We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket Heritage Trails Tours

Phuket Heritage Trails Tours
124/1 Wichitsongkram Road | Talad Nua, Phuket 83000, Thailand
+66 851 589 788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 498 Activities in Phuket
5.0 of 5 stars 108 Reviews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by a Phuket native with an aim to promote the cultural and historical Phuket Island in responsible and educational manners, Phuket Heritage Trails offers cultural, historical, and natural tours of Phuket, showcasing local beliefs, architecture, cuisines, and lifestyle within the historical backdrop made up of the community's ethnic and religious diversity.Phuket Heritage Trails stands apart from other local tours in that it is not a commercial tour jammed with commission motivated shopping diversions.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Very informative, easy to understand and very friendly!
A different tour, that takes you to the not touristy parts of Phuket.
Very adaptable and happy to tweak the tour slightly to suit different tastes (instead of a massage, we went to a fruit market!)

A great way to learn about the culture and history of Thailand!

Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the ''must do'' tour in phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

went on an evening tour with chaya.she collected us from our hotel in patong promptly and had water for us.she has such knowledge about phuket and her english is excellent!!! we had a very enjoyable trip with her with the sea gypsies being the highlight,she also took us to a non tourist thai buddist temple to see the monks ''chanting''.there were three of us on the tour and she was attentive to each one of us.the tour costs £18 and includes return travel to hotel,meal and various snacks throughout the tour.it is well worth the money and no jewellery factory in sight!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This tour with Chaya has motivated me to write a review and attempt to convey how important this tour is. As picky as I am, I am always skeptical of any tour, even if it is private. From minute one, it was nothing but smiles from Chaya, she made us feel welcome and it seemed as if we had been friends forever. Chaya is so knowledgable about the history of Phuket Town, some of the stories I will never forget.

The best part of the tour was by far, the sea gypsie village. Tourists do not normally go to this village, Chaya has built a relationship with them. As we were leaving, the village people insisted that we stay for a drink; "why not?" I said. I am so glad that we made the decision to stay. We spent the remaining three hours with these amazing people, laughing, trying to learn Thai and having a few beers. They invited us to have dinner with them, which comprised of squid, snapper and other food that was caught that morning. The most amazing fish I have ever eaten. These people can really teach you the importance of life and relationships and how living simple is the way to live. "sabi sabi" which means "take it easy" now has a true meaning in my heart. Thank you Chaya!!

-Bobby and Emily

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Phuket Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I were lucky to be the only ones on our tour! Chaya became our personal tour guide. What a lovely lady!!!! Chaya has so much knowledge and pride in her city's history. She is a wonderful ambassador for Phuket. We were able to gain access to the famous Chinpracha House Mansion. We went to the Thalang Thai Temple and Museum, and a Chinese Taoist Temple in Phuket Town. We visited the amazing Sea Gypsy people on Sirey Island and finished with dinner at Tunka Restaurant on Rang Hill. This was a wonderfully educational afternoon and evening with an amazing Tour Guide in Chaya. This tour was truly a highlight of our visit to Phuket. Thank you Chaya.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A must do while in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you love local history and seeing the real Thailand then this tour is for you. We had already walked a few streets in the old town ourselves but just felt we were missing something. I did some research and found Phuket Heritage Tours. Within about an hour of emailing, I was contacted by Chaya and our tour was booked for the next day. After being collected from our hotel, we stopped enroute to Old Phuket Town to learn about the rubber plantations and the rich agricultural heritage of the island. We visited a beautiful Thai temple and learnt about Buddhism and it's significance to many Thais. Our walking tour of Old Phuket Town included a food stop in a local Muslim eatery where I even got to cook roti in the traditional way. We learnt about the Chinese and their significant influence on the region. Chaya shared many local stories and really provided a wonderful insight into the tapestry of life in Phuket and Thailand. A real highlight was visiting the local Sea Gypsy Village and meeting several of the villagers. Lunch was awesome too! Chaya was delightful and Phuket Heritage Trails Tours was an absolute highlight of our time in Phuket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket Heritage Trails Tours also viewed

Thalang District, Phuket
 

Been to Phuket Heritage Trails Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket Heritage Trails Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.