We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Coconut Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Coconut Island to your Saves list
The Village Coconut Island
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   51/7 Moo 6, T.Koh Kaew, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were married here on May 23, and spent 5 nights here with 36 of our closest friends and family. There aren’t words to sum up how pleased, appreciative and impressed we are with everything the Village team did for us during our stay. A huge thank you to Bernie and the reservations team, I know our 50 odd room changes were tricky, but you handled it with a big smile and accommodated our every need. To Asker you are a wonderful, professional and accommodating executive chef, every single guest could not fault the food, nor the amazing red velvet cake you created especially for our wedding day. Diego and your food and beverage staff, you did the most amazing job, thank you for keeping us hydrated and partying the whole 5 nights. Oliver, the flower team and everyone else who helped our day run smoothly we cannot thank you enough!

We cannot recommend this resort highly enough from the beautiful villas, yummy food, to that view that you wake up to everyday. If you are looking for a piece of paradise close to Phuket, you can’t go past the Village. We have made so many amazing memories here, and are already planning our next trip back!

Best wishes,
Andie & Shannon Toyne

Room Tip: Beachfront if you can afford it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear andiegonewalkab...

CONGRATULATIONS

We are all so thrilled that we helped to ensure that your special day went so well. I personally am thrilled that your whole party enjoyed themselves so much, before, after and during the special day.
I will pass your compliments on to Bernie, Asker, Diego and the team, they will be so proud to have helped you both on your special day.
I will even give a special mention to Oliver the flower boy, he really enjoys his weddings.

Thank you once agin, we all hope to welcome you here at The Village again in the future.
Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    222
    111
    48
    28
See reviews for
243
326
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I've just spent another weekend at The Village, and as always it was fab. We spent Thai New Year in Phuket Town, and were very much in need of a couple of days rest so booked a couple of nights here.
We rented a grand villa on the beach and it was fantastic- ultimate relaxation and luxury!
We had a feast in the deli one night and then went back for movie night. The second day we went to Koh Rang (an absolute must do) and had a BBQ at the villa.
I can't recommend this place enough. It's a million miles away from te exotic city life of Singapore, but a few hours away from the office... Can't wait for the next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Harriot B,

It is so wonderful to see you back at The Village again.
We would like to thank you for your lovely words once again. Being so close to Singapore, it is ideal for that long weekend break. You really seem to make the most of it, well done.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed this recent visit, we hope to ensure that every visit just gets better and better, sounds like we are close if not there!!

Thanks once agin, we all look forward to seeing you soon.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked this simply because we didn't wish to stay in Phuket anymore as its become too busy. The beauty of this Resort is you have peace, tranquility, great weather, lovely beaches and when you want Patong or Phuket town they are only half an our away. We actually went into Patong at 10pm and came back at 2am, really easy as their private boat transfers run 24/7.

Stayed in a beautiful 3 bed beach front villa with some friends and it was sensational. Had Chef cook a private bbq dinner in the Villa and sat with our feet dangling in the water until the wee hours, was a real treat. This is just a great resort on so many levels. Suits families, couples and groups.

Room Tip: Heads up - had a look at jacuzzi suites which are entree level - for couples these are fantastic but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Debra D,
Thank you for reviewing The Village here on trip advisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in a 3 bedroom pool villa and the resort so much.
You have "hit the nail on the head" with your comments regarding Phuket. We are perfectly placed to be away from the noise and the busy streets and roads of Phuket when you want to relax, but close enough to enjoy them we you need to.

It sounds like you enjoyed your BBQ, who wouldn't when you don't have to cook it yourself.
We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much, thank you.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here with two of my friends in May. We stayed for 4 nights.

I really enjoyed my stay but I do have a few negative feelings. Nothing too serious but worth a mention.

Bad points:
I do think that it is a bit pricey for what you get. It's by no means a dump, but it is not (in my eyes) a 5 star resort.

On our last full day my friends and I were trying to enjoy ourselves by the pool. It seemed to be over run by people who were spitting and smoking in the pool and it just got ignored by staff. I know that it's not their fault that the people were doing this, but I think they could have paid attention to it as it was pretty disgusting.

Also, breakfast time was incredibly packed and we had to be crammed on to a 4 seated table with strangers which was a little awkward and cramped!

Positives:
Plenty to do (it's just a shame we had to miss out on the James Bond island tour because no one else wanted to go. There has to be a minimum of 6 people and only us three wanted to go)

Amazing photo opportunities as everything always looks beautiful!

Good food

Good entertainment at dinner.

Overall, I really enjoyed myself and it was great to relax for a few days after a busy two weeks elsewhere in Thailand. I wouldn't tell someone not to go, it was a lovely experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear hayleymcbayley,

Thank you for reviewing The Village here on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased that The Village proved to be a relaxing end to a few weeks traveling around Thailand.
I would also like to thank you for the compliments regarding the food and the entertainment, it's all part of the experience. I am sorry that there was impolite behavior from a group of other guests. We do try to stop that if we see it happening.

Saying that I am pleased that it didn't spoil your overall experience and that you enjoyed yourself.

Thanks once again.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Villas:
Our family and friends stayed at this resort for two nights and rented out two three bedroom villas beach front. The villas were very beautiful and spacious.

The villa we stayed in had two bedrooms upstairs (a gigantic master bedroom and another with a king bed). Both of these bedrooms face the ocean and you wake up to a beautiful view. The third bedroom is downstairs with two single beds without a view.

The villa opens up to a pool and faces the beach, which is absolutely gorgeous!! However, watch out for fire ants! They were outside our front door and around our pool so make sure you don’t step on them with your bare feet.

The only issue I had with our villa was our showers. The water pressure was quite low and it often went hot and cold. Other than that it was a beautiful resort and great experience!

Food:
We ate at the breakfast buffet and dinner at the Italian restaurant. The food was quite good but watch out for flies at the breakfast buffet! There are a ton of flies everywhere so eat your foot before it gets to it first! The brick oven pizza at the Italian restaurant was really tasty and I’d definitely recommend it!

The resort also has a convenience for snacks and groceries if you’re looking munchies. The convenience store is located by the gym and spa.

Staff:
The staff was super friendly and made our stay really great! The manager recommended the pizzas to us during our dinner out at the Italian restaurant and made a point to follow up with us the next day at breakfast to ensure we enjoyed our dinner. Their attention to detail was fantastic and always made sure we were taken care of.

Some Tips:
Turn on the A/C right away in the villa! It gets really hot and takes forever for the place to cool down.

Remember to bring your bug spray!! The place has a lot of mosquitoes and even with bug spray on I still got bites!

Keep an eye on your luggage when you’re leaving to make sure it arrives safely to Phuket. We had a big group of people so I guess it was hard to manage all of our luggage. When we left to return back to Phuket, one of our bags were missing and it was a huge hassle trying to contact the hotel staff and having them locate the bag at the resort and have it delivered to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear karevancouver_BC,

Thank you for reviewing The Village here on Trip Advisor.

We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your experience here with us.
It sounds like your group enjoyed the private beach front pool villas, they are very luxurious. The views are very very special.

I am sorry to hear that the water pressure and temperature was inconsistent, if we had known, we would have endeavored to fix as soon as we could.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, in particular the pizza's, they are reputed to be up there with the best in Phuket. We do occasionally get flies within the resort. It coincides when local wild fruit tress are over ripening, the fly population goes crazy. We do go to great lengths to keep them away, but even with the best pest control practices, it is sometimes difficult to get eradicate them completely.

I am thrilled that you found the staff and management to be visible and helpful. They all take so much pride in what they do. They will be pleased to read that their efforts were appreciated.

Thank You once again for your review, we hope to maybe welcome you back to The Village in the future.

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Once you visit Phuket please don't miss out this tour to floating restaurant on N/E Phuket island called Maphown island, the idea is for lunch or dinner with spectacular view , it takes 7 minutes on Thai long tail boat to the island with no cost for the boat.
Welcome to Phuket

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Taxiemma,

Thank you for posting a review of the floating restaurants.
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your experience on them. The seafood really is as fresh as it gets!!

Tropical Regards
Mark Ashman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I enjoyed my stay very much for the most part. The problems I found was that on our last day breakfast was cramped-5 on a four seater table & had to share with other guests as a new horde of guests had arrived and there was just no space for everyone, leaving bad tempers and ill manners everywhere. Other guests smoked, spat & flicked cigarette ash in the communal pools with no attention paid by staff.

When we arrived at the desk there was a woman who I did not realise was affiliated with the company, helping with luggage. She got too friendly with some people and was batted away. In the name of being polite, we were civil if a bit surprised at how unpolished this looked. On the way back at the end of our stay, the same woman this time manhandled my fellow guest's luggage from them and wheeled it to the taxi despite being told it was not a required service-and then held out her hand for payment! More than a bit cheeky. The staff, food, and accommodation were all very good overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Dawnysaurus R,

Thank you for writing your review here on Trip Advisor.
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay very much at The Village, that is great news.
We would like to apologise if the breakfast on your last morning was chaotic. We must have been entertaining a MICE group at this time. We normally try to ensure that they do not affect the normal hotel operations and guests, it would seem that we did not this time.

The young lady I believe you are referring too at Laem Hin pier does not work for The Village or affiliated with The Village in any way. She is a local girl who has learning difficulties. The pier that we use is in fact a community pier, so she is entitled to be there as much as we are. Naturally we try to ensure that she does not bother guests in any way, but at the same time we have to be sensitive to her condition. Your comments have been taken on board and we will try to ensure that her efforts are channeled in a more appropriate way.

Thanks once agin for your feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the other aspects of your stay.

Tropical regards
Mark Ashman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Coconut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Koh Kaew, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 599 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Coconut Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Coconut Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.