We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations, would love to go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Coconut Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Coconut Island to your Saves list
The Village Coconut Island
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   51/7 Moo 6, T.Koh Kaew, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations, would love to go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked this as part of package and got a very good deal so muy expectations were low, I have to say I ws impressed when we arrived, it is modern with great surroundings and a very modern resort. This is a very good 4*but pushing it to call it a 5* however we did not pay five star prices so I was not dissapointed.

Very impressed with the size and ammenities in the room. Very clean and free wifi throughout the resort.

When we we there the resort was not full, had it of been I think there would be an issue with sun loungers as they were limited. Happy hour every evening is a plus point and defintley encourages you to stay by the pool and have a sun downer over looking the beach - great sunset.

Downside is that there were often power cuts which I understand on a semi secluded island however more frustrating was the frequency in which there was no water, after a day around the pool covered in sun cream all we wanted was a shower, ontwo occassions we could not shower at all this is not acceptable, everytime we rang the reception all we got told was it will be on soon.... not even an apology when we checked out.

We went to the spa, which was ok, no jacuzzi and the pool was very cold not really what I expected. The whole ambianece and service was not that of a 5* and it just cannot compete with the likes of the Hyatt, Mandarin, Shangri La, Ritz etc. Also during my treatment the most hiddeous and loud lawn mowing/strimming was going on just outside the window not at all relaxing and ruined the whole treatment. I complained about this but again nothing was done to placate me. I did not go back and was very annoyed as it is not exactly cheap.

The food is great the English Chef and his team ahve done a fabulous job creating a wide and tasty menu, we ate int he resort every night and were not once dissapointed.

Staff in the main were friendly. A map would have been helpful as the place is quite big. A few more things in the evning woudl be needed if you are stayiomg more than few nights. There are DVD's i the rooms but the avaialbilty and choice of films to watch was limited. Would cost very little to add some board games, cards etc to the reception area.

All in all I would say this was great value for money resort and I would definitely go back for 3 or 4 nights, any more is too long. Just don't waste you money on the spa!

Room Tip: Worth paying the little extra for the jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    222
    111
    48
    28
See reviews for
243
326
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

A holiday is what you make it, and we were there at the same time as the reviewers below, however they could`nt have spoken to us or the people we met as we had a fabulous time. Why would you spend that sort of money and spend most of your time trying to find faults and destroy your own enjoyment beats me! The beach wasnt filthy but I do agree that you couldnt swim in the sea, however there was two beautiful pools in the resort and a great water slide which we all had alot of fun with. ( Note: We did go over to the other beach which was beautiful and maybe trips here should be done at a minimum cost to customers staying at the resort). The reviewers below also said that there was no entertainment or pool games; all I can say is thank god! if there had been organised pool games and evening entertainment I would have left thinking that I had been taken to a resort in spain! We loved the fact that we could relax in this tranquil setting with no karaoke.
The resort restaurants were maybe a little expensive however we did eat in them on a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience......a tip for those who want to be a little more adventurous and sample the real phuket, try the floating restaurants (take a wooden boat from the back pier to your left, there are four excellent floating restaurants waiting to be discovered). The only thing that I do agree with the reviewers below is that there is the most adorable black dog on the beach he is an asset to this resort although I believe that the resort do not take responsibility for him in my opinion they should. He has to be the most photographed dog in the world he provides entertainment for small children & adults alike and the resort should adopt him!
As self employed business people we understand the challenges in running big operations and believe the management do a great job, yes there is always room for improvement but feel that they are aware of such problems and are dealing with them as best they can especially as we discovered everything is done in `THAI TIME`.

We will definately return I hope `FOC` Free of charge dog will be there!

Lisa & Steve

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are just finishing up our 6 night stay at the village and to be honest, neither of us is impressed. Funnily enough, no-one we have spoken to that's staying here is either so I don't feel quite so bad writing this review.
The village is advertised and charges as a 5 star resort. In my opinion, it doesn't even come close!
While nothing major has gone wrong during our stay as an allegedly 5 star resort it leaves much to be desired.

What's good?
The rooms are lovely, the resort is clean, new and looks amazing. There are kitchenettes in the rooms so you can self cater and a mini mart if you run out of basics (much cheaper to shop on the mainland though so stock up). The staff are (mostly) lovely. Wifi is free. The pools are great. If you're a dog person there's a beautiful black dog that hangs out at the beach here. Breakfast is brilliant.

What's not?
Our reservation was not confirmed by the resort, we had to chase it up with them, and even then they got it wrong. We booked for 6 nights but when we arrived they had us down for 5. We fixed that, after some debate with the staff but on day 5 we were still locked out of our room! Fixed it yet again. Oh, also, we booked a double and ended up with a twin... ??
The place is huge! And you don't get a tour or a map so pay attention when they show you to your room otherwise you may not find it again.
Giant generator near reception sounds like the place is being invaded by helicopters day and night but we have had half a dozen black outs anyway.
Phone in our room has worked for 2 out of 6 days.
Apart from the ferry to Phuket and sea kayaks everything else costs money and lots of it!
Massages cost between 1300 - 1800 baht here while on Phuket the same massage will cost you 200 - 400 baht.
The 'beach' here is filthy, even though the staff clean it daily the water is murky and full of random plastic bags, bottles, drift wood etc. day trips to the nearest nice beach are charged at 300 baht each (for the amount you pay to stay here I think these should be free).
So basically if there's 2 of you, you can get a cab to Karon and back, have a massage each, swim at a lovely beach, have lunch and maybe dinner and it will cost you the same as having 1.5 - 2 massages here...
There is NOTHING to do in the evening after dinner. No dancing, no movies, no activities, nothing. There is also nothing besides sea kayaking to do during the day that wont cost you. No beach games, no board games, no pool stuff, no classes, no day trips, no trips of any kind. And coconut island is isolated. To get anywhere at all will involve taking a tuktuk, ferry and a taxi and take you at least 45 mins - to Phuket town. If you want to go to patong, karon or Kata your looking at anywhere from 1 - 2 hours depending on traffic. Finding a cab to take you back isn't a cakewalk either!
While the staff try hard, they are definitely not 5 star standard. Basically the locals that work here don't have the training or decision making power to really provide the standard of service I expect from a 5 star resort. This isn't their fault at all, the blame lies with management. If you have a problem the only ones that seem to be able to do anything about it are the English guys running the place. This seems to be down to the smallest thing, getting the phone working, getting new towels, locating a can of bug spray...

All in all, for the amount of money they charge here, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

One great resort destination, the views are beautiful and the interiors are lavish. We stayed for a total of three nights at the resort one of which was spent in a Jacuzzi villa , the room was spacious and the backyard had the Jacuzzi - the best thing while we travelled was the weather , it drizzled and we loved using the facility. The next day we moved to a two bed private pool villa that too had a great view overlooking the beach front villas - the room had water supply issues and we raised our concern to the management - in about thirty minutes our grievance was handled and we were upgraded to a three bed beach front villa which we thoroughly enjoyed. The property was fully booked as it was high season, Benjamin the resort’s assistant manager; told us about it and a room shift may be made the next morning we did not mind as we took a sea trip the next day we had packed our luggage just in case if any other room had to be allotted to us . Upon our return from our trip we found our luggage promptly moved to a plush 5 bed sea front Villa maybe the best the resort has to offer. The villa 22 had magnificent views and two master bed rooms out of which we just stuck to one of course.
We as a honeymoon couple were delighted by the experience and we would like to thank Ben for all his support provided to us on our trip .

Room Tip: Whatever room you chose make sure that the intercom extensions are working fine as at times its a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Love the concept at Coconut Island..but a few "kinks" got in the way. Resort is beautifully situated.waterfront villas as well as upper level ones have perfect sea views. Villas are spacious,well equipt, bathroom are beautiful with open showers.
Restaurants are wonderful,food good and lots of variety. Staff need more training, several times I witnessed patrons getting their own menus and being frustrated with service. Love the buffet concept for breakfast. The wood fired oven is brilliant for perfect pizza.
Something needs to change with the water taxi. Several frustrating problems exist. The service is not consistent. They try to run on a schedule which does not work at peak times. We came back from the pier one evening in very high seas, over over loaded boat which I felt was dangerous. If you are dressed up to go out in the evening you better hope you don't get wet sitting in the boat!
All this being said.. I would still go back to Coconut Island! Location is great and you can get away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket and Patong.

Room Tip: Waterfront villas have best position. Villas near the back could be noisy when tuk tuk is driving pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

A great place to stay if you just want to relax. Not much else to do besides the resort, but the rooms are so nice with private pool/jacuzzi and sundeck that you just want to stay in :) The resort beach is also really nice.
A superb seafood restaurant is located just across on the mainland with free shuttle service from the hotel every 15 min.
A highly recommended resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have been staying for nearly 2 weeks now in an amazing jacuzzi suite (no 44) with privacy in the garden but still a nice view and airy. Before we became parents we have stayed in other Thailand deluxe resorts (almost couples only) like Aleenta in HuaHin, Sala Samui and Layana at Koh Lanta. So this is our first holiday with our 2 year old son and we where a little concerned about how it would go in this exclusive resort, but everything is perfect! The style in the villa is very very nice and the space is so well used! We love being together all the time, whether someone is in the tub and the others are playing in the living area (only separated by the closets and thin wall behind the bed that doesn't go all the way up to the roof).

There is a nice kids club with both outdoor (under roof so shady) playground and indoor playroom. The breakfast has a wide selection of hot food incl. 2 chefs to do eggs by order and fresh pancakes (I love the delicious fresh strawberry "jam"), fresh fruit, cheese, ham, yoghurt etc. and also many diff. kinds of bread and cake. The food in both the Deli and the Tamarind is superb and the staff is always with a smile - that goes for everybody working in the hotel.

The pools are lovely and the beach is nice and you can swim in the ocean. We have been here in the peak season and has always been able to get 2 sunloungers but it's true if you want the fine white beach with crystal clear water you have to go by boat. The resort has a daily trip (15 min.) boat ride to a nice white beach w crystal clear water for THB 300 pp.

We think this is paradise and don't wanna leave in a few days, so we'll highly recommend this to couples, family (young and old) :)

Room Tip: The generator at the reception is very noisy, so a little away from there (not suite 21-24)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmanator, General Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Tarada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review. My team and I were really pleased to read your comments, and are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us so much.

I will pass your kind comments regarding the breakfast on to Chef Lee and his team. We are very pleased that your first break with your son went well, and we very much hope to see you back at The Village soon!

Best wishes,
The Management, The Village Coconut Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Coconut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island

Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Koh Kaew, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 598 Specialty Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Village Coconut Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Coconut Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.