We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, bad location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rattana Residence

Save Saved
You added Rattana Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rattana Residence
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   24/41 Sakdidet Road, T.Vichit | Muang District, Phuket, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 798 Phuket B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money, bad location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

New budget hotell with: internet, cable tv (three english movie channels). You need to take minibuss to get to Phuket town. Phuket has a very bad taxi service but you can order a taxi in the hotell reception. You can walk to both Phuket town and the Ao Yon beach (i did both), but It is not complete safe because it lack footpath all the way. Very good hotell if you have a car or scooter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was really surprised at how good this place really is for the price. The room was spacious, very nicely decorated and with good quality modern furniture. There was free WiFi and cable TV with over 80 channels including many English and other foreign language channels. The bathroom was large with a separate shower area which is quite unusual in Thailand and very clean and well maintained.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I booked for one night but I liked the place so much, I stayed for over six weeks. The only real drawback, for many people, will be the location. It is in a residential area of Phuket town and quite far away from the town centre and even further away from the main tourist areas of Phuket. No problem if you have your own transport but a bit expensive if you don't because taxis in Phuket are so expensive. However, there is a cheap bus service - Route 2 - that runs past the hotel and into Phuket town and back again on pink coloured buses and a motorbike taxi from the local taxi stand will get you into town for 40-50 baht. Anyway, there are lots of local Thai food restaurants in the vicinity where you can get really good food the same as the locals eat and very cheap. It's a very clean and pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a bit noisy from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssienghen, Manager at Rattana Residence, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review meant so much us as we love to hear about the experience of our guests so we could continue to improve the quality of the hotel and service delivered to our guests.

We agree that our hotel is located in a residential area of Phuket Town which allows the guests to experience the real local life and food at local prices. If you have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future, we would like to recommend you to visit "Ao Yon Beach" which is the nearest beach to our hotel. If you love the privacy, you will love this beach since it is very quiet and not many people know this place.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful stay here. Infact we extended our stay. Room was lovely , clean and comfortable. Ensuite had a bath too! Balcony had a great view. A little far from most places though. Need a cab

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssienghen, Manager at Rattana Residence, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliment on our rooms. Apart from Junior Suite which has a bathtub, we also have Rattana Suite and Spacious Suite which also have a bathtub, large balcony and a seprate living room. The latter two suites also have a kitchen which is suitable for a family, long stay or the guest who loves to cook.
Once again thank you for staying with us. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is great and the staff are friendly and will arrange taxi's for you at a local rate with no commission. We had a one bedroom apartment and it was spotlessly clean and was cleaned everyday.
If you want to escape Patong and be near to Phuket Town and sample local food and hangouts then I would definitely recommend here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssienghen, Manager at Rattana Residence, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that Phuket Town is a nice area if you are looking for a quiet and peaceful place to relax and enjoy your holiday. You can also explore the famous Phuket Old Town and taste the real local food at a reasonable and local price. We also provide a list of the recommended local food stalls and restaurants in Phuket Town that offer good food at local prices. Please feel free to contact our recpetinist for assistance and direction. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hotel have nice, comfort and clean room great for budget accommodation with free internet access (once you not expectation for another services).

Uptown located with convenience store and local foods can be found.

To avoid vary cost of transportation; you may needs an charter taxi service or car rental if you have to go around often in Phuket.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssienghen, Manager at Rattana Residence, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you had an opportunity to use our gym on the fifth floor which is complimentary for all our guests. We are also pleased to inform you that we are now providing a car rental and taxi service for our guests to make it easier for the guests to go around the city and we will try our best to keep monitoring the taxi fare to ensure its consistency. We also provide the car parking facilities free of charge. Alternatively, there is also a public transportation by minibus which passes the hotel every 20 minutes which costs around from THB10 per person.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011 via mobile

I usually do not let rude people ruin my stay, but the front desk woman was very offputtingvand not helpful at all. This only added to the already poor location of this "hotel". This place doesn't even have potential.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssienghen, Manager at Rattana Residence, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your thought and feedback on your stay with us as we strive to exceed the customer's satisfaction. Although we are very surprised about this review since we have constantly been receiving a very good feedback on our staff and service. However, we would like to thank you for raising this issue to us and would like to let you know that this issue has not been overlooked by us. We will do everything to continue to improve our service since our goal is to deliver a quality room and service at a reasonable and affordable price.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly & helpfull staff. Rooms are clean but during our 5 night stay 2 days our room was left without clean towells and once without toilet paper, it was not a problem to get any with the front desk, but annoying after a long day to find out you're missing these essential articles. It's best to have a vehicle because it is a 10/15 min. drive to Phuket town, but basically it is well centered to access different activities or attractions such as beaches, temples, shopping. Hight speed internet was very slow. To eat, just accross the street from the hotel a very pleasant couple have their own restaurant where they serve Thai & Euro, American food, they are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, prices are very good and the food is great, no restaurant name, just a sign the reads: Thai & Euro Food.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rattana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rattana Residence

Address: 24/41 Sakdidet Road, T.Vichit | Muang District, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 798 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rattana Residence 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rattana Residence is located in a quiet area of Phuket Town, about 10 minutes drive away from the city center. The hotel is brand new, modern, warm and cosy with reasonable price. It has gym, car parking, wireless internet access which are complimentary for all the guests. There are a few local restaurants nearby, a big supermarket in the same building and a local bus passing by every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rattana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rattana Residence Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattana Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.