We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, roof over your head, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuket 346

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phuket 346 to your Saves list
Phuket 346
9 Soi Romanee, Thalang Road | Tambom Taladyai, Amphur Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 844 Phuket B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok, roof over your head, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stayed here for 1 night before heading through to the airport, with this idea in mind it's fine. Our room was 'upgraded to the larger room' - hate to think how tiny our room would have been otherwise. No cats or cat smell when we were there, nor mosquitoes thankfully. Place was clean, decent shower. Good location to head out and wander around. Read someone else's review about lonely planet tip and have to agree this does not meet the description, would definitely not define this place as 'exquisitely' renovated (haha!)

Don't expect service, just book, come in, pay and leave. Be aware that there is also no pick-up service form the pier. Made the mistake of not enquiring precisely enough as when I asked this the owner said she would arrange pick up, which she did, it only ended up costing us an atrocious 400 baht (!!)

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Stayed here with my parents, wife and baby son. If you are used to hostels and/or like historic homes, you should be fine here, but my father is older, pickier, and had a lot of problems with it. His first room had AC that barely worked, and when he moved to a second room, the toilet didn't flush and one light bulb was burned out. When he asked them for more toilet paper, they looked at him like he was asking a strange question and then gave him a small packet of tissue paper. One night he could hear the owners talking/arguing in their room late at night. I on the other hand thought the place was just fine, especially considering the price.

Pros: Fantastic location right on the most beautiful street in Phuket town, historic old house, clean and well maintained rooms, soft beds, good water pressure in showers. Many people complained about the cats in other reviews, but we love cats and chose this place partially because they have cats. And I didn't notice any smell from the cats.

Cons: The owners have a very ho-hum attitude towards the place. They'll help you out with basic things if you ask, but they are not the super smiley, accommodating, "friendly local family" that we all hope for when staying in a budget home stay, and they aren't always around in the lobby. There's a number on the front door to get in touch with them.

Basically this place is perfect for budget travelers who are independent and don't need a lot of help, and want to be in the center of town and stay in a cool old house.

Room Tip: On the website one room is cheaper than the other. There's not a big difference; both have a win...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our travels around Thailand. When we first arrived we were waiting for hours because the owner didnt want to come and let us check in because it was raining...bit of a joke really, half the time the owner was never there to help us and we had to organise everything ourselves..which we didnt mind but the owner seemed like she didnt know anything about what we could do in Phuket. The room was nice though and clean. however, we would not stay there EVER again due to the staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We needed one night stay in Phuket before heading to airport. This was a cheap budget option, and we did not expect much. Rooms were simple; but everything worked (a/c; hot water etc) but hallways, entrance area, and "cafe" area smelled horribly like cat pee. I have 2 cats, hence am familiar with scent. I saw that at the end of the hallway was a large cage and counted about 5 cats...not sure there were cats and kittens everywhere. Smell was so bad we ate breakfast outside since we could not bear it. Owner lady is nice, but speaks only tiny bit English. If they get rid of stink then this is good budget option. Location is great in the heart of Old Town Phuket.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My stay at Phuket 346 left much to be desired. After booking, I attempted to arrange an airport transfer for my group via agoda, email, and facebook and got no response. When I found the right number to call (they had the wrong one listed on their website), the woman who answered told me to "just take a taxi." Sure, I could take a taxi, but I wanted to pre-arrange -- which the website said they would happily do! When we arrived, the main floor was full of cats and mosquitoes. Cats were the main problem, as my husband is quite allergic. It seems they keep the cats out of the guest rooms, but mosquitoes were still a problem and the coils were empty. When we checked in, the staffer told us she would arrange a taxi to the pier and ferry tickets for us for the next morning. When we awoke, there was no sign of her, even after I called her cell phone and knocked on her door as instructed. We ended up leaving and getting to the pier on our own. I didn't expect terribly much from this budget hotel but was really surprised at the unresponsiveness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was only here for one night so keep that in mind. The owners were nice and helped us book our ferry to Phi Phi (the only reason we were in Phuket in the first place was to get to PhiPhi). The room was small and very basic. For the price, you can't really go wrong but don't expect a lot of frills and extras. There was a hole in the wall in our room and I think that's how the mosquitos got in- so we spent a good 30 mins killing mosquitos but wore bug spray to bed anyway just in case. There are lots of cats around which are super cute but it does smell like pussies in the main reception area. Note: if you want breakfast you'll have to give them advance notice so that they can arrange/make it. It's not set out daily as we thought. They people running the place are very nice :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stayed 2 nights in this guesthouse, located in the heart of Phuket Town, on the advice of the Lonely Planet, as it is a king of art gallery, but we were totally disappointed as the description in the guide does not correspond to the reality. The pros are:
- location in the Centre of Phuket Town, which is very nice and convenient, and it is very calm;
- the rooms are clean, and nicely decorated.
The cons:
- there are lots of cats in the lobby, and it smells really strong; although we love cats, it was really bad to have the strong smell of the cat pee outside the room;
- the owner is almost not in the guesthouse, so you are on your own...
- the breakfast was not provided, it was a kind of self-service breakfast, with almost nothing.
The guesthouse could have been nice if it was more well managed, but it is totally not the case. There are better options in the area, so avoid this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Simply avoid the guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuket 346? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket 346

Address: 9 Soi Romanee, Thalang Road | Tambom Taladyai, Amphur Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 844 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket 346 - 3 rooms only. All rooms are simple in their design,but not wanting in creature comforts, with local hardwood floors, high ceilings, white walls, with a wall of yellow or black where appropriate,and art. Each has a bathroom with shower,fresh towels and bed linen and each has views over the busy Bangniew junction of Phuket town,and its green-red changing lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phuket 346 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuket 346, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.