We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise

Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise
Love Beach Marina, Phuket, Thailand
+66 81 365 5681
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SAILING YACHT CHARTER PHUKET - Private Catamaran Sailing Day Charter Enjoy a great day sailing through the beautiful Andaman Sea aboard your privat sailing yacht. Charter one of our private yachts, step aboard and let us take care of everything else. There is no sailing experience needed. We are specialised in customised sailing cruises for day and overnight privat yacht charters. With over 30 years experience sailing in the waters around Phuket and the many islands in the Andaman Sea including the Mergui Archipelago, Myanmar, you rest assured that we know all the best places and have our secret spots where you can enjoy your holiday far away from the crowded beaches of Phuket. Our sailing yacht is your hotel and restaurant in the middle of pristine tropical paradise. We advice and than you can decide as to where you want to sail to. Our yachts are also fully equipped for SCUBA Diving. We offer the best above and below the water. Check out the many possible destinations on our website. There are descriptions with photos and videos. Contact us for any information you need. We are happy to answer all your questions in English, German, French or Thai. Let us arrange your holiday of a lifetime. See you in Paradise!
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My 4 months pregnant wife and I had an amazing time aboard Nakamal; we spent 5 days and nights in October and from the moment that we got on board, our experience was one to remember and cherish for the rest of our lives. Ay, Dieter and Simon made our trip in the Andaman Sea so enjoyable that we would recommend it to everyone. We will always miss waking up to amazing views, swimming in the crystal waters, beautiful sunsets and Ay's fantastic food. Wish to repeat one day with our kids...!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The good life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Dieter and Ay were perfect hosts to my wife and me on our 3-day sail around Phang Nga bay. Ay's cooking was literally some of the best Thai food that we had during our entire trip! We had a blast exploring the bay, kayaking through hongs, and feeling the freedom of spending time at sea. This was definitely one of my favorite parts of our 2 week adventure and would highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Paradise Sailing From Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is difficult to properly describe the wonderful six days and nights that we had aboard Nakamal. Dieter was thorough in ensuring the trip catered to all our preferences, from our strange food requests to what we wanted to see and do. What Ay was able to create for each lunch and dinner was truly amazing. It was impossible not to eat everything - especially when you're moored by a deserted island watching another incredible sunset.

Dieter excelled at finding fantastic dive sites. His experience of diving is immense and knowledge of the sites boundless. We were blessed with seeing some great sites including snorkeling with a manta ray right underneath the Nakamal.

When the weather permitted we were able to sail with the wind, and with that you felt the true essence and freedom of the seas. Dieter is to be commended on planning the trip so that we maximized our enjoyment, be it from spending more time where we wanted, or arriving and leaving certain places to avoid dive boats or mass-tourist trips. This was very thoughtful and enabled us to thoroughly relax.

The boat is very comfortable and well equipped. Although the cabins have space for two or three to sleep I personally really enjoyed sleeping at night on deck - you're free to do as you wish, and why not when there is a cool breeze and a million stars shining above your bed.

I really recommend you to charter Nakamal, have Dieter and Ay show you their paradise and seek some adventure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladenburg
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Catamaran Charter in Phuket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and my family have been staying in Phuket in May 2013, typically not the best season to go for a sailing cruise. So though we still had in our mind to charter a boat, we did not book anything in advance, but checked the weather forecast on a short notice to find a reasonably good day for a boat trip. Lucky enough we found both: the right day and the perfect boat, the SY Nakamal Catamaran. The owner of the boat, Dieter and his wife, made this day a perfect one for us. The boat is a really nice catamaran. While we had only one day time, I would definitely recommend to book a longer tour with them, as they know all the nice places to go to. If you want to know more about the boat, simply search for Catamaran Phuket. Its definitely the best option for a catamaran charter there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

On the flight from Thailand to our home country, i was luckily sited next to a modern day airbus pilot. My sheer excitement to be sited next to someone with such a romantic and exiting job was killed when the guy called himself a "computer operator". In a very calm and expressionless manner he said "We don’t really fly the planes anymore, we just supervise it being flown by machines" Our whole lives are run by gadgets, computers and derivatives of such. There is no spirit of adventure of living the dream... Well our captain Dieter does. He is the man of the seas and oceans. Excitement and thrill of sailing the winds in the Andaman are his relatives. Never could you picture him in a stuffed and stressful environment of a modern office, but sailing the winds in Thailand and swimming with a manta ray are his domain! Charismatic Captain and simply the best dive-master I have seen. Surely to know all the best places and times to dive.
Dieter's incredible wife Ay, cooked so well that some of us have gained a few kilos on that journey and had a stupid idea of skipping dinners, but it was impossible since the food was so good.
Anyone looking for a really good and interesting adventure instead of another boring charter should go with Nakamal (name of the boat).
V.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.