We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lien Hoa

Lien Hoa
15-17-19 Duong 3/2, Dalat, Vietnam
(063) 3533479/3837303
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 112 restaurants in Dalat
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Having been to the markets twice already and struggling to find a good pho, I came across this restaurant by sheer coincidence of looking in the bakery downstairs. The restaurant is located upstairs and serves a vast array of traditional bun and pho. I had the beef pho and honestly, it was by far my favorite of all tried in Vietnam. The food is very cheap and plenty of it. I was a little disappointed in the bakery. There are many good bakeries throughout the country but this is not one of them.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    14
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average restaurant food and short-changing rampant in the bakery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The food in the restaurant is ok but we have eaten better and paid less in many other locations in Vietnam (including Dalat). If you buy from the bakery (which admittedly serves good food at good prices) be very careful to add up the prices as you go along and check your change. When I pointed out the "error" she didn't even make a pretence of rechecking her figures and simply thrust the rest at me before rapidly moving onto the next customer to try to dupe. Its a shame really because we won't ever go back there and it isn't that bad really.

As a final comment, has anyone else found that once a place gets itself into a guide like the "Lonely Planet" they stop trying and turn instead to ripping off customers? Certainly the best food we have eaten is in places no guide recommends (we just look to see where most locals are eating and it works all over the world).

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great bakery but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Fantastic selection of bread products, buns, cakes, confectionery even the familiar Barilla pasta sauce if you were after some!


Gave 'incorrect change' to my husband when he paid for some cashew nuts...but were all smiley when he pointed out their error...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Banh Mi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

They service the best Banh Mi I have ever tasted. Partly due to their freshly baked baguette and perfected the formula for making them. Their bakery is just at the back of the shop.

The beef noodle soup and beef steak rice is very good too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

even locals come by this bakery in droves. try the cream puffs and croissants!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lien Hoa also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Lien Hoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lien Hoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.