We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Island

Coral Island
Phuket, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 256 things to do in Phuket
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our company has been representing the many operators stationed on the two beaches ( Long Beach and Banana Beach )since May,2000. Being the exclusive western/ Thai company associated with Coral Island we provide the necessary service to liaise with the Thai local businesses and visitors in language and selection of the many activities, restaurants and beach positions. We also assist in quality control and environmental concerns as this pristine location, being so close to Phuket can be under pressure as it is understandably so very popular.We provide bookings for resort bungalows and the upscale camping in bamboo salas, advice on the various marine sports, walking trails, fauna and flora.We also provide advice and bookings for local speed boat operators and long tail drivers ensuring fairness in pricing, reliability and safety advice if adverse weather conditions prevail.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We planned our tours in Phuket with Phi Phi and James Bond islands in mind by a tour vendor named Bright in a tour kiosk close to the Andakira Hotel recommended A tour with both Coral and Raya islands. To our amazement that was better than the other 2 tours. First, this tour wasn't as crowded as the other tours. The snorkeling was great and rivals other spots that we have been. The water was crystal clear. That was probably because there significantly less people on this tour. Thank you Bright for your recommendation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    82
    55
    25
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent four nights in a room that was under serviced and obviously in need of a good dose of bleach. electricity went off twice a day. The tap water was lethal. The beach was beautiful and sunsets spectacular, but the thing that I will remember the most is the rudeness from fellow tourists. Mostly from Russia. As much as we tried to initiate a conversation we were totally ignored.
Oh and the lady from the gifts shop was the most ignorant Thai I have ever encountered.
We spent a fortune on what was supposed to be an exotic get away only to be inundated with boatloads of day trippers who encroached endlessly onto the private beach that was well signed to stay out. The bed was so hard we both suffered back pain for days. Food not bad. What a shame that this little island that could be a paradise is a waste of money.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Very Touristy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went to Coral island about 7 years ago and really enjoyed it.
This time we hired a long tail boat from Rawai Pier to take us over. I was surprised to see on approach that the area we went to last time is now some sort of resort with platforms for paragliding. We passed this and were dropped at Banana Beach. Not such a nice beach, but there were toilets and a restaurant.
We came to snorkel and were disappointed that there were not more fish and many sea urchins.
Had lunch there which was not the best despite the price.
On the whole not impressed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Part of a Day Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent the afternoon at Coral Island. If you have lunch included in your tour as we did make sure you are at the start of the line as once the food runs out it isn't replaced. The beach is very crowded so we walked up to the end for a swim which was quieter. Parasailing is expensive for a 1min ride. Not much else to do so wouldn't go for a full day tour as you would be bored.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful but only for a while”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose to visit Coral + Racha islands because we heard of how overrated and overcrowded Phi Phi Islands are. We took our tour via Raya Princess and arrived in Coral island via speedboat in just 15 minutes. Waters were clear and beach was beautiful, but there was nothing much to do. No need to go snorkel looking for fishes/corals because you won't find any. Good to take a few pictures before the island gets filled with China tourists. No need to stay on this island because there's nothing much to do.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Island also viewed

 
Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Coral Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.