We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Airport Resort & Spa
9/19 M.1 T.Saku, A.Thalang, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #514 of 648 Hotels in Phuket
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for one night before an early morning flight from Phuket. For this purpose it was perfect. Despite the "resort" in the hotel name, this is an airport hotel rather than a resort. Prior to our arrival we had emailed the hotel requesting one double room and one twin room, and this had been set up for us as requested. We used two rooms and our biggest complaint was that one of the rooms literally stank of cigarette smoke. Overall this place was adequate. The hotel is cheap, the rooms are big, cleanliness is adequate, the pool looked OK, the gardens were reasonable. The staff had minimal English language skills, but they organised a taxi for us into town for a reasonable price. Early transfer to the airport the next morning was timely and without any issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    22
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
14
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Not a good experience.... Without exception, all staff rude and uninterested..... Never seen anything like it, so bad it's almost funny. Food terrible. Pool dirty!!!! Do not disturb signs unavailable..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't believe the negativity you may read about this place. No it's not a five star resort but it is excellent value for your money. The staff and grounds,especially gardens, are most welcoming and add a nice touch to your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After reading other reviews about this accommodation, I was very unsure about what to expect. Our stay was booked though a Groupon offer. Again, no transfer was waiting at the airport, but this was arranged within half an hour or so. After arriving at the resort, we were greeted by very polite staff and shown to our room. We settled in and had a few beers from the pool bar. My husband had a swim and we had a sleep for the early evening. We went to the small but cozy restaurant for dinner and this was the most surprising part. Everything we ordered was wonderful! Very tasty, authentic Thai food, with great service. I would stay here again if I needed accommodation close to the airport. Didn't hear the planes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our stay was booked through a Groupon offer. No transfer arrived but after some discussions with airport staff, they called and got us picked up straight away. On arrival we were advised we didn't have a reservation and would have to pay a further 1300 Baht if we wanted a room - another 2 couples we met had the same drama. Our room was unclean and infested with insects. We asked three times for towels before we ended up having to pinch some from the pool area so we could have a shower. When we followed this up later that evening at dinner we were advised they didn't have any left, yet the place didn't seem to be booked out. The next morning they turned off the water so there was no ability to use bathrooms. Overall we had a poor experience and were glad it was one night only. I think Groupon and Ignite Travel need to take some responsibility over this and conduct better research into what they are promoting. From this experience alone I would avoid both the Airport Resort & Spa and Ignite Travel Group in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Room clean but a bit old
Swimming pool look nice not to big love the style of the building .
Brake fast not good
Cheap but you get what you pay good place for stop over. Very close to nai yang beach there is a very nice Thai restuarant call naiyang park restuarant..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were due to stay in this hotel as part of a Groupon holiday package. There were issues with the booking and transfer, which were the responsibility of the Australian agent, and for which the hotel owners bear no responsibility.
I had, however, tried to contact the 'resort' before leaving home to confirm that the booking was in place and that we would be picked up from the airport - but I could not get any response from them.

When we arrived in Phuket Airport after a very long day travelling, we had to get a taxi as the transfer never arrived.

The person at the front desk was pleasant but spoke very broken English. I would expect this in out of the way places, but not at a 'resort' located right near the airport.

When we got to our room we found that dirty towels had been left in the bathroom, along with cleaning supplies. It appears the cleaners had left half way through the job as the floor was covered in sand and dirt. The coffee cups were also dirty.

The room itself was not completely unpleasant, although the bed was very hard. The air conditioning worked quite well, and the curtains offered privacy. The whole place also seemed fairly quiet even though it was close to the main airport road.

The worst surprise was finding that out toilet wouldn't flush (not what you want after a long flight). On closer inspection I found that the pipe had been disconnected at the back of the toilet.

All in all we were very glad that this was a short overnight stay, and not a more significant part of our holiday, as we were contemplating cancelling the holiday and going home after staying here.

Room Tip: Choose another source of accommodation - there are plenty to choose from in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Resort & Spa

Address: 9/19 M.1 T.Saku, A.Thalang, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 648 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.