We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Phuket 83110, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #216 of 648 Hotels in Phuket
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, loved it loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Bought a discount coupon and was apprehensive when discovered how close to the airport, but was pleasantly surprised, fantastic helpful staff, beautiful pool, sensational clean, clear beach (practically all to ourselves). The planes were no way a distraction, not noticeable in the rooms, and quite a sight to observe from the beach/pool chair. A free daily shuttle to Patong, fantastic cheap local resturants a short stroll from the resort. I recommend you partake in the sunset bike tour as you get a fantastic insight to the local area. Would recommend this place as a relaxed alternative to the hustle and bustle of patong. We couldn't believe how the two beaches were poles apart and wouldnt trade ours any day. Will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    126
    74
    48
    40
See reviews for
264
66
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a week back for two nights. This is a very nice hotel that has a beautiful beach, although I am not sure why don't people use it more often. The restaurant was quite good and the pool (not the water park) was a heavenly place. Although the Phuket airport is right next to the hotel you couldn't hear them in the room and since the surroundings were beautiful, the sound of planes didn't really bother me at all.

Room Tip: I stayed in the deluxe room that has a little kitchen as well. The room was very nice and clean. Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

we stayed at this resort for a week in may last year. first off: yes it can indeed be quite loud down at the pool as it is very close to the airport. if you walk down to the beach though and turn right you really get that paradise-and-the-beach-is-all-mine-feeling. the rooms are huge and really nice (at least the one we were in) and with the windows closed you don't hear the noise. great for plane-spotting on the balcony! the staff were very friendly, the cleaning lady seemed a bit pushy though later on in the week to get in to clean the room. the restaurant's ok but quite expensive compared to a couple of little restaurants in walking distance down the road. do try the cinnamon - cute restaurant, great food and much better value for money (see my other review). or you can go to the little shop and cook yourself as the room had an own kitchen. the hotel has a water-theme-park attached which is really expensive. finally, it's about 45 mins drive to Patong if you're in to the hustle&bustle.

Room Tip: ask for a room as far north as possible (further away from the airport), but make sure it has sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is closer to the runway than the actual terminal building! Nice pool, but completely soulless place. Service is very smily but lacks depths. 3 star at best. Very limited food options. All in all a very depressing place to spend your holiday in... checked out 2 nights early and went to the beautiful Anantara. No management available to speak to us. GM initially was responsive in emails and then completely ignored us when we wanted a refund of one night. Best avoided!!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas K, General Manager at Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am glad to hear you enjoyed our surroundings and that our Team is friendly. However I am very concerned that you did experience some other problems during your stay and especially our mention that no management was available to talk to you. We have constant executive management cover in addition to our duty managers which are on site 24 hrs a day. I sincerely apologize for any issues you have experienced during your stay and for not replying to your mail. This is actually strange as I make it a habit to reply to any guests comment or request personally and timely after gathering all the information needed. The only reason I can think of, would be simply that I did not receive your mail and I would highly appreciate if you could sent it again to gmcgwp@chr.co.th.

Looking forward hearing from you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andreas Korf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My partner and i stayed here the night before we flew back to Sydney. The resort was fantastic, the rooms where very comfortable. The resort itself is huge, offering two swimming pools, access to the beach, and access to a large water park.

To compensate for the size of the resort they offer gold carts for transportation, which is convenient for not getting lost when you first arrive.

There are a number of restaurants to pick from around the resort. we chose to eat at seabreeze which was reasonably priced and the food was delicious. The service was a bit clumsy but was friendly.

The downfall of the hotel is that it is so far away from everything, which may also be the plus for the resort.

This resort seems like the perfect place for families to come, parents to chill out and kids to play and have their own holiday in the water.

I enjoyed my stay at Grant West Sands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

It is easy to criticize this resort. Built initially as a large condominium park looking like a characterless office park and so close to the airport runway the initial impression is less than favorable. A more open minded approach can find benefit in this attractively priced family orientated resort.
Because the rooms were built as high quality condos they are large well built with quality fittings throughout. Our suite was huge with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchenette and a massive living room.
The water park is a definite plus for kids, having paid to queue at this type of attraction in the past the free entry and no queues were a real bonus, although a large shaded area for parents would be helpful.
The kids clubroom and the staff there is great, in fact we found all the staff friendly and helpful.
The infinity swimming pool is enormous with more sun loungers and umbrellas than I have ever seen, it is a pity the beach doesn't have the same benefit.

As a family resort the price and advantages can outweigh the drawbacks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Recently we spent the weekend at this fantastic resort, from the moment that we checked in the staff were great. The service provided through out the resort was consistent and nothing was ever a problem. I can recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking at a nice relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket

Address: 65 Moo 4, Mai Khao Soi 4, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Phuket
#98 Spa Hotel in Phuket
#105 On the Beach Hotel in Phuket
#129 Luxury Hotel in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket is located on the west coast of Phuket and set in 47 acres of land with 500 metres of pristine beach frontage on Mai Khao Beach, the longest and quietest stretch of beach on this side of the island. The resort has been designed to blend in with its ecologically sensitive environment, and has its own green systems that ensure the natural resources of the area are conserved.The design focus of the resort is an extensive water park with swimming pools, a lazy river and waterslides, including a huge Super Bowl slide. All rooms, suites and villas are of modern design and are carefully sited to take advantage of the stunning views of the Andaman Sea and Phuket’s dramatic hinterland.Although this part of Phuket is renowned for its extensive areas of natural and undisturbed beauty, the resort is only 15 minutes away from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sands Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.