We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and new hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sapinette Hotel Dalat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Sapinette Hotel Dalat to your Saves list
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Phan Chu Trinh St | Ward 9, Dalat 84 - 63, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice and new hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. Our room is really nice and big (Junior Suite with 2 windows - Room No 521).

1. Location: far away from downtown area. Just only 3USD and you can reach to downtown area in 10 minutes. But at least there is one big supermarket which is next to the hotel. It is really convenient to buy something!

2. Facilities in the room: all are perfect. No complaints about them!

3. Staffs: F&B team is really friendly and nice team. Thanks a lot for a great lunch which is served by Mr. Thach - F&B Manager and his great staffs. Receptionists are so so, not too much friendly as F&B team. Bell boys are ok. But I felt uncomfortable when I come back to the hotel in the evening (around 8pm). One receptionist (the guy) and one bell boy were sitting at lobby lounge area for chatting while I was standing in front of the reception area to wait to get my key. If this case happened in 2* or mini hotel, It was fine to me but this one is 4* hotel, they should not do that as hotel standard!

4.Breakfast: is poor but at least the lunch is nice if you pay by yourself. It is really cheap, only 12USD for 2 persons for set menu.

5. Room service: is great. This service is served in 24 hours. Good plus!

6. Shuttle bus: 2 times per day to downtown area. Another plus!

7. Spa and fitness center: are located at the basement. All are wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
51
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you want to stay away from the hustle & bustle of the downtown area, this hotel will do. It's considered far from the center, but merely a 10 minute or so taxi ride. The cost is only USD$3. The location is said to be way out there, but there's some shops & businesses that line the streets and a big supermarket/store next door. Everything else, is of course in downtown Dalat.

The hotel itself is nice & clean. Nothing too fancy or ordinary. The staff was mediocre, not genuinely friendly, very helpful or knowledgeable. Some days, they seemed indifferent. In fact, they looked quite bored most of the time. This is possibly due to the hotel not being busy. It resembled a ghost town. If you want peace & quiet, this is it! They had few guests on any given day.

There are two warnings here: The staff enjoys staring at guests (from the kitchen workers to the bell boys). Again, probably because the hotel is so desolate. The bell boys will come up to the reception desk and observe you when you go there for something. You feel that your privacy and space is violated. It's very uncomfortable. Also, if you're the only ones eating in the dining area, you will be stared at! If you need to change your money, you can do it 2 or 3 times, but after that, they may tell you they don't have the necessary funds. They will suggest that you go across the street to a bank or to some jewelry stores downtown.

The rooms were fine, but don't expect any decent views. You may get a neighboring residential building or business. If residential, the people can be noisy. Adequate toiletries were provided, including toothbrushes & toothpaste.

The breakfast was nothing to boast about, let's just say it was edible. The variety was low and the options weren't that good. If you get free breakfast with the room, then that's all right. If not, you can get a better breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent our three days at this hotel.We were given a room on the second floor and after asking for a floor higher up they accomedated us with a room on the sixth floor.The front desk was pleasant and friendly.Breakfast was decent.The only problem was distance from town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel was clean but did smell of ciggarettes on the 5th floor.
Pretty good value.
Breakfast is ok but your not spoilt for choice (unlike Michelia,Nha Trang).
gym is in a dingy basement part of the hotel.
its only a 60000dong ($A3) taxi ride to the centre of town.
Beds are really comfortable and the rooms are whisper quiet.......yes whisper quiet in Vietnam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The location isn't great. You have to take a taxi to go downtown but we can't complain for the price (approx. $30/night with breakfast option). The rooms were very spacious, clean, modern, and new. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel for this kind of price.

They have a large buffet for breakfast but since we were there during low season, it wasn't offered everyday. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

we stayed in dalat for two days, on the first day we stayed in YK Home Villa, and the second day we stayed here. Ummm, the location is a bit far from the city centre, needa take taxi in and out. However, the room is excellent!great view and with a good smell,very spacious, this is the best place i have ever stayed in vietnam!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

La Sapinette is a near new hotel in Dalat located approx. 3kms from the town centre. This is a really beautiful hotel, large rooms with all modern conveniences. Would I stay there again? No.

We flew into Dalat from Danang. We had arranged a transfer with the hotel via email and received confirmation back, however there was no one waiting. Maybe that should have told me something. However there is an airport bus that takes you into Dalat for a fraction of the price quoted by the hotel. It is 30kms from the airport to Dalat and quite an interesting drive. It calls in to the Airport Hotel on the outskirts and then drops off people all over Dalat at their hotels. It is interesting to say the least as the bus reverses up and down narrow roads to get to the one shopfront wide hotels jammed in together. We were last off and we were wondering as we headed out of town again.
However we arrived at a very impressive multi storied hotel with a supermarket attached to it. No bellboys, so into the large lobby. It is huge, but totally empty. There is an unmanned tour desk, shop and bar, and the reception desk. Fortunately it was manned and after a bit of discussion we were booked in and shown to our rooms. It was all very impressive, with wide corridors but again depressingly empty.
The rooms are lovely. Large, bright, clean and well presented with large flat screen TV and free wifi in the rooms. The bathroom is generous with a unique (to me anyway) dual action door which when swung all the way is the door to the separate toilet. There is also a rather weird large window opening from the bath into the bedroom – a voyeurs delight if you were that way inclined! It does have a blind for the modest bather.
So if it is this good why wouldn’t I stay here again? The distance out of town is not a problem as there are taxis everywhere which will get you into town for US$3 and there are normally some in the carpark of the hotel. There is virtually nothing around the hotel apart from a local market and a couple of shops, but there are ATMs everywhere.
The main problem is the lack of English spoken by nearly all of the staff. We didn’t see another Westerner during our stay of three nights, come to that we never saw more than three other people at all. A couple of examples: I ordered a bucket of ice as it said in the directory, actually I didn’t as I got so frustrated I gave up, particularly when offered “a bowl of spaghetti” for the third time. I went down to reception and showed them what I wanted.
On coming back to our room after dinner one night our door wouldn’t open even though all the lights flashed etc. Down to reception, there was no one on reception or the office behind it at 9.30pm. I heard voices in the dining room and went to the kitchen and yelled out. Eventually a guy came out but I couldn’t make myself understood so I all but dragged him up to the room and showed him. He then went away and reappeared with two other guys and literally crash tackled the door till it opened. I still don’t know why it wouldn’t open.

I mentioned the supermarket earlier, well it isn’t! It was being dismantled while we were there and renovations made. The construction work started before daybreak and was still going at 8.30pm, and this was on a weekend. We put up with it the first night but when it started the next day that was enough. The supermarket is on three floors, and we were on the third floor of the hotel. On our way out to dinner I asked the girl behind reception for a change of rooms because of the noise. She couldn’t understand a word I said and got the senior girl, and after much discussion we were informed there were no other rooms as it was full, what of I don’t know. Furious we left for dinner. On our return magically there were two rooms available on the fifth floor exactly matching the rooms we had on the third. Staff were on hand to assist our transfer and we escaped the noise for the remainder of our stay. But it did take some doing and I would suggest some phone calls were made.

Breakfast! This hotel advertises as four star, and it is to be fair, and it is cheap for what it is, but breakfast is a joke. We came down first morning to an all but deserted dining room with three girls on duty. First shock there is no cutlery and no assistance. You have to get your own cutlery, condiments , plates and meals (4* remember). There was a reasonable range of food, but it was cold, there were no heaters under the bain marie, the coffee heaters were turned off and the egg station was not manned, we had to get the cook out of the kitchen. Meanwhile the three girls huddled behind their desk. What their role was I don’t know. This was the weekend when presumably they expected more people so had more rostered on.
On the Monday we went down expecting the same to find there were no bain maries or anything else. However there was one smiling girl and a waiter who explained that during the week it was a la carte breakfast. It was freshly cooked and hot, even the coffee was hot and we were waited on.

There was some consolation. We went to the excellent V Café the first night (recommended in Trip Advisor) and got back to the hotel at midnight after a very “bluesy” night of entertainment and good food. A word of warning, when you get into the mood with the music and atmosphere and the waiter asks if you want wine, don’t say you weren’t warned. 2-3 bottles later and an excellent night, recently purchased T-shirts and CDs and a hefty bill. A great night, our most expensive of a month in Vietnam, but worth it.

The other plus was the Dalat House restaurant, shown simply as House on the maps. It is literally three minutes’ walk from the hotel and great food and brilliant staff. It gets busloads of tourists in every night, even a busload of Australians the second night, you could tell by the noise. They have an extensive menu and wine list and it is cheap. Highly recommended.
I guess I’m not going to be invited back to La Sapinette after this, which is a pity as it is a beautiful hotel, good price, but a little far out of town and lacks service and trained staff.

Room Tip: Demand a room above the third floor, if you can make yourself understood
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sapinette Hotel Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapinette Hotel Dalat

Address: 1 Phan Chu Trinh St | Ward 9, Dalat 84 - 63, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Sapinette Hotel Dalat 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat is a 4 star hotel just build in Dec 2009, 91 well appointed with French Art Nouveau design included 32" LCD TV, Safe box and bath tub in all rooms, three-minute car ride from the central market.Guests can enjoy the cozy and tranquil atmosphere with 02 restaurant for Vietnamese and European cuisine, Gym, Spa and night chit chat at the Bar On the Rock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Sapinette Hotel Dalat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sapinette Hotel Dalat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.