We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fall and break your neck!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Falls

Elephant Falls
Ba Dinh - Nam Ban town - Lam Ha district - Lam Dong province. | Ba Dinh - Nam Ban town - Lam Ha district - Lam Dong province, Dalat 61000, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fall and break your neck!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

so bad. all the reviews saying its a death trap are right. Its really not an exaggeration!!! we were travelling with a toddler, and we couldnt even get to the bottom of the falls to see them. any handrails that once existed were eroded away and it seemed like for part of it you literally needed rock climbing gear to get down.
toilets were feral too :/

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    170
    62
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't get to the bottom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Steps to the bottom were just ridiculous. Made it part of the way, but had to turn back as it was just too dangerous to continue. Wish they'd use the 5000dong entrance fee to safen it up a bit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“OK Waterfall, but Adjacent Happy Buddha is Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Elephang Falls itself is simply ok. The path down is in pretty terrible condition, so those who are not in the best physical shape may have issues reaching the viewing point (although it's not even much of a viewing point, no more than 5 people can stand there at once). The waterfall is pretty large compared to some of the other waterfalls I've visited in Vietnam, but again, the vantage point is very limiting.

The best part of the waterfall for me was giant happy Buddha behind the the Linh An Pagoda, a minute walk to the waterfall entrance. The Buddha is huge, in great condition, and is very photogenic. It's one of my highlights in Dalat, and worth the visit alone!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“worth the trip but a bit dangerous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We rented two bikes and rode about 40km to the waterfall and it was worth it. Specially when you stand at the foot of the waterfall and the spray hits you with its full force leaving you quite drenched. The path down however is rather dangerous and one could easily slip and take a nasty fall which will almost certainly lead to breaking an arm or a leg. Make sure you wear shoes and that they have very good grip. The attraction although is quite nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lae, Papua New Guinea
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Raw but a great adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our guide/driver took us down to the bottom - was a bit of a hike as the railings have gone and not so easy descending given that the stairs are intermittent however when we got to the bottom it was really worth it standing behind the waterfall and then the guide got some great photos as we descended
I would say we were in reasonable physical shape but if you have bad knees or are really unfit might not want to do it

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Falls also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Elephant Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.