We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Cafe

Art Cafe
76 Truong Cong Dinh, Dalat, Vietnam
84 63 3555 299
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 124 Restaurants in Dalat
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vietnamese, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ko Samui, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stumbled on this cafe after I read about it on TripAdvisor. it was evening so thought I would have dinner here. after being in Asia for awhile, I felt like some kind of Western food. I ordered chicken bits, mashed potato and vegetables. it was ok but nothing to rave about. obvious it was not cooked by a Westerner. I thought I read that thebowner was an expat and a bit qwerky. nothing about it was arty or qwerky! just an average experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iligan, Philippines
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Good meal & good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had lunch here and the food was very good and reasonably priced. We had beef stuffed with cheese and chicken with cashew nuts. Both was very good. A nice ambiance and a nice presentation of the food. It is worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“First time was great, second visit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I ate here with my boyfriend and some friends pretty late one night, the friends were looking for vegetarian food and this place was recommended. It is a little expensive but our first visit was worth it, most people got clay pots of varying types and they were delicious! The option for brown rice was an added bonus. The fried spring rolls were awesome, too! I had the quesadilla as I had been craving Mexican food for a while and I was happily surprised. Good cheese, good salsa, awesome chicken. Because of our great experience the first time, we decided to go back for lunch a few days later. We tried to order the spring rolls again but they were out. My boyfriend had stir fried veg with crispy noodles, which was not bad but not impressive.The veggies were crisp and fresh but the noodles were not anything to rave about, more like styrofoam honestly. I had pizza, which I usually stray away from but since my quesadilla was so good I decided to try it. Honestly it was awful. WAY too much cheese, the thinnest layer of sauce I have ever seen, and floppy crust. Overall, I would go back but would stick with the clay pots and spring rolls, and even the quesadilla. Service was good but they asked us to leave the minute it hit closing time during our first meal, I don't blame them but as a server it is just not something that I have ever done (no matter how bad I wanted to!) especially with a big table that is spending a lot of money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Confused with another restaurant?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This small restaurant was very pleasant, service attentive, but food was not great. The atmosphere is unique and interesting, but this may not be the "original". Next door is the News & Art Cafe, who claim to be the original "Art Cafe" owner and staff. Perhaps the reason for the food not being so tasty? OK, but not worth returning for.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Flavourless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went here after reading a great review on the lonely planet. Sadly we were very disappointed. Might I add it's the first time in 3 and half weeks of traveling that the lonely planet has failed in terms of recommendations. We ordered 3 meals to share between us and were still left hungry. The vegetable 'curry' was the worst, it tasted like microwaved vegetables in a watery broth like substance. A flavorless broth at that. It was a long way off a curry. Sadly the best thing about our meals was the brown rice. Don't go here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe also viewed

Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
Dalat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.