We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings with average amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saphir Dalat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saphir Dalat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saphir Dalat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Dalat 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings with average amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on BB basis. Got a standard room - but it was rather small. Not as many amenities as you'd expect from a hotel at the rate we paid. Breakfast was okay, service average and the cleanliness was good. The decor is reminiscent of a Victorian estate bungalow with nice touches. The hotel had some nice touches with a Soy Milk every evening and a Chicken Broth at 8pm daily which comes complimentary. Note, to anyone who doesnt speak Vietnamese - this hotel is probably not for you cos the staff doesnt speak any English. Probably why the other reviews are pretty bad.

Room Tip: Dont choose a "standard option" / Try the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    8
    13
    5
See reviews for
5
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

First the good, older building, interesting layout and setup, vintage car collection parked throughout.

Then the not so good...
1. Rooms are small
2. No A/C (not by itself a problem) but top part of room windows is a grille so this is the NOISIEST night's sleep I've had for years. Also the quaint elevator is very noisy in the rooms from ~4.30am onwards
3. Sheets and bedding are nylon or polyester. Yuk. For the price this is just not acceptable.
4. The cheapest flimsiest toilet paper I've ever come across
5. Poor English skills at front desk (to be fair most of the clientele was not English speaking)
6. The nice looking Bar;Coffee lounge was closed all the time we were there, so no relaxation option.

I would definitely NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

From the outside you think you are entering French royal quarters......oh but thats where it stops. The staff at the front desk would rather talk on their cell phones than assist you with any questions or help. They all look at you like they are doing you the favor so just stand there, shut up and wait till they are done talking to their friends on the phone. I'm from Canada but speak fluent Vietnamese so I know they are not talking about work related things. The rooms are nice but the walls and doors are made of rice paper. You can hear honking at all hours of the night, people opening and closing doors. The breakfast was actually not bad tasting but the stuff you in the basement to eat it. Feels like having breakfast in a dungeon. There is a coffee bar upstairs with natural light that could serve breakfast since no one goes to the bar at night there anyways. If they moved breakfast up there it wouldn't hurt as much. If you don't go to bed till 3:00 in the morning and enjoy eating in a dungeon than this place is for you!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt barker, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Being the off season and a walk in got a room for $15.
Well priced and well appointed rooms, with all the mod-cons.
Although some of the rooms overlook the foyer it would be problem if the place ever got busy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We'd come again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I booked a superior room via telephone 1 month prior to my visit to Da Lat. The photos and info from the internet (which i found out not long before, are from the hotel staff themselves) blowned me away.

It was extremely disapointing that my room is way to small, just enough to fit one table, one bed and one chair. The TV is not older than my grand parents, no safe, no extra pillows, no pot... I decided to upgrade into a deluxe room (cost extra $25 for 1 night), which is exactly the same with the superior room except for more floor surface and a bath tub. No table, no sofa, nothing.

The bed was small, tough and coarse. But that is nothing compared to the horribly thin walls and ceiling. I could hear every single conversation and foot steps from the family who stayed in the room right above us.

The only good thing about this hotel was the vintage setting in some random areas.. well just not worth it. I'd rather pay $10 for a museum trip than this. They were lucky I paid in full while booking because I regret staying there from the very first moment I arrived.

Well I wouldnt be this mad if the hotel owner is being honest about its state instead claiming that they are a 4 stars hotel to be able to get more money. I wasted $120 for 2 nights, which is extremely over priced for this kind of hotel, or guest house, whatever it should be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Look, this place has some positives including the bar with vistas over the town towards the green hills beyond.Also the bed rooms are a nice size and the shuttered windowed bathroom (complete with olde worlde wooden tub)is well-fitted out.
However,due to the fact it has timber floorboards and it's close promixity to a bus terminal noise is a real problem.
Breakfast is served via a cobbled path to an area that doubles for an underground car park and caters mainly to the Asian palate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapu Bay
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hi
I stayed in the Saphir Hotel Dalat for 3 nights whilst on tour in Vietnam
First the good news, it was very clean and central to the city center, staff were very friendly
Now the not so good news, this would have to be the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed at!!
Picture putting a tent up in the middle of the busiest intersection in Saigon then paying all the locals to toot their horns all night and thats about what it was like, I do not know if the hotel design contributed to the problem but it was really, really bad.Next no one spoke English enough to assist me which gets tiresome after a while, the meals were non existent and I was even unable to get a snack on my last night at the bar when it was peeing down outside, the main restaurant was closed.
Breakfast in a big barn type area under the main hotel with trestle type tables and all Vietnamese foods. I think this hotel is more for locals not tourists
Finally on my last night I booked a wake up call for 5am as I had an early departure, luckily I also set my watch alarm, when i got downstairs to reception i found why the wake up call had not happened as the receptionist was asleep on a cot under a mosquito net behind the counter
Over all not my best experience so far I must say

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saphir Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saphir Dalat Hotel

Address: 9 Phan Nhu Thach Street, Dalat 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saphir Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest and most impressive hotel in town. Right in the city center, minutes from most city destination on foot, eco friendly design, impressive bathrooms, rainforest showers, all solid wood decoration, with turn of the 1900 century decorative features, impressive views and the towering hotel of Dalat City. Rooms are cosy and very well decorated., WiFi in all rooms and as well as public areas,cable TV, hot and cold water, telephone, smoke and fire detectors, Friendly service by competent English speaking staff. The must see hotel in town with restaurant and bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saphir Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saphir Dalat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.