We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok _ Maybe we struck a bad night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolate Cafe

Chocolate Cafe
40A Truong Cong Dinh, Dalat, Vietnam
063 3510 979
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 112 restaurants in Dalat
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just Ok _ Maybe we struck a bad night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Average food, slow service, with only one night in Dalat nothing to compare it to locally, but this place was pretty ordinary.
You can put up with a bit tardy service and music playing the same song over and over again if the food was Ok.
Unfortunately the foods not good at all.
Give others a go, I followed the Tripadvisor rating and it was wrong!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    54
    51
    33
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What can I say, terrible service, terrible food. Apparently they were very busy, yes every table downstairs was taken up but most only had 2 people at them. They did go out of there way to pull 2 tables together in the upstairs room but then promptly forgot about us, no menus, no drinks. We were on the point of walking out when the waitress appeared and did apologize for forgetting us. It didn't get better, the food was terrible. We actually wondered if we had the right restaurant (couldn't find it on Tang Bat Ho st the one we found was on Truong Cong Dinh st) as we had chosen this place after reading some good reviews for it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great combination of western comfort food and tasty Vietnamese treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We sat outside in the lovely street. We had the springroll starters and Vietnamese stirfry mains. Can recommend both as being very tasty. The pricing was good value for a sit down venue.

The menu also has a selection of Western food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went to this restaurant after the Lonely Planet recommendation, but didn't expect much because the Dalat eating scene in general seems below average at best.

We ordered nachos with chicken as a starter and got fried potatoes with chicken and ketchup.

For main course I ordered a Cajun chicken salad and got chicken, garlic bread and French fries - apparently the waiter had understood my "without coriander" as though I didn't like salad. They took it back and I got the same, but with lettuce with a bit of coriander, back.

All in all a really bad experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a lovely lunch there. Very fresh and tasty. Was listed in Lonely Planet so we tried it and it did not disappoint.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.