We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaya is a excellent guide and the tour was very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Heritage Trails Tours

Phuket Heritage Trails Tours
124/1 Wichitsongkram Road | Talad Nua, Phuket 83000, Thailand
+66 851 589 788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 286 Tours & Activities in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by a Phuket native with an aim to promote the cultural and historical Phuket Island in responsible and educational manners, Phuket Heritage Trails offers cultural, historical, and natural tours of Phuket, showcasing local beliefs, architecture, cuisines, and lifestyle within the historical backdrop made up of the community's ethnic and religious diversity.Phuket Heritage Trails stands apart from other local tours in that it is not a commercial tour jammed with commission motivated shopping diversions.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chaya is a excellent guide and the tour was very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I took the Meet the locals tour. I was surprised to be picked up from my hotel by Chaya herself and that it was just me & two others. Chaya like no other guide i've ever experienced got me totally enthusiastic about thai people and culture. It was really special to be able to meet and talk with a few buddhist nuns. We also visited a Chinese Buddhist temple. She can tell so much about Buddhism. Nothing but good things to say about Chaya and the Meet the locals tour.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food was amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This tour turned out to be so much more than we expected it to be. As other reviewers have said it was not only a highlight of our trip to Thailand but definitely the best thing we did in Phuket.
We stopped at a couple of places for food and it was really great to have a local who can explain what things are and how they are made. I didn't need to eat for days afterwards!
It was a great way to see a different side of Phuket and how the locals live.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Family loved "meet the locals"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a surprise highlight for us on our trip. Away from the tourists to understand the culture. And the kids ate it up. The high point was a reverent and educational visit to a working neighborhood Buddhist temple. Chaya was very knowledgeable and very helpful in guiding us through the process of offering and prayers. Then to a hidden jewel of a locals restaurant on the beach and a tour of a local fishing village. Very high marks. We always try to "meet the locals" in all of our travels and this was a winner.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The real Phuket revealed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had signed up for the Phuket Old Town tour which is conducted only twice a week by Chaya. And it is a tour that we thoroughly enjoyed. It was fascinating right from the beginning till the very end. Tour started at 830 which was followed by an amazing local breakfast - a type of thai laksa with the best fried chicken I have ever eaten.

Then the walking tour of the old town started which was interesting as we got a glimpse of what real local residents in the old town do on a day to day basis. We had some stops which included a Chinese temple, an old Chinese association and a local biscuit shop. Meanwhile the commentary and explantations provided by Chaya made the old town come to life. The highlight of the tour was the visit to an old mansion which must not be missed.

The tour ended with a very scrumptious local lunch. All in all, the tour was excellent value for money. Chaya with her bubbly personality made all the difference as she really was genuinely enthusiastic that we see the "real" Phuket.

Next time I go back to Phuket, I want to sign up for her other tour - Meet the Locals.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS GETTING TO KNOW CHAYA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have done private tours in the past but none to compare with Chaya. You are picked up with a smile ,which lasts the whole day, and you get to know a lovely young lady who really knows what service is all about. with in the first ten minutes we had coffee,roast bananas and other things I am not to sure about. Chaya is full of information, we have visited buddhist temples before but never with the information which Chaya gave us. Our understanding of the Buddhist faith has increased tenfold. Lunch was great with plate after plate, a view to die for and all your questions answered. The visit after lunch to the 'Sea Gypsies ', watching them construct their own fish traps and learning of their way of life was great and it will be a long time before the memories fade. Buy you pearls here no in town.
All I can say is even if you have been to phuket before you haven't seen the real phuket until you go with Chaya.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Heritage Trails Tours also viewed

Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Heritage Trails Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Heritage Trails Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.