We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lots of things could need some help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel

Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel to your Saves list
Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Phan Boi Chau St, Dalat 67, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Dalat
4.5 of 5 stars 15 Reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice hotel but lots of things could need some help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was nice and the staff over all was very friendly. However, there was no water pressure and when I lied down for a bath, the smell of urine was quite apparent. The grout lines were also moldy.

One note, breakfast starts at 6 but when we got there it wasn't ready. We had to take a flight at 6:30 so by the time everything was out, we had less than 10 mins to eat. Coffee wasn't out either and I asked for some only to be brushed off. They finally brought it out after my Caucasian companion asked for it. That was such a slap in the face. I mean how can you treat your own people like that?

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the last week of Jully . but i can't find page of this hotel , i Remember Mr Vu , he told to me . he will waiting me. i'm sorry i'm late .This place is perfect: comfortable rooms, clean and fresh, and good shower. We were able to have a few meals in our room and the continental breakfast had good choices for even the pickiest patron….it was not a full hot breakfast but neither was it advertised as such...it was a very nice amenity. Evenings i had a simple card and chocolate, and one night they treated us to homemade lasagna. But the biggest plus is the staff: Vu - information men ( may i call him like that , he so friendly and kind , i love the way he smile with our, it's really warmly and nice ) Vy- recceptionist she's quickly and friendly Huong and Hung was so good . Montsey all went to great lengths to ensure we had everything we needed and made great recommendations on the surrounding area. !. Last, I inadvertently left a drawer full of personal items and staff arranged for it to be overnighted the next day. I was so worried but relieved once the items were returned…a very trustworthy staff is a blessing these days. We will definitely stay there again solely due to the pleasant and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: room with garden view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came here in April but first thing i could remember about this hotel was theire staffs. They were really extremely friendly, and served the Guest with the smile on theire face. A little shy when i was approached them for some joke. I will be coming back...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a nice resort complex that has seen better days but they are trying hard to catch up and make up for the somehow outdated charme. Staff greeted us friendly at every concurrence and service was generally very good while the lack of English language, as everywhere in Vietnam, provided some difficulties. Anyway, the room was very very big and well maintained. The design, however, reminded one of the glorious days of five star hotels in the earliy nineties. Internet was extremly fast when it worked but there were periods where it didn't want to work at all as well. The gym was well equipped and the kind of spacy indoor swimming pool, while being a bit dark and the water being a bit too cold for my taste, allowed some nice early morning wake-up swimming rounds. They have two saunas. One is out of service and the other one is hidden behind the out of service hairdresser shop. This second sauna was in service all the way from the mornings till the evening. Breakfast was also kind of weird. They offered a big selection but some days most of the selection was not really fitting the western standards of breakfast in an upper market hotel. For instance they were missing toast and orange juice while offering a lot of interesting soups and meats westerners like us are not used to eat in the morning (and I really like hot breakfast!). For some reason this hotel reminded us very much of the Stanley Hotel of The Shining movie. Not only that the hotel from the outside really looks a little bit like the Stanley hotel it also is located on some kind of hill. Also the hallways come very close to the Stanley, matching the color and that they are very wide and long, ideal for Danny riding a toy car along. As the hotel was also not fully booked we often felt we were the only guests there. Then there was the out of service hairdresser shop as well as the dark swimming pool adding to this special feel and plenty of other weird stuff going on where we asked ourselves like is this for real?! Anway, it's a 7-10 minute walk to the central market. The lake as well as some restaurants and the singh cafe (good for booking tours, busses, etc.) is just one minute away. The hotel used to be the "Blue Moon Hotel" but must have been lately renamed to the "Muong Thanh Hotel". However, most cab drivers don't know the name (or we were not able to pronounce it right). Blue Moon worked mucht better... :) Another interesting fact is that when you go to their website they will tell you that you will get the best rate through their website guaranteed which was more than 200 US$ for the room while all common booking engines listed a room in this this nice hotel at 39,45 EUR a night (at which we booked). We would definately not like to come back to Dalat (actually we would have left earlier if we wouldn't have paid in advance) but if we should, for some reason, strand here again we for sure would book this hotel again for some authentic Kubrick action (to sum it up: it's really a nice place, but in many ways just very strange, as is Dalat...).

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

My husband and I arrived at the Muong Thanh dalat in mid-October tired from a long day and night of travel and, thanks to inept baggage handling at JFK, accompanied only by our hand luggage. The hotel's solicitous and sympathetic staff promptly provided us with some needed toiletries and directions to a nearby shopping area where we picked up a few items to tide us over. Their friendly and helpful welcome was a harbinger of the kindness and helpfulness that we experienced during our entire stay. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, the breakfast buffet featured a wide array of fresh and well-prepared offerings , and the hotel's location -- a short walk from the Centrale and Lake -- made coming and going easy. We could have spent a lot more money and stayed at a Vietnam hotel, but I can't imagine how we could have stayed at a friendlier or more convenient one.
special thank Mr Vu the staff of hotel . he's very friendly very kind and helpful. i hvae alot of innfomation and slime from him. hope to come back your hotel and see you over there again

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Nice hotel in a good location close to the market and lake. Within walking distance of a good range of restaurants etc.
Buffet breakfast in the hotel is excellent, with good range of local options, as well as the stock standard western fare.
My room was good... large, bright and overlooking the garden. There is no air-con or fan, apparently assumed to be unnecessary in Dalat... but I would have liked something especially considering I was told to keep my windows closed at night (don't know why).
The spa area is very confusing. The pool is available to guests at no extra charge, however the sauna must be booked and paid (80,000d for 20mins).
I did not have a massage as the reception area did not look that inviting, with a couple of staff hanging around looking bored.
The pool was great, but there was nowhere to change except in one of the two showers.
A black mark was earned by the hotel one day at the pool. I was enjoying a pleasant swim when a group of 8 or so people arrived making a lot of noise... shouting and laughing etc. One of the group jumped in the pool fully clothed while the others stood around making a huge noise. I don't know what it was all about but this went on for some time with the same person jumping in and out of the water and leaving debris and rubbish (eg fake money) floating and sinking in the pool.
The group all appeared to be hotel staff, and it was obviously some kind of ritual but it was carried out with no regard for the paying guest already in the pool.
I actually felt under pressure to leave the area, but I didn't out of principle.
Memo to hotel: your facilities are for paying customers first and foremost.
But all things considered, the hotel is a decent place to stay with courteous and professional reception and restaurant staff.
The pool is great, but watch for skylarking staff... massage, sauna - good luck!

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the garden is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

The Muong Thanh is a wonderful value in a safe, friendly neighborhood with lots of bistros and bars. It is very convenient to the center which makes it easy to get to any part of Dalat . The staff was, without exception, helpful and friendly and Pierre makes every effort to make you feel welcome. If you're in Dalat, don't miss a stay at the Muong Thanh hotel . You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: No need to avoid the street-side rooms. Have never had a noise problem and have had a street room s
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel

Address: 4 Phan Boi Chau St, Dalat 67, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Dalat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dalat
#4 Family Hotel in Dalat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of breathtaking Da Lat, the Muong Thanh Da Lat is designed to complement the natural beauty of the "City of Eternal Spring." Built opposite the popular and tranquil Xuan Huong Lake, Muong Thanh is centrally located and convenient to Da Lat's eating, shopping and entertainment spots. Much more than just a comfortable night's sleep, Muong Thanh Da Lat invites you to experience true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Hotel And Spa
Blue Moon Hotel Dalat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muong Thanh Da Lat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.