We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to remember on the Nakamal Catamaran” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise

Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise
Love Beach Marina, Phuket, Thailand
+66 81 365 5681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 498 Activities in Phuket
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SAILING YACHT CHARTER PHUKET - Private Catamaran Sailing Day Charter Enjoy a great day sailing through the beautiful Andaman Sea aboard your privat sailing yacht. Charter one of our private yachts, step aboard and let us take care of everything else. There is no sailing experience needed. We are specialised in customised sailing cruises for day and overnight privat yacht charters. With over 30 years experience sailing in the waters around Phuket and the many islands in the Andaman Sea including the Mergui Archipelago, Myanmar, you rest assured that we know all the best places and have our secret spots where you can enjoy your holiday far away from the crowded beaches of Phuket. Our sailing yacht is your hotel and restaurant in the middle of pristine tropical paradise. We advice and than you can decide as to where you want to sail to. Our yachts are also fully equipped for SCUBA Diving. We offer the best above and below the water. Check out the many possible destinations on our website. There are descriptions with photos and videos. Contact us for any information you need. We are happy to answer all your questions in English, German, French or Thai. Let us arrange your holiday of a lifetime. See you in Paradise!
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A trip to remember on the Nakamal Catamaran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent 5 days on the Nakamal Catamaran with skipper Dieter Dongphrajan and his wife/first mate/cook Ay. From the start to end the trip was relaxed and flexible. Dieter invested in brand new sails and we were the first to try them out and boy, the boat can pick up some speed.

Dieter explored the Andaman Sea back in the days and actually named some of the dive sites. We did a lot of beautiful dives early in the morning or late in the afternoon. Before or after the crowds.

In the Phang Nga Bay we felt like miljonairs. Sitting on the front deck, with our freshly caught Sashimi, some good tunes, spectaculair view and watching the 'cattle' boats loaded with tourists from Krabi and Kho Phi pi pass by. Everybody envied us!

The boat is well maintained, Dieter is a skilled and experienced skipper and the food..... oh the food, if I could only go back for the food, I would.

If you ever want to experience something different, spoil yourself, be alone at the most famous spots in Thailand (all alone at "The Beach", Phi Pi Leh), see the most magnificent sunsets ever and enjoy the good company of Dieter and his wife, I got one advise: book the freakin' trip!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    8
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sailing and Diving with Dieter Dongphrajan on the Nakamal Catamaran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What can I say, Can it get better? This was one of the best vacations I have ever experienced. Dieter Dongphrajan and his wife Ay are excellent hosts who have a real passion for what they do best! Give the best experience ever! Friendly, service oriented, flexible and great knowledge about great dive spots and where the best places are to anker for the night.

Me and my buddies had only 6 days to spend in Thailand. Dieter drafted a great trip for us over email with many great dives included. The boat is very easy to find and once onboard you are at home immediately. The catamaran is in top shape. Dieter just put new sails on which helped a lot in a great sailing experience.

One of the best things about sailing with Dieter and Ay is the food. They really spoiled us. Being picky about great food, Ay completely blew us away with great Thai food every day.
More over Dieter is a big 70's rock fan, as are we, so we played some great Jimi and Stones tunes while sailing. Great fun.

One of the best was to catch fresh tuna everyday, clean then instantly and prepare them for Sashimi at 5 o'clock. Great snack and living in Japan myself you don't get better Tuna than on this boat.

Definitely a vacation I will do again soon. Andaman Islands in April? Perhaps :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best family vacations ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thank you very much to Dieter Dongphrajan and his wife Ai, for a wonderful holiday in Phang Nga Bay! The boat, SY Nakamal is a wonderful catamaran with so many features for comfort. We all loved sitting on deck on the wonderful beanbags under the large sunshade, as we were taken to wonderfully quiet and beautiful bays, beaches and hongs (secret "rooms" on islands). We had spent two days prior to the cruise in Phuket, and I really didn't see what people were coming for. Phuket was crowded, rude and had none of the charm that Thailand is known for. What a relief to sail away on a boat and see the postcard-perfect places that represent idyllic getaways.
As a family vacation, this was one of the best. There was plenty of time to spend just chatting with each other, as everything else was taken care of by Dieter and Ai. The whole family will always remember the lazy evenings spent sitting on the trampolines watching for falling stars and just discussing life.
The food was absolutely amazing, honestly the best Thai food I've ever had, and the fact that meals involve 4-6 different dishes is truly impressive. Ai was very conscientious about asking us beforehand what we like to eat, and catering to those wishes. We mentioned that we liked prawns and crab, and having Dieter and Ai buy the days fresh catch from local fisherman ensured a freshness that is rare. All the banana bread and chocolate cake we were served, plus delicious Thai snacks throughout the day had us joking that they were trying to fatten us up to sell us later to cannibals!
Anyone who is looking for a holiday that is true paradise needs to book the SY Nakamal. You will not regret it or the gracious hosts.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Surf mission to the Banyaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent an amazing 12 days looking for surf with Dieter Dongphrajan and Ay. The well-equiped SY Nakamal had everything we needed for the mission, and more. Ay, seemingly effortlessly, served up extraordinarily varied and very tasty meals. They are gracious hosts, Dieter and Ay, who will become friends as you enjoy the benefit of their experience and care. Guy Tillim

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fun day on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

A group (6 people) of us chartered the SY Nakamal in early April 2012. We had a wonderful day on the water! We anchored at one of the small islands off of Phuket for a little while, and snorkeled and went swimming. When we got back
in the boat after snorkeling, the captain, Dieter Dongphrajan, and his wife, had a delicious and plentiful lunch waiting for us. Soooo yummy!
When we started sailing again after eating lunch, we caught a kingfish. It was fun for the guys on the boat to reel the fish in. Then, the captain's wife prepared the fish right on the boat, and we had sashimi in the afternoon!! It was wonderful. We brought an Ipod along and were able to play our own music bc they have an IPod dock on the boat.
Overall, a delightful and fun day on the water!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise also viewed

 
Wichit, Phuket Town
 

Been to Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sy Nakamal Catamaran Sailing Day Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.