We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peace of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bang Tao Beach

Bang Tao Beach
Bang Tao Beach, Phuket, Thailand
66 2 694 1222
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 84 Attractions in Phuket
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A peace of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Calm, clean, wide, very nice beach where you can rest without the croud in Pucket. My wife and I drove to it on our scooter, was really nice and we went back to it 3 days in a row, until the end of our hilliday in Phuket.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    12
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Bang Tao Beach -- Home to a bunch of Thai Long Tails...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A lot of long tails inhabit this little cove of a beach. It has some interesting spots around it, and is quite different from the 'Patong' area - quiet with a high muslim population it enjoys a rustic outlook. Has a couple of 'high end' resorts in the town which are pretty much divorced from activities around them. MMMmmmm...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Bangtao Beach was a haven after the hustle & bustle of Kata, Karon & Patong...a great place to relax & enjoy the quieter pace. We stayed at the Movenpick Resort here - superb restaurant "lotus" across the lane & a few stalls to investigate...but the main attraction was the beautiful (crowd free) beach. My 10yr old daughter loved riding on the baby Elephant that visited while we relaxed on the sun loungers - perfect for all!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quite a good Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First things i have to say: Our last vacation in Thailand is more than 10 years ago. Meanwhile we had been to several places in the Indian Ocean and I think we are a little bit spoilt.
In General we were very disappointed from the Beaches around Phuket, mainly because they are rather crowded, they are packed with infrastructure and they are noisy because of Music from so called Beach clubs, waterscooters etc.

Bang Tao was at least better because it is a very long strip and in the northern part it is a little bit more quiet. Nevertheless the noisy scooters are driving around everywhere and to protect swimmers from severe accidents with them there are a kind of fenced swimming areas. Good that thea have done it - bad that it is necessary.

There are a lot of big Hotels along the Beach, some new ones are under construction. Quiet a lot of the Hotels in Bang Tao are in favour of russian Guests with russian food, russian menues and all that.

I think the Beach is ok for people looking for entertainment and want to have restaurants, Bars etc. nearby. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax under Palm Trees it is in our opinion far to busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best beach in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is our 10+ times returning to Phuket (Feb 2013) and we had been staying in different resorts on the west and east side of the island before. We were trying to find other beach that beats Bang Tao beach. Look no further. Bang Tao beach is simply the best particularly during this Feb. Although I'd been sting by jellyfish there a few years ago (the beach could be filled with that in some seasons, depending on the water current), I still think it is the best. The size, privacy, hotels / resorts, local shops and restuarants along the long beach etc are all in perfect balance & harmony.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bang Tao Beach also viewed

 

Been to Bang Tao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bang Tao Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.