We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #237 of 648 Hotels in Phuket
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beach Front Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you want a great family holiday or you are a oldie that loves the water parks, this is a great place to stay.
As a time share member, what a great surprise to actually exchange to a great apartment at Centara Phuket. Though the resort is only a stones throw from the airport, it is a 10 to 15 minute drive. Yes you can hear the planes, but only for 10 seconds and only the ones taking off. They will only wake you if you are a light sleeper.
The resort itself is well maintained and very clean. the resort is proud of its drive to improve energy efficiency and recycling. They are even planting and growing Pineapple trees on the resorts spare land.
Attached to the resort is the "Splash Jungle" water park. There rides that will suit everyone, from the thrill seekers (use the rides at the top of the tower) to small children. There is a lazy river ride, but remember to slop on the sun cream, a kids play area, that has the tipping water bucket and small slides and also a wave area. All areas are manned by life guards and are very clean. The park has a no food and drink admission policy(though you can smuggle in one of the free water bottles that are left daily in the rooms/apts). Never tried the food or drink at the park as we found that 2hrs in the morning (opens at 10 and closes at 6) was enough before return to the apt for a lunch and back in the afternoon for another 2 hours).
Admission to the park is free for guests staying at the resort and there is a shuttle buggy that will take you to and from the park to your apartment/room. A great idea, was the free towels (and actually bath sheet size). This allows you to turn up at the park with just your swimmies and your camera, as they also supply a free locker(per person if required), which are very close to the rides. The locker keys are enclosed in a wrist band, like a watch, which was a good idea.
The resort has numerous restaurants, a small food mart and ATM. There are also two out door pool areas within the resort, with the main one by the beach front restaurant.
Our apartment was a beach front (have I already mentioned that) 2 bed unit, with a enclosed 20mt x 8mt pool. As it also had its own kitchen, this allows us the facility to eat in as we required. The resort offers breakfast at one of its restaurants, but means getting up and dressing.
As we normally hire a car when we visit Phuket, a trip to Tesco is a must. It is about a 20 minute drive from the resort along the main road. The supermarket has all we needed for our stay, plus the shop is incorporated in a shopping Mall, which also allows for other purchases.
The staff at the resort are all very helpful and have a great understanding and use of the English language.
The cost of the Taxi to and from the airport is 500Baht (approx US$16).
The whole 5 days of our visit was totally relaxing and Exchange permitting, we will definitely plan another visit to the resort.

Room Tip: Visit the tourist area first then come and book a stay at the resort before flying home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Warm Greetings from Phuket

Thank you for sharing your great experience here on Tripadvisor and it is fantastic to hear that you had such a good time. We are indeed trying to make best use of the area and in addition to the pineapples, we are no finishing our own herb and vegetable garden for our guests to experience and to use during our Thai Cooking classes. For the Waterpark beverage admission, simple reason is, that naturally most of our guest are barefoot and we do not permit any glass bottles for obvious reason.

Again thank your for your warm feedback and it is good to know you had such a good time. We sure hope to welcome you back in the near future and I will gladly share your comments with my Team.

With Best Wishes

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    123
    73
    47
    40
See reviews for
260
65
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife, 2 sons (ages 8 and 13) and myself Stayed here 4 nights in a 2 bedroom luxury suite in late June/early July 2013.
We were in Phuket last summer and were staying in ‘Karon Beach’ area. We went to ‘Splash’ once during that stay and the journey there ‘n’ back took way too long as well as being expensive. This trip we decided to stay the first 4 nights at ‘Centara Grand West Sands’ resort so we could get 4 full ’Free’ days of Splash right at our doorstep. Needless to say ‘Splash’ was the highlight of our stay.
During check in the staff at the reception were very helpful even though it took about 2 hours for our room to be ready, there were comfortable sofas to relax on whilst waiting & we got 2nd rounds of our welcome drinks. ‘Innes’ the French lady at the reception who checked us in, gave us a map of the resort & showed us how to get around including restaurants, pools, beach & ‘Splash’. This was her first day & she did a bang up job, Well Done Innes!
Our two bedroom luxury suite was absolutely superb! Situated in building 5 very close to the reception & more importantly ‘Splash’! Fully equipped kitchen, extremely comfortable beds, a large Jacuzzi in the main bathroom with separate shower stall & 2 basins.
Getting to breakfast every morning was fun. We either took the hotel buggy or walked past the lovely lake & through the beautiful grounds. There was a huge pool by the beach near the breakfast area. The main restaurant where we had breakfast every morning was by the beach and we always took a table outside looking out to the sea. Service at breakfast was swift & courteous & the buffet had the usual spread which was abundant & regularly topped up.
The beach was clean & not strewn with loungers or hawkers, basically quite deserted but lovely views on either side.
The housekeeping staff were very friendly & helpful & provided us with all the extras that we asked them for. We ordered room service 2 out of 4 nights & the food was tasty & reasonably priced & service was prompt. The other two nights, we had dinner at ‘Suan Bua’ the Thai Restaurant in the Resort. The food was some of the best authentic Thai food we had in our entire month long Thailand holiday. All our lunches were had at ‘Coconut Café ‘in ‘Splash’ water park area, excellent service & food. There is a convenient store on site but quite expensive. There were a couple of small but cheaper convenient stores a minute or 2 walk past the front gate of the resort. The resort is right near the Airport Take off runaway but the planes did not bother us at all, in fact we looked up several times at taking off air craft waiting to get snap shots.


The resort was far away from everything except the airport & totally isolated but we were prepared for this & had pre booked the next 2 weeks for the rest of our Phuket holiday at another Centara property in ‘Karon Beach’ area. I would end by saying that the food was delicious, the suite was brilliant & every member of staff we encountered throughout our stay were extremely helpful, courteous & friendly. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam

Warm Greetings from Phuket

Thank you ever so much for your great review and your feedback shared, especially coming from a Top Contributor as yourself. It is fantastic to hear that our Team and facilities made such a good impression and I am delighted to pass on your warm comments to Ines who is still doing a wonderful job. I know my Team will be great full to know that they made such a positive impact and for sure we are all looking forward to welcome your family back here in Phuket soon for another family splashtastic holiday.

With Best Wishes

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having read previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive about staying at CGWS, but needn't have. It was wonderful, which makes me wonder what people want/expect from this Resort. Yes is it beside the airport, but you know that before you book, but the noise is not that bothersome, no planes fly at night. We stayed in a luxury two bed apartment, and it was lovely, everything you could want in there. The mini bar prices for drinks were LESS expensive that the main bar/restaurant. Staff beautiful friendly people who would do anything to help. The restaurants were immaculate and the food plentiful. The main restaurant served mainly buffet style meals. Yes the food is more expensive that the street cafes/restaurants but there are very few within walking distance of the hotel, PLUS we had two picky children who do not like spicy food so our choice was to eat at CGWS, except on the two days we hired a car, which we did through Reception. Again everything done quickly and easily. Every day drinking water was put into the fridge, one bottle per person. There is a small shop on site where you can buy basics (including beer/water/juices etc) this was cheap enough, but there is a shop or two within two minutes walk of the Resort where things were even cheaper but I always go for the easy option!
Splash Jungle, BRILLIANT, the kids loved it and would have spent all day, everyday there if we had let them. again super staff and lifeguards everywhere. The cafes and pool bars served good, cheap food which were ok for lunch. They closed at the same time as the waterpark, therefore the Resort has two Restaurants for evening meals.
The Spa was doing a buy one get on free offer on treatments which I took advantage of, again wonderful staff and fantastic massages. You can get cheaper, but not that near to the Resort. Another thing, the Resort is not THAT huge and people complaining about walking from their Room to breakfast/Reception etc but honestly it isn't that far and if you start walking the buggies will stop and collect you.
We loved it and would definitely stay again. Thank you very much to Mr Korf and the Staff (especially Ines who was very helpful!)

Room Tip: We were in block 5, which was bang central to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Family Rogers

Warm Greetings from Phuket to Australia

It is fantastic to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and thank you for sharing your feedback in this forum. It was a pleasure to read about your wonderful time here at the Resort and especially, that your Kids would have loved to stay all day in the Waterpark with our super staff. I will happily pass on your comment and your appreciation to my Team, which I know for sure they will be very pleased and proud to hear that they made such a difference.

We sure hope to welcome you again soon for another brilliant time.

With Best Wishes

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We chose to spend the last day of our Phuket holiday at the Centara Grand West Sands Resort to take advantage of the water parks and to be close to the airport for our early-morning check-in. We weren't disappointed.
We had a two bedroom apartment for our family of 5 which gave us 2 bathrooms and a generous living room area that made things very comfortable.
The staff members that we dealt with were delightful, charming and efficient and we were made to feel very welcome.
Free entry and towels for the water park meant that the kids (and adults) had loads of fun and we were then able to stroll back to the hotel room when we'd had enough.
We had an excellent meal at the Italian restaurant at the resort where the service was another highlight.
Although the hotel is very close to the airport, it was still a 15 minute taxi drive in the morning as you have to go in a large rectangle to get to the adjacent airport.
All in all, a very convenient stopover and worthy of a few more days visit next time.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartment very comfortable for family of 5 but you will need another roll-away bed as on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Bruce and Family

Warm Greetings from Phuket

Thank you ever so much for your kind words and it is great to hear to hear your comment about our charming Team which I will share gladly with them. As well I am happy to know that you had an excellent meal in our Italian Restaurant and our Team again managed to impress.

I sure hope to welcome you and the family again for another fun time at the Waterpark and hopefully then for a few more days.

With Best Wishes

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family just had 5 nights here and we loved it. The room was great (very comfy bed!), staff friendly, food lovely and the kids had a great time at the pools and waterpark. There are planes every so often which bought great delight to my 3 year old, didn't hear them from our inside our room. Gorgeous unspoilt beach where the children happily played. We booked a 2 bedroom suite and it had everything we needed and was well appointed. Free shuttle into patong daily (takes about one hour). Thank you to all the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 4- has it's own pool which we had mostly to ourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Louise and Family

Warm Greetings to Australia

Thank you for your fantastic feedback and to hear that you and your family loved the Resort. It is really great to know that your little ones enjoyed their Holidays that much and just had a good time. I will happily pass on your thank you to my Team and we for sure hope to welcome you back soon for more family time.

With Best Wishes

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a company retreat on 20th September 2013 - 23rd September 2013. We finally managed to make a 3 night weekend stay after much considerations. As this is our first company trip, we had high expectations, and this Centara Grand West Sand delivered well. They have very high service standards and we were treated like a VIP and greeted with smiles everywhere we go. Even the security guard is very polite and friendly.

Upon our check-in, we were being arranged to take a rest at the club lounge whereby our warmth and friendly villa host “Ms. Da” attended to us and help us with the check in to our 3-bed room penthouse with a private plunge pool, all of which was very impressive. Our penthouse is vast amount of space for us to enjoy and relax. The penthouse was nestled in front of the best beach in Phuket, as such we can always feel the breeze.

Cleanliness, room and bathroom amenities were excellent. Service was perfect. All else was just excellent - couldn't ask for more. You can either get around at the resort by foot (although everything is very spaced out ) or there are numerous buggies running around the resort who can pick you up and take you to where you need to go. This accommodation I would recommend for everyone whether it is a romantic trip away or a family or even a company retreat on a stop over to/from their destination . Even though it is quite far from Phuket town and other attractions in Patong, we do not have any problems travelling around as we self-drive to different part of Phuket. Overall I give this resort 10/10 one of the best places we have stayed!
However, the only thing we felt disappointed was our penthouse’s pool was under maintenance. We thought we would have our own private pool at night without any disturbance from the crowd. Upon our check in to our penthouse, we noted that the pool was not ready. And we were told that they will fix up the pool the next day. Then we headed out to James Bond Island till evening, and we realised that the pool is still not fix. We were so disappointed. And we called Ms. Da, she tried her best to arrange another penthouse for us. But we realised that it was really late for her to stay back to arrange. End up we decided to stay in our penthouse and she managed to arrange a complimentary thai dinner for us. We appreciate her assistance.
Lastly, we would like to take this chance to thanks the whole management & staffs in Centara (Especially ‘‘Ms Da” and manager) for making the best and pleasant stay for us. We will definitely return again.

Warmest regards,

Rosalind Foo & friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Rosalind & Friends

Thank you for sharing your recent retreat experience here on Tripadvisor and we are all very happy to hear you had an excellent stay with us on your first company trip. Especially our Villa Host Team and Khun Da will be thrilled to hear that they made such a positive impact. And of course I will gladly share with my Team, that we are one of the best places you have stayed in and just had an excellent time with us. I apologize again for the Pool breakdown, this was an unexpected problem and I am truly sorry we were not able to correct it or offer an alternative on time.

Again thank you for your warm words and we all hope to welcome you back soon, either for leisure time or for another company outing.

With Best Wishes from Phuket

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xai-Xai, Mozambique
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was at the resort in April 2013 with my boyfriend and we had a fantastic time. The grounds are huge with beautiful gardens and paths to walk. The resort has its own beach with a long beachfront walk past all the villas along the beach; breathtaking.
The main pool is huge and not over-crowded, which is great, with lots of sunchairs available.
We had lunch at the Sunset restaurant. Buffet was nice and complete and food was good value for money.
The water park was probably the highlight of our time there. Even though we are adults, we had a fantastic time riding the slides, splashing in the wave pool, and lazing around the lazy river. The staff there, especially the lifeguards, are so nice and helpful!
The resort is a bit out of the way but good for 2 maybe 3 nights of relaxation. Although close to the airport the airplanes taking off are more a show than a nuisance.
Overall nice place and would recommend for a family and children, and a quick stay for couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sophia

Thank you for sharing your great experience with your fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor and it is good to read you had a fantastic time. Especially that our team was nice and helpful and made your short stay memorable. We sure hope you will visit us soon again to have another fun day time in the Waterpark.

With Best Wishes from Phuket

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Address: 65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Phuket
#107 Spa Hotel in Phuket
#110 On the Beach Hotel in Phuket
#135 Luxury Hotel in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket is located on the west coast of Phuket and set in 47 acres of land with 500 metres of pristine beach frontage on Mai Khao Beach, the longest and quietest stretch of beach on this side of the island. The resort has been designed to blend in with its ecologically sensitive environment, and has its own green systems that ensure the natural resources of the area are conserved.The design focus of the resort is an extensive water park with swimming pools, a lazy river and waterslides, including a huge Super Bowl slide. All rooms, suites and villas are of modern design and are carefully sited to take advantage of the stunning views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket’s dramatic hinterland.Although this part of Phuket is renowned for its extensive areas of natural and undisturbed beauty, the resort is only 15 minutes away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sands Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.