believe that the staff were doing their best, they definitely could have handled the situation better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am a world traveler and have stayed at the best and also the worst and this hotel for the price is the best, breakfast is just great, staff speaks english and very helpful. real sheets and changed each day wow what a hotel and very very close to downtown, within walking distance of my favorite coffee place Windmill. It is full during holidays so you must book early and the owner is a very nice lady helped me with buying girl friend some perfume. You wont go wrong with this place!! Dr. Charles H. Cranford professor at Hong Kong teaching business to other PhD's

Room Tip: I stayed with view on street and it was not loud at night time liked the double room bigger and nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice hotel, with friendly staff and was very good value. Our room and bathroom were very big and clean. They provided free drinking water. There was no air con but you don't need it in Dalat. There were a few bars and restaurants close by and the lake is about 10-15 mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I found this place from tripadvisor. Overall great value for the price. Awesome breakfast buffet (a pleasant surprise!). Rooms generally spacious, could be a bit quieter but still had a nice sleep. Staff were very helpful arranging some local tourism excursions. The food delivery service was a nice bonus - one night was just tired of going out, and they brought a nice hot soup and a pizza which hit the spot. Location is decent... about a 7-10 minute walk to the lake and the downtown market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Every time I am in Dalat I enjoy staying at the Green City Hotel. Wonderful service and hospitality, clean and nice rooms and a wonderful buffet breakfast which is ideal to charge your batteries after a night in town or before a hike or a trip on the lake. Located near the centre - surrounded by small shops where you can get everything you might possibly need - it is a good starting point to explore Dalat. Staff is helpful and can provide you with information and organize activities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We arrived in the early morning 7.30am and the gate is closed. We called and the staff come out to open the door for us. We requested early check in and have to pay extra 1/2 day.
The rooms is basic and no so clean but bathroom is big. No fan and aircon. The window cannot open, the room is stuffy and no fresh air.
The hotel located about 10 minutes walk to Dalat market. The local foods at Dalat market is nice and cheap. The Noi Cafe nearby the hotel is good, especially the Special Noi Coffee.
The staff is helpfull and freindly, we check out early to Muine and they packed the breakfast for us (sandwiches, bananas and orange juices) and help us to call taxi FOC. Good customer services!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dalat Green City Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thanks for the review and the kind words about our staff.

We're working to fix some of the mentioned issues this month (low leason): * a general full cleaning of all of the hotel * adding a bell outside the hotel * changing some windows....

Note that in Dalat you really never need air-con. A fan maybe. (If anything, a heater on a cold day :-)

Have a great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalat Green City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Green City Hotel

Address: 172 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Dalat, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Dalat Green City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalat Green City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.