We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saphir Dalat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Saphir Dalat Hotel to your Saves list
Saphir Dalat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Dalat 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at Saphir last year and were very satisfied. Nice wooden interior&decor, grand comfy bed, good breakfast, free soup and hot milk at night.
The staff was very nice to us. It was raining the other night when we wanted to go out and the receptionist let us borrow their big umbrella right away. They also have a beautiful coffee shop with fair price. It takes about 5-7 minutes to walk to the city centre.
The only bad thing was that our room didn't have good noise cancellation and the guests next door were super noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    9
    13
    5
See reviews for
6
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have stayed this hotel for 2 nights. We really like the architecture of the hotel. The design of room made me feel warm. Especially, I am fan of canopy bed. So the bed was awesome for me. They will offer you super meals and hot soya milk from 7pm to 9pm. The price was reasonable what you pay. The locaton is good, not so far from center. It is suit for couple trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We paid $35 a night. And for that price, it was good (overall).
Good: big room, big bed, nice bathroom, tv (with cable). Location central. Nice decor, looks like a castle. Free supper (7-9pm). Free warm milk delivered to room at night. Good breakfast (Vietnamese).
Bad: Sometimes feels quite eerie, the hotel was very quiet when we went. No AC or fan, so it got quite hot at night. Front desk staff a little frosty.

Overall, we enjoyed our time there but for $35 a night you shouldn't expect 5*.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

we originally a had room reserved in Dalat which was very disappointing to us, It had rock hard mattresses and so noisy it would be impossible to sleep. we managed to arrange a room at the Saphir at midnight and moved to this hotel and were sooo happy we did! It reminded us of a castle, beautifully decorated and super helpful staff. We did have to be moved to a new room in the morning because our water did not work , but they took care of that instantly. It was very quiet at night and the beds were huge and comfortable. The included breakfast was the biggest selection I have ever seen anywhere in the world. It was amazing to say the least. Be sure to try the peach-cucumber juice-I called it "nectar of the Gods"! On our 2nd day there, they arranged a private tour for us in a classic car and we spent 8 hours doing several fun activities. We wished the driver would have spoken a little more English, but we managed, and he was always extremely polite and "at our service" at all times. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel looked quite nice when we were booking but unfortunately were very disappointed, I think the place was once quite fancy but now its pretty run down now, food was terrible, rooms smelt and were unbearably hot and the noise at night was horrible. There are much better places in Dalat and I'm sorry we didnt choose one of them

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalat, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A ghastly hotel. Stained sheets and a stubborn mouldy cabbage smell. Questionable linen and no heating. The entire hotel has an eery chill. We were so cold at night that my girlfriend had to purchase thermals and sleep in her jacket. The shower dripped constantly. The tv didn't work at all. The staff barely spoke English, and we're exceptionally un-helpful. I can appreciate the aim for' French charm' however this hotel seriously needs some modern day amenities. Blizzarly, the quaint lodge by day becomes a youth karaoke spot by night! The sound of 'singing' kept us up! Tiny room too, couldn't even open our suitcases. Best avoided.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Superficially the hotel is impressive. Design is antique style with old retro cars parked around the hotel and antique like fittings. My room was large and the bed was huge (two queen sized beds joined together), but the room was very dimly lit, quite cold as it was January, with no heater? Bathroom reminded me of my grandfathers outside toilet, which is not a good thing. Lift was slow and at times just didn't work. My room was next to the staff area and was thus very noisy at times. Breakfast was an good spread of average quality food. The owners need to focus on comfort rather than the aesthetics of the building. I would not stay here again, not because it was terrible, but because, I suspect there are better hotels in Dalat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saphir Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Dalat Hotel

Address: 9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Dalat 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saphir Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest and most impressive hotel in town. Right in the city center, minutes from most city destination on foot, eco friendly design, impressive bathrooms, rainforest showers, all solid wood decoration, with turn of the 1900 century decorative features, impressive views and the towering hotel of Dalat City. Rooms are cosy and very well decorated., WiFi in all rooms and as well as public areas,cable TV, hot and cold water, telephone, smoke and fire detectors, Friendly service by competent English speaking staff. The must see hotel in town with restaurant and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saphir Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphir Dalat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.