We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why YK Home Villa Delat?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of YK Home Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added YK Home Villa to your Saves list
YK Home Villa
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   09 Yet Kieu | Ward 5, Dalat +63, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 189 Dalat B&B and Inns
Pool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Why YK Home Villa Delat?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This guest house has some good points, there is good wardrobe and drawer space in the bedrooms, fairly unusual In Vietnam. Also having a fridge instead of a mini bar gives more space to store ones own drinks. There are plenty of electric sockets. It's a shortish walk into town though care should be taken particularly at night as the state of the roads & pavements is bad as it is in most of Da Lat. The pancakes at breakfast are excellent.
Unfortunately our stay started badly when my daughter and I were not given the deluxe rooms we had booked, although this was strongly denied, based solely on the size of the rooms it was definitely the case. None of the facilities promised were there & the TV in my room was so old it must have been antique! Admittedly there was a balcony but it faced onto a concrete wall. We were given better rooms next day which apparently were "VIP" one's & these had the facilities of the deluxe rooms but were dearer though a small monetry concession was made when we left presumably as recompence. The balconies, at the front of the house, were very nice and had a seat. The bathrooms with all the rooms are very basic basic and and the the bath towels are so thin one can almost see through them. There are no hand towels or proper bath mat. There is no tea and coffee in the room and no free water. The fan mentioned in the room descriptions is not a ceiling fan and has to be requested but is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    37
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
79
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Since the last time I went to Da Lat which was nearly 16 years ago I have to say not much has changed about the town. It’s a it of a “messy” place, feeling uncared for and unloved. Its not geared to the international visitor. And by the looks of the majority of hotels, the standard of hotels hasn’t changed much since those days. I stayed at the YK Home Villa.
And reading the reviews I would like to supplement what some of the previous people have said.
One review I read said it is important to adjust your expectations. And that is totally right. This is not a hotel , its one of the town’s many guest houses/homestays/B&Bs/Inns. There are no frills about the place. Another review I read said that they didn’t understand why so many people were raving about the place and again I agree in part with this reviewer. However, once you adjust your expectations and know that you will get simple, cheap, clean and basic then YK Home Villa is good. The place has only been opened a few years and it is in badly need of a face lift with simple touches – eg. new shower curtains, better curtains, better quality towels – there are many little touches that the management can do to raise this accommodation higher up the scale.

Location – the negative of it being out of the city centre is in my view a strong positive. Its only a 10-15 min walk into the main strip of town and to the lake and its good exercise! And its quiet – away from the busy roads (Da Lat is NOT a quiet place, roads a busy and packed) and being where it is you feel like you are in the countryside a bit. It’s a great area. Also having walked through the backpacker area a few times there is no way I would want to get stuck in the backpacker strip – noisy, cramped, bustling. And I was glad I stayed where I was.
Service – very good. The family who run it are lovely and very accommodating.
Room facilities – very basic. No bathmats, no tea and coffee making facilities that most hotels have in Vietnam, thin bath towels. Just felt that a lot of things had been skimped over. However, the beds are very comfy, large and cosy and warm. The furniture is nice made of red cherry wood. As mentioned before don’t expect a 3 star hotel. The curtains are paper thin material, cheap let the light in early in the morning. Bathrooms, big but very basic. The bathtubs are not very nice but they have showers. The shower curtains are stained and yellowing and need a good wash. But all very very basic. The water was nice and hot though.
Rooms – I booked through booking.com and it seemed that the description on booking.com and indeed the hotel website didn’t match the room I got. In fact, I had no balcony although booking.com said it was a room with a balcony and it was classed as deluxe. The TV was also an old fashioned chunky one but all the rooms supposedly have flat screens according to the websites. But I think its only the suites that have flat screen TVs. But it seems the hotel classes a deluxe by the size of the room not the facilities. The balconies in the deluxe rooms are not really balconies like one would expect. They are little areas that jut out, not much space, no chairs and some overlook the back of the building next door. So I upgraded to a suite room, which was much nicer, with a big balcony. So I would advise, unless you want a bog standard simple room, spend a bit more and upgrade to their best rooms. Always remember you get what you pay for.
Quality of sleep – I slept like a log, best sleep I have had for a long time in Vietnam
Overall, I liked the place, it wasn’t as I expected it to be from the reviews, and websites. But now I know what to expect I would come back again, pay for a suite room again so overall am happy. i am giving it an overall very good mark as its good for the price and the category of accommodation.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danang vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I picked YK Villa because it was out of town a bit. I enjoyed the walk around the area and into town which wasn't far. My standard room was ok but no extras such as electic jug. Breakfast was very basic and they charged for my extra coffee.

However I checked out a day before I needed to because a staff member was sacked for 'wasting time' talking to the guests - me. She was arranging for me to go to the English Club. I felt terrible about this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Really good, clean and safe hotel.

Rooms are clean and spacious, some with nice balconies. Staff will help you with tickets, bus journeys and tours.

The location is a little frustrating (around 40-60,000 dong to get anyway by taxi), but overall very good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Charming, lovely staff who were very accommodating and helpful. Room felt basic but was nicely furnished, comfortable beds, hairdryers, great hot water. No kettle but hot water available if you asked along with cups etc. Breakfast options perfectly adequate and nicely presented.
The photo of the hotel shows it in a 'countryside' setting when in fact the whole area around is built up. Easy walk into town but taxi back when dark at night - although I always felt very safe.
There are some cute but noisy little dogs in the property opposite but only really heard them in the morning.

Room Tip: I chose one of the more expensive room options, which actually is not really that expensive, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is by no means a fancy place but it's clean, off the beaten path (if you don't like to walk you can easily get a $2 taxi to town) and the family who runs it -- especially the son -- is super nice and very accommodating. You don't hear the constant hum of motorbikes and other than some early morning church bells you are more likely awoken by the birds and 6am sunrise.

For about $20 you get a nice room, basic but nice enough furnishings (safe, TV, mini fridge, desk) and a good, simple breakfast. You can ask for a soothing tea in the evening which I was offered for no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at YK for 2 nights in March and had a great stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They speak very good English, particularly the son. They helped us arrange dinner reservations and bus tickets without commission, which was great. The rooms were clean and airy as was the bathroom. We had some problems with the water pressure in the shower, but the owner was very helpful in trying to fix it. I was hoping for a buffet breakfast, which isn't the case, but the pancakes and pho ga were delicious! The location is a bit out of town - around 20 minute walk - but a taxi is only around 2USD or you can rent a scooter in town for 5USD per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YK Home Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YK Home Villa

Address: 09 Yet Kieu | Ward 5, Dalat +63, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YK Home Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Dalat city, only 1.7 km from Dalat Market, near Domainne De Marie Church, Ana Mandara Resort and Tran Le Xuan Palace, YK – HOME Luxury Villa has 15 spacious unique rooms, a cozy bar and restaurant, a modern kitchen to bring the feeling of “being at HOME” for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your YK Home Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yk Home Villa Hotel Dalat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YK Home Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.